We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Montmorency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Montmorency
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The hotel sits in the shadow of the nearby fortress walls. The room was pleasant - almost boutique - with comfortable furniture. The bathroom was modern, although the shower nozzle wouldn't sit in its cradle and would spray water everywhere. If you're looking to be close to the castle, this is the place to stay. Oh, and be sure to bring your swimsuit. They have a pool, which looked very inviting on the hot day we stayed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ContinentalWander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    352
    106
    35
    13
See reviews for
144
467
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, Kent
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This was a great little hotel. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Lovely breakfast, though you have to pay extra for it. Our room was clean and well appointed and had its own private little garden. It is a fantastic location, literally opposite the main entrance to Carcassonne Cite itself, so it's easy to pop in and out. Nice little terrace to sip drinks and watch the world go by. You can also use the swimming pool of the sister hotel, which is right next door (it's the same reception and bar for both hotels) No restaurant apart from for breakfast but not a problem as there are loads inside Carcassonne

Room Tip: We stayed in room 21. Not roomy, but had the nice little garden to sit in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenanddave55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulsbo, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We're very pleased with our room, and yes we knew going in that we were in the satellite hotel. We had an outdoor patio, very clean room, and a good bed. Had all the access to the Chateau facilities and it was the best continental breakfast even at the price. The access to the old city is the next best thing to being IN the Cité which was very expensive. The view of the lighted castle walls at night is gorgeous.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room to get the patio and French doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Facing the cite, very pretty hotel, nice pool, staff was very kind and Cerise and Elliot grant you when you arrive. They are the owner's dogs!. Only very small concern, since we got the very last room, it was quite small. I would go back anytime if I am in Carcassonne.

Room Tip: The owners have 2 hotels side by side. If you are looking for a modern affordable room, ask for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cloranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Room was very clean and comfortable with lots of car parking. A modern room with comfortable bed and excellent shower. Could walk to La Cite. Reception were very friendly. Gardens were nice to relax in.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jenmelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Yes, the website may be a bit misleading but that's what trip advisor is for ! You simply can't beat the location and the ambience of the hotel, so close to the Cité entrance but with a feeling of being in the middlke of the countryside and a fabulous view of the castle walls. Obviously not every room of the Monmorency overlooks the old town, but neither do those at le Chateaux hotel. Also the rooms at the Montmorency are only about 30 metres further from the Le Chateaux reception, bar, restaurant and pool than some of the main hotel's rooms.
My wife and I both found the reception staff to be very pleasant and helpful (considering how many french hotels have the usual supercillious, unpleasant french people running them). They helped with restruant and taxi recommendations and reservations. Room (we had the bright pink decor one) was fine with nice terrace overlooking the castle. Nothing amazing though. However, you come to Carcassonne for the old town and that delivered big time !
In conclusion, the hotel isn't cheap from the perspective of the size, quality, facilities in the room itself. However, the benefit of being a 30 second walk from the Le Chateaux facilities more than outweighed this especially when the weather is nice, as it was for us. Nor were we made to feel like 2nd class citizens. BTW, you check in and out at the Le Chateaux.
If you fancy a cheaper, nicer breakfast then recommend you go into the old town and you will find a nice cafe about 3 shops up the main road from the tourist office (€7 for latte, bread & jam, fresh OJ and pain au choc). Recommend Bar a Vin for a nice casual drink outside.
The guided tour of the old town is worth the money. The optional (extra) Canal cruise is a bit of a waste of time. nothing to see other than going up and down through a canal lock.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cubbsy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Unlike some people on this site, I had done my research and knew what to expect. I did not expect to have 4 star facilities of the sister hotel (the chateau) in the 3 star hotel. If you didn't know that it's your own fault not the hotels!
Anyway, I stayed two nights by myself and it was great. My room was comfortable and clean, the location was excellent and the perks of using the 4 star hotel facilities (pool, restaurant, spa) were great!
I'm a little bit worried about the size of the dogs, which sleep most of the day near the restaurant entrance. They obviously get fed very very well.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ali_bub1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
767 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#6 of 39 in Carcassonne
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montmorency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montmorency

Property: Hotel Montmorency
Address: 2 rue Camille Saint Saens, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
#5 Family Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montmorency 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Montmorency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montmorency Hotel Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing