We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location!”
Review of Hotel Aragon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Aragon
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Noga L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

I would have given this a rating of three and a half if that had been possible. As it isn't, I've erred towards giving it a rating of 4 rather than 3. The price is reasonable and the hotel has a great location, as long as you want to be near the cité and not the shops in the main town, or to have easy access to the railway station. The public areas are freshly decorated in Provencal yellow and the bedroom seemed to have been refurbished quite recently although the white walls would benefit from a bit of a touch up. The main thing, though, is that it was very clean. The bathroom was new and the power shower in particular was excellent. Unusually, it seems there is no satellite tv as there are no English speaking news channels. This doesn't bother me as I understand French but it is a bit annoying for a non-French speaker like my partner. I don't know when I was last in a hotel that didn't have this. The weather was too bad to use the pool so I can't comment on that, but it looked nice. We didn't take breakfast because cafes in the cité serve it for 5 euros compared to the 9 euros charged by the hotel, or there are crêpe and sandwich stalls just inside the cité gate. In better weather you would be able to buy croissants etc from the mini supermarket nearby (turn right out of the hotel then right again onto the main road then left) and have a picnic. Reception staff were polite. Overall, a perfectly acceptable hotel especially taking into account the sometimes rather dubious standards in France. More like a decent 2 star though. Perhaps it's the swimming pool that elevated this to 3 star status. But you could do a lot worse.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VAL-ENCIENNES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Amazing location for the price and we had a view of the medieval cite (which as 5 mins walk away)
Staff were adequate as was the room. On the small side but with great view and fantastic power shower. Would recommend this hotel for short stays 2-3 nights any longer and you might prefer somewhere with a lounge area or seats in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the cite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We have just returned from 4 nights at The Aragon, if you are just there for Carcassonne, possible a night or two too many.
On arrival they put us into a room that we did not book, after pointing this out, they found us the correct room.
The room (212) was very comfortable with a lovely view of the pool and the Castle. The bed was excellent and the shower very powerful and exhilarating.
Breakfast was 9 euros and whilst plentiful, very boring after 4 of them. Why on earth could they not do some boiled eggs or something to make it more interesting.
Spotlessly clean and very helpful staff.
Literally 5 minutes from the main gate to Le Cite, 25 minutes walk to the Railway Station and Canal. Airport Shuttle drops off 5 minutes from the Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank devonroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

Nothing too much trouble for the staff and it is in a great location. Couple of minor problems - room was a bit noisy and we could hear a baby crying next door and the drains ponged a bit. Would stay here again in spite of that.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen10715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

A lovely friendly little hotel very near the gates to the old city. The room had a wonderful view and was clean and well decorated. Best powered shower I have ever had. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful in numerous ways, I hopefully get to go back and would highly recommend this to travellers to Carcassonne

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Practicenurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night. We had a room with 5 beds, and they provided us with a baby bed. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was very nice and helpful. They let us use the kitchen downstairs.
We didn't really check the other hotels in the area. We just stopped near the castle and found the closest hotel, and it was just fine.
We actually ate the hotel breakfast, because it was comfortable. I wouldn't say it's worth 12 euro. It's better to go to the old city and grab something to eat there. However, they did say breakfast wasn't included and we had all the information.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley_Singer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
808 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
507 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
2 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aragon

Address: 15 Montee Gaston Combeleran, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price Range: £61 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aragon 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Aragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aragon Hotel Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing