We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Montmorency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Montmorency
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

I book a villa of 4 rooms for a family of 8 and was everyone was very impressed by the villa. The hotel is the first hotel that you will see from the entrance, it's really that close (hotel montmorency is part of Hotel_du_Chateau) separated by a small road. Each of the bedrooms were spacious and had good views of the cite. Staff is friendly and is ready to help anytime!

Some minor issues I had is that there is only one bathroom area in the whole villa and the garden doors cannot be secured. However there is a door at the stairway on the 2nd floor which can be secured. There is also no other settings like a fridge, water boiler or any cups

Overall, a wonderful nice experience and will loved to stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jostang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    339
    103
    35
    12
See reviews for
141
443
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

This is a great option situated only a stone's thrown from one of the main entrances to the old medieval cite. The staff were friendly and welcoming, and the room had everything that we needed although it was a little on the small side and could have done with a better shower. Breakfast was also excellent - served in the main sister hotel with good views over the cite as it got light.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gwezzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in October and absolutely loved it. The hotel is right outside of the main entrance to the medieval citte. An excellent place to be based. We loved the whole experience. Our room had a little deck off the back with seating and a table. Breakfast is served in the neighbouring hotel. The staff have two dogs who wander around the dining room, which we loved. On our last morning there was a performance of a sword fight right in front of the dining room. You can't go to Carcassonne without also walking down the hill to the canal and the city outside of the walls. Great shopping too!

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank wendy211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2012

This is my second time at this hotel and although the first time we stayed we were a little disappointed, we ( my partner and I ) decided to give it the benefit of the doubt. Since we were here the last time the hotel has been refurbished, the rooms are now slightly bigger and very modern, not quite sure if its in keeping with the theme of Carcassonne and the old cite but they are immaculate, quiet and have a really good strong wifi signal, which was important to us as we work when we travel. The location is what sells the hotel to us and we would stay there again without hesitation. We haven't had breakfast there so we can't comment but we did the last time and thought it was very expensive for what you get. The parking is very secure and to us is worth €10 a night, you can park around the Hotel area cheaper if you wish but it's not worth the hassle.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
167 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

Stumble out of breakfast and into the old walled city - was perfect for us

Pool and spa was closed although it was October and cold so cant really complain.
Rooms are not massive and although renovated, they are only average, but the proximity to the sister Hotel du Chateau where you check in, have a bar and the restauirant are ideal

Would I go back - yes, really liked it

Downside - owners have 2 dogs , and at least 1 cat that lounge around the check in area, and the restaurant (if you let them) - personally I liked it, they were lovely and friendly and the dogs came over to me as I rubbed their heads etc, but my wife hated it (she thinks dogs should be kept out) . So take your pick on your own view

As we went out of season not much esle was open really around the area and It is a good 45 min walk into the main town, but possible. However, the restaurants in the old City are only 10-15mins away and all are open so there is no issue

Room Tip: Stay in the more expensive Hotel Du Chateau
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haysinarabia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed our time at Montmorency. Nicole greeted us warmly on arrival and we were recommended a great restaurant for dinner that night.
The location is wonderful, just a 1 minute walk to the entrance of the walled city. It's a really joy to walk the city at night after the crowds have gone home and have just a short stroll back to the Montmorency.
The room was also spacious and comfortable and breakfast room was delightful.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maddy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
220 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

This place really has three hotels, the Monmorency being one of them and sharing the same reception. The staff was wonderful. They found time to be friendly, the comfortable rooms were cleaned quickly and early and the breakfasts were very good and served well.
The location was much better than we expected. We had tried to stay inside the walls fo Carcassonne but none were available. I was so glad we did not stay there for the difficulty in getting in and out. This location is a short walk to Carcassonne La Cite.
Parking is available and convenient.

Room Tip: If visiting the Carcassonne to see La Cite, and you plan to visit locations outside of the walls, st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#10 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montmorency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montmorency

Property: Hotel Montmorency
Address: 2 rue Camille Saint Saens, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Carcassonne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montmorency 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Montmorency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montmorency Hotel Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing