We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Practically perfect right next to the Cité.”
Review of Hotel Aragon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Aragon
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We had a lovely stay. Small, but clean rooms that are thoughtfully decorated. Free wifi too.Very friendly staff, that arranged for our rooms to be together and even phoned the restaurant over the road for a parking space for our mini-van when their own car park was full. Breakfast was good, lots to choose from for our fussy teenagers.
The best thing about the hotel is the location, just a few strides from the entrance to the citadel. Lots of restaurants nearby or in the Cité too. And a pool to cool off in too. Great value. The only thing that could have improved the stay would be tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KT I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

if you only have a day or 2 to explore La Cite, the Aragon is perfectly located. While the rooms were small, the hotel is clean and comfortable, staff very friendly and helpful, and pool a welcome extra on a hot day. The only criticism I have is the WiFi which is unreliable and slow.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jtreml60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Down the hill near the Narbonne Gate, 5 minutes from the airport bus, 10 mins from some decent restaurants the Aragon has a lot going for it.
Rooms a little small but very adequate. Bed was a bit hard. Good curtains. Free air con. Decent size swimming pool. Didnt have breakfast but plenty did. Overall we thought it was a good choice for a 3 star stay

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank grumpypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed at Hotel Aragon for two nights and very much enjoyed our stay. We'd stayed at a smaller, 'more modern,' and slightly cheaper hotel very nearby, but were very pleased to switch over beause the Aragon was roomier, a bit classier, and had a pool, which was appreciated in the heat. Our room was great, the washroom was a bit small but quite functional. The room(s) appear to have recently been renovated.
The staff were very helpful, even after our stay was over. Directions, dining tips, baggage holding, allowing us an afternoon swim after we'd checked out -- very polite and pleasant to deal with. The location for visiting the city or the medieval city and castle is perfect. A short walk to either. We'd come back here if we get to visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Clean and well furnished room, but really on the small side, practically had to walk round the bed sideways! The bathroom too was very small and the shower (in the bath) pretty basic. Hairdryer annoyingly ineffective! That said, we encountered pleasant staff, the location is ideal for visiting the Cite, and as we were in Carcassone for a concert at the Festival, it was an easy walk to and from the Theatre Jean-Deschamps. Free car parking and nice swimming pool available. Price wise - reasonable for the location. Overall would recommend for an overnight stay, probably not for a longer break on account of the small room and bathroom size.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicegirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Very well located, at a very small walking distance from the medieval city. That certainly contributes to the reasonable price we pay.
For the rest, the room was very small, the air conditioning working erratically (from freezing to stopping) and the Wi-Fi simply dropped and was not accessible any more...
Breakfast reasonable but quite expensive!!!

Room Tip: But very poor Wi-Fi connection
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel is in a great location just outside the medieval city. The rooms may be on the small side but they're clean and have obviously recently been refurbished as has the rest of the hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful-there's a pool outside if the weather is good! Overall would recommend this hotel for a short break in Carcassonne.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevster144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#10 of 39 in Carcassonne
804 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
504 reviews
1.0 mi away
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite
0.1 mi away
Hotel Octroi
Hotel Octroi
#19 of 39 in Carcassonne
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aragon

Address: 15 Montee Gaston Combeleran, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price Range: £60 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aragon 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Aragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aragon Hotel Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing