We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazingly good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“An amazingly good experience”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I must stress I am commenting on Ibis Est in Carcassonne (tripadvisors heading is a bit confusing)
As ever when booking a cheap hotel you expect the worst and arriving here on an industrial estate you wonder what you have done.
BUT, after the initial shock and the laughter at the size of room, prepare to be overawed!!
The staff are lovely and helpful, we stayed for five days and our room was made spotless every day. Breakfast is great and we ate here three evenings and the food was super and prices were really low.
All in all a very good experience and highly recommended. Although a thirty minute walk from the city-the exercise was good for us-or get a cab for 10 euros.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GerryKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisLaCite, Gérant at Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
The geographical situation of the hotel in the shopping district of Pech Mary brings the following advantages:
- Closeness of the Castle of Carcassonne, the highway exit "Carcassonne Est ", a bus stop and the businesses
- Quiet environment
- Big free and secure private parking lot which can welcome bus
When the customer is within our hotel, the shopping district is not visible. Indeed, it is hidden and fast forgotten thanks to our natural raised park which includes an olive tree, pines, laurels, palm trees and mulberry trees, contain of plants and flowers, a garden of loose stones, the vineyard as well as elements of decoration.
The size of rooms corresponds to the standard ibis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    202
    119
    35
    10
See reviews for
113
230
22
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rumson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I was a little disappointed when we arrived at the location and when I noticed that we would not be near the center but that was short lived. We stayed there with a group of sixteen girls and the personnel could not have been nicer and accommodating. They went out of their way to serve an alternate dish for those who did not enjoy the local cassoulet and they accepted to serve them with a late night dessert and hot chocolate when the kitchen was already closed. The beds were very comfortable and the breakfast was good. Great value!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LCMaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

My other review for the Ibis budget hotel was the wrong hotel, this was the one I stayed in.This hotel is excellent, needs a bit of paintwork touched up here and there, but great value,well worth a visit, read my other review on the Ibis budget,its this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rcheebold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We use the Ibis hotels a lot but are fed up going to the same ones, so we thought we will try out the budget hotel and save a few quid, wow this hotel was a good bit cheaper than our normal Ibis but for us we really loved it,only 2 storeys high, so no lifts, nice grounds, lovely sun terrace to sit outside and have a relaxing drink, great bar inside with a really good adjoining restaurant,near the cite,free parking, needs a bit touch up on the decor here and there but nothing desperate, we will definately return, next time in the summer, as with all hotels book well in advance to get a great deal.

Room Tip: the rooms were all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rcheebold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisLaCite, Gérant at Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
The hotel includes only one floor (and a ground floor)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
122 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel after 8 hours driving. As it is an Ibis, we thought it would be nice like all the others.
However the room was so small and the bathroom the same.
Good location though, very close to the old town.
It is ok for a short stay but no more than that!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaudiaFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

For the price I guess this property is ok, but it really is not well located other than being right off the highway. You need to drive or take a bus to get to the city center or the Medieval city and the while the gated interior to the hotel grounds are well maintained, outside is trashy and adjacent to a very low-rent shopping center. The hotel is in need of renovation - has the original Ibis poppy carpet and color schemes. The staff at the reception are pleasant and efficient. The evening waiter and cook hang out in front of the tv in the reception area and chew the fat in front of the guests. Not so professional. The wine by the glass was horrible. Not acceptable for being in a major wine producing area with excellent local products at reasonable prices. Breakfast was good for this class of hotel. Great bed and linens.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2BReisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisLaCite, Gérant at Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
The medieval castle is situated in 2mns by car and in 20 mns in feet of the hotel.
A bus stop situated in front of the hotel serves the city center and the medieval castle as well.
The facade as well as all the general services of the hotel (reception, bar and restaurant) were completely renewed in 2009.
The geographical situation of the hotel in the shopping district of Pech Mary brings the following advantages:
- Closeness of the Castle of Carcassonne, the highway exit "Carcassonne Est ", a bus stop and the businesses
- Quiet environment
- Big free and secure private parking lot which can welcome bus
When the customer is within our hotel, the shopping district is not visible. Indeed, it is hidden and fast forgotten thanks to our natural raised park which includes an olive tree, pines, laurels, palm trees and mulberry trees, contain of plants and flowers, a garden of loose stones, the vineyard as well as elements of decoration.
The menu of our restaurant open 7d / 7 and also welcoming the groups proposes besides the standards Ibis the culinary specialities of our region as the cassoulet of Castelnaudary, the fricassee of Limoux. The hotel also proposes to the restaurant and to the bar wines of the producers of the Aude, famous sparkling wine Blanquette of Limoux and some apéritifs of the area as Banyuls, Maury or Muscat. All this in an environment reminding the wine-making spirit of the South.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.1 mi away
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite
0.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Carcassonne La Cite
Ibis Budget Carcassonne La Cite
#23 of 39 in Carcassonne
909 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brit Hotel Bosquet Carcassonne
Brit Hotel Bosquet Carcassonne
#15 of 39 in Carcassonne
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
0.9 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
1.4 mi away
Ibis Carcassonne Centre
Ibis Carcassonne Centre
#34 of 39 in Carcassonne
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite

Property: Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite
Address: 11 rue Camille Flammarion, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel-Restaurant completely air-conditioned ideally situated in a quiet environment at feet of the medieval city, in 5 mns of the city center, the highway exit Carcassonne Est, of the station SNCF(FRENCH NATIONAL RAILWAY COMPANY), of the airport and the main centers of interests of Carcassonne. Welcome 24 hours a day, 7 days a week individual, family clienteles or group. 60 bedrooms simple or double with beds children, beds babies, communicating rooms, rooms with handicaped accesses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Carcassonne Est la Cite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing