We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location outside of the gates. Clean, good service”
Review of Hotel Montmorency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Montmorency
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good location outside of the gates. Clean, good service”
Reviewed 12 August 2009

The hotel is a nice clean hotel with air conditioning located just outside of the outside walls. There is a pool which we didn't use, but we did see others enjoying it. If you just walk up a set of stairs you're right at the main gate to the old city.

Great staff and the rooms were cleaned well every day. Also there's a nice sitting area in the sister hotel to enjoy a drink.

Breakfast is a bit on the overpriced side, but you get rolls, meat & cheese, plain yogurt ,some below average coffee and some juice for 10euros. We chose to eat breakfast as it is forcably included.

Overall a good stay and it would be hard to be disappointed based on the price that we paid.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    342
    104
    35
    12
See reviews for
141
447
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

We booked this as the main Hotel du Chateau was full. The breakfast room, pool etc are all shared with the main hotel and perfectly pleasant - a lovely quiet spot in a very busy touristy place. But the room (not the lowest grade of room!) was just tiny, no room for cases, virtually no storage space and we needed lots of co-operation for two people to share the room. Bed was tiny too. If we hadn't had a car to stow the luggage in, it would have been really claustrophobic. We upgraded after one day to the main hotel which now had some space - more than twice the price (for a junior suite) but a huge relief to have some room to move. And very comfortable too, but then that's the least you'd expect.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppletonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

We picked this hotel after reading other reports on Trip advisor and found them to be very accurate. The hotel is a perfect location only minutes from the walled city. We arrived by train and the taxi ride cost 7 euros plus tip.
Front desk staff are great and helped us in many ways. They even arranged an early breakfast for us so that we could still make our early train and booked the return taxi for us. Having breakfast in such close proximity to the castle was a highlight of our stay.
The room is simple and on the small side but it was ver clean, the AC worked and the bed was comfortable. I expected to be kept awake by corridor noise but this did not happen. If you are staying in this town then this is a good choice.
Note; they have two dogs and a cat who reside in the hotel lobby. If you don't like animals then this may not be a place for you

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sacul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Córdoba, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2009

The Montmorency is a pleasant hotel ideally located near the entrance to the castle. The room was clean. The staff was helpful. Internet was included free. The only word of warning is that the map on their website is not very detailed. We had some difficulty finding the hotel and due to language issues, the desk clerk was unable to provide any useful help, which was a bit frustrating. I would advise that you bring a good map of the town with you. Aside from having trouble finding the hotel, we had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tohjnya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2009

Awesome little hotel. Would stay again. Perfect location. Pool needs some work.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovesJif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2009

This two star hotel across the road from its sister three star is well worth considering for a stay in Carcassone. Situated directly outside the main entrance to the Cite, it is clean and well priced. You have free parking and the option of using the swimming pool and jacuzzi. The breakfast, at 10 euros each, seems a little steep, but it is impeccably served in a calm relaxing atmosphere. One quibble - the room was tiny and there was literally not enough space to stow suitcases and clothes so I spent the whole time tripping over my case and taking everything out when I wanted something.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KairdiffGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, MA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2009

Literally only 4 minutes from the entrance to the old city and fortress. Staff was friendly, free computers in the lobby of the main hotel across the street. Room was a bit warn with the wall paper peeling in one place and fabric warn off of the edge of one chair. Good sound prof windows and AC. Save in room which is nice. Breakfast was pretty standard continental style and served to your table.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#10 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montmorency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montmorency

Property: Hotel Montmorency
Address: 2 rue Camille Saint Saens, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Carcassonne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montmorency 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Montmorency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montmorency Hotel Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing