We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne Center
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We use the Ibis hotels a lot but are fed up going to the same ones, so we thought we will try out the budget hotel and save a few quid, wow this hotel was a good bit cheaper than our normal Ibis but for us we really loved it,only 2 storeys high, so no lifts, nice grounds, lovely sun terrace to sit outside and have a relaxing drink, great bar inside with a really good adjoining restaurant,near the cite,free parking, needs a bit touch up on the decor here and there but nothing desperate, we will definately return, next time in the summer, as with all hotels book well in advance to get a great deal.

Room Tip: the rooms were all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rcheebold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisLaCite, Gérant at Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

The hotel includes only one floor (and a ground floor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel after 8 hours driving. As it is an Ibis, we thought it would be nice like all the others.
However the room was so small and the bathroom the same.
Good location though, very close to the old town.
It is ok for a short stay but no more than that!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaudiaFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Quarryjam
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 December 2013

For the price I guess this property is ok, but it really is not well located other than being right off the highway. You need to drive or take a bus to get to the city center or the Medieval city and the while the gated interior to the hotel grounds are well maintained, outside is trashy and adjacent to a very low-rent shopping center. The hotel is in need of renovation - has the original Ibis poppy carpet and color schemes. The staff at the reception are pleasant and efficient. The evening waiter and cook hang out in front of the tv in the reception area and chew the fat in front of the guests. Not so professional. The wine by the glass was horrible. Not acceptable for being in a major wine producing area with excellent local products at reasonable prices. Breakfast was good for this class of hotel. Great bed and linens.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2BReisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisLaCite, Gérant at Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

The medieval castle is situated in 2mns by car and in 20 mns in feet of the hotel.
A bus stop situated in front of the hotel serves the city center and the medieval castle as well.
The facade as well as all the general services of the hotel (reception, bar and restaurant) were completely renewed in 2009.
The geographical situation of the hotel in the shopping district of Pech Mary brings the following advantages:
- Closeness of the Castle of Carcassonne, the highway exit "Carcassonne Est ", a bus stop and the businesses
- Quiet environment
- Big free and secure private parking lot which can welcome bus
When the customer is within our hotel, the shopping district is not visible. Indeed, it is hidden and fast forgotten thanks to our natural raised park which includes an olive tree, pines, laurels, palm trees and mulberry trees, contain of plants and flowers, a garden of loose stones, the vineyard as well as elements of decoration.
The menu of our restaurant open 7d / 7 and also welcoming the groups proposes besides the standards Ibis the culinary specialities of our region as the cassoulet of Castelnaudary, the fricassee of Limoux. The hotel also proposes to the restaurant and to the bar wines of the producers of the Aude, famous sparkling wine Blanquette of Limoux and some apéritifs of the area as Banyuls, Maury or Muscat. All this in an environment reminding the wine-making spirit of the South.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We spent a month on a family vacation throughout France. We stayed at 5 different Ibis hotels. They were all fine except this one. we arrived very late and had 2 children that were asleep. the girl at the front we fast and polite. We check intop two rooms. Now my bad for not checking the entire room before we put the kids in bed. We did notice a smell in the room but it was not until we opened the bathroom door that we realy smelled it. The entire bathroom had black mold seeping out of every wall in very large patches. The toilet had remnants splattered on the bowl. Serious health hazard. We immediately shut the door and did not use this bathroom. My kids were already in bed asleep and the rest of the room was acceptable. My mother room was fine so we left our dor shut and only used her bathroom during the stay. In the morning we talked to the gentleman in charge and explain the situation and ask for at least half off the price of the since it was only half usable. He just kept repeating we should have changed rooms last night. Yes, our fault for that but we did not want to wake sleepy grumpy kids. I descibed the room and he just denied without looking that there was and poblem with the room. He was very smug and even arrogant, very off putting in his manner. The best he could offer was one free breakfast (this on a buffet ). This cost the hotel nothing. We left just appalled at the indifference and acceptance of the filthy condition. To make us even more justified I thought I had forgotten something in the room and when I went back he had two people scrubbing the walls and ceilings of the bathroom. the exact ones he had just denied had a problem!! I do like Ibis hotel for the most part but be advised check your room before you commit.

Room Tip: Avoid this Ibis and always check rooms before committing to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllHallowsEve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisLaCite, Gérant at Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

We ask you first of all to excuse us for the present tracks of humidity in the bathroom of your room. We did not know about these infiltrations which showed themselves after heavy rain and after the cleaning of your room by the maintenance staff. But we have never denied the presence of these tracks and as soon as you informed us about it, we cleaned everything of course.
Within the framework of the commitment contract 15 of our hotel which Accor imposes us to respect in a very precise way at the risk of penalties during the follow-up visits, you had to indicate this problem in the evening of your arrival or the following morning to your awakening, but not to your check out. If you declare this problem upon your arrival, our team proposes you then another room; if the hotel is complete, your room is offered to you. If you declare this problem the following morning, we suggest you using the bathroom of another room; if the hotel is complete, your room is also offered to you.
Besides, before settling your stay, you informed us that you were able to use normally the bathroom of your second room.
We also wanted to specify you that we nevertheless presented you with a commercial gesture by offering you 3 breakfasts, what you had moreover estimated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We booked a room for 2 for a weekend trip to Carcassonne. Even though the location of the hotel isn't ideal, the hotel itself looks nice and with a bus stop nearby, the medieval and modern city centre are both within reach. The room was clean and comfortable and breakfast was quite good (medium range of options, fresh and good quality). On our first night, it was raining heavily and we decided to stay inside and have dinner at the hotel restaurant. We didn't expect much, but the food was well-prepared, came in big portions, and was served with very nice bread and sausage. The waitress was very friendly and helpful. The next day, we had a nice chat with another employee there and the morning of our departure, another woman at the desk was very helpful as well. A great experience!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viktor_Emonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisLaCite, Gérant at Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

The geographical situation of the hotel in the shopping district of Pech Mary brings the following advantages:
- Closeness of the Castle of Carcassonne, the highway exit "Carcassonne Est ", a bus stop and the businesses
- Quiet environment
- Big free and secure private parking lot which can welcome bus
When the customer is within our hotel, the shopping district is not visible. Indeed, it is hidden and fast forgotten thanks to our natural raised park which includes an olive tree, pines, laurels, palm trees and mulberry trees, contain of plants and flowers, a garden of loose stones, the vineyard as well as elements of decoration.
The menu of our restaurant open 7d / 7 and also welcoming the groups proposes besides the standards Ibis the culinary specialities of our region as the cassoulet of Castelnaudary, the fricassee of Limoux. The hotel also proposes to the restaurant and to the bar wines of the producers of the Aude, famous sparkling wine Blanquette of Limoux and some apéritifs of the area as Banyuls, Maury or Muscat. All this in an environment reminding the wine-making spirit of the South.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

few days ago we received a mail from this hotel anticipating our arrival and saying we would be very welcome. A first for us.
Our room is one for handicapped visitors and the bathroom is excellent. Not only a wet room but plenty of bars to hold on to. The one next to the toilet wobbles a bit.
Large comfortable bed.

We wasted a lot of time looking for the hotel. We saw one small well hidden double sign for Ibis but no time to stop and read the directions. Do not have sat nav so we used our car compass. Suggest more and larger signs would be useful. Other hotels have large clear directions and we are tempted to go to one of them in future.
The menu is varied and we enjoyed fish and chips for the first time in ages.
We don't take breakfast when we have an evening meal.

I am puzzled why I cannot do revues on certain hotels. I was even told once that not only the restaurant didn't exist but neither did vaison la romaine.
I feel I am encouraged only to revue more expensive hotels.

Room Tip: Handicapped people need have no fear here. The best facilities yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valinvendee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisLaCite, Gérant at Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

When you reach our hotel by the highway exit "Carcassonne Est " (advised exit because the closest, at 5mns), a big advertising hoarding "Ibis hotel " indicating the direction to be taken is situated by the roadside. We remind you that it is necessary to take the exit Pech Mary, at the 1st traffic circle direction Pech Mary, at the 2nd traffic circle direction Berriac.
The hotel which is close to the medieval castle is situated in a classified zone "Historic monuments", what means limitation of the advertising spaces.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne Center hotels
0.1 mi away
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La C...
#7 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,036 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hote...
#10 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,588 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Carcassonne La Cite
Ibis Budget Carcassonne La Cite
#26 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel l'Etoile
Hotel l'Etoile
#28 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
129 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Carcassonne La Cite
Ibis Styles Carcassonne La Cite
#9 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
228 reviews
1.9 mi away
Inter-Hotel Carcassonne-Pont Rouge
Inter-Hotel Carcassonne-Pont Rou...
#21 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite

Address: 11 rue Camille Flammarion, 11000 Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne > Carcassonne Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne Center
Price Range: £40 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel-Restaurant completely air-conditioned ideally situated in a quiet environment at feet of the medieval city, in 5 mns of the city center, the highway exit Carcassonne Est, of the station SNCF(FRENCH NATIONAL RAILWAY COMPANY), of the airport and the main centers of interests of Carcassonne. Welcome 24 hours a day, 7 days a week individual, family clienteles or group. 60 bedrooms simple or double with beds children, beds babies, communicating rooms, rooms with handicaped accesses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing