We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely!”
Review of Hotel Montmorency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Montmorency
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely!”
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Relaxing, peaceful, beautiful location. Staff and facilities are excellent including the luxurious Spa. Nothing is too much trouble here for the guests. One thing we would have liked, would have been cereal and fresh fruit options at breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliceButt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    343
    104
    35
    12
See reviews for
141
449
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Hotel Montmorency is situated right at the gates of the walled city in Carcassonne. It couldn't have a better location. The hotel was clean and comfortable. We were pleased. It is a good walk into the new town but very doable.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renosteve95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Our fifth time here and probably the last as it's no longer value for money. Free parking now costs 10 euros. Not sure if free jacuzzis and pool still available or may be replaced by spa? Great location but nearby hotels offer better value.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TerryAtkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zuienkerke, Belgium
Level Contributor
420 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

I stayed for 1 night. I cannot say anything negative. The room was clean, with a lot of space, breakfast was excellent, location gorgeous. The price however, 125 euro for 1 night for a single room was realy too much. If you stay in carcasonne, stay some miles away from the city center.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_Ottantatre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Hotel Montmorency is in a great location just outside the old walled city. Hotel Montmorency is a building with only rooms, it is associated with Hotel Chateau which is located across the street. The room rates at Hotel Montmorency are much cheaper than Hotel Chateau. Hotel Montmorency has average sized rooms for Europe. The bathrooms are adequate and include a separate toilette. You can get meals across the street at Hotel Chateau but they are overpriced. You are better off having dinner in the old walled city and for breakfast go to the town square in Carcassonne.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank John98020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We recently stayed at the Montmorency which is a lovely hotel opposite the medieval city. The location is excellent, our room was good if a little small. All the facilities at the hotel across the road are excellent, the staff are very helpful and we would recommend this hotel highly.

The only minor concerns we had was the shower wall fixing which isn;t adjustable and you end up spraying the entire room.

We ordered an armagnac in the bar without checking the menu so were unaware of the vast difference in prices. Without being offered a choice we were served the most expensive at 17 euros which was quite a shock. It would have been good to have been asked which brand we wanted.

Apart from these minor complaints we had a nice time at the hotel and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaKent0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2011

We were not expecting too much as it rated as 2 star however I think this is because the Montmorency itself lacks facilities as it is a sort of annexe of Hotel Du Chateau. The room we had ( Number 21) was comfortable and clean and had a little patio/garden. We had use of all the facilities of Hotel Du Chateau which had a lovely pool, jacuzzi and fabulous views of the old city walls. In the heat of the summer when the streets of the old city would be mobbed this hotel is ideally located in order to escape to cool off. I would highly recommend this hotel as value for money. Most of the rooms on the bottom floor of Montmorency appeared to have little patios and my recommendation would be ask for a room not close to the entrance as you can be wakened early with people leaving who are unaware of the noise their cases make trundling over the cobblestones. This was not really a problem for us as we were there at a fairly quite time but in the busy season this might annoy. Apart from that we had no compaints at all.

Room Tip: Book in at hotel Du Chateau.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PtrishaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#9 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montmorency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montmorency

Property: Hotel Montmorency
Address: 2 rue Camille Saint Saens, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
#5 Family Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montmorency 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Montmorency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montmorency Hotel Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing