We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Far exceeded our expectations”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property
kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
kitchen
master bedroom view from dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
23 reviews
kitchen
master bedroom
view from dining room
bathroom
living room
second bedroom
dining area
dining room
kitchen
living room
main bedroom
master bedroom
dining room
corridor
second bedroom
utility room
living room
kitchen detail
kitchen
corridor
second bedroom
bathroom detail
bathroom detail
bathroom
bathroom detail
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Carcassonne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
James R
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Far exceeded our expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

My wife and I and In-laws stayed in mid-October, and we were very happily surprised both both the size of the apt (as large as my 3 bed house in Sydney), as well as the comfortable feel and location. It is smack bang in the middle of the pedestrian-only Rue de Courtejaire. I was able to park the car in nearby Rue Barbes while taking suitcases to the apartment. There isn't a lift, but there is a very wide staircase, and the apt is only up one floor, so access is easy.
Everything that we needed was provided in the apt, and while it is located above a small bar, as others have noted, closing the door between the kitchen and the bedrooms at the back of the apt ensures a quiet sleep.
We had parked the car in the Place Gambetta parking station for our four day visit, and were caught out on our departure day by the fact that it is closed on Sunday (we couldn't find any notices about the closure). We were able to follow a local in through the locked doors and get the car out luckily. Parking on most streets in the town itself seems to be free after 1800, so park there if you plan to depart on a Sunday.
We were very happy with the apt, and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to stay right in the heart of Carcassonne. It is clean, very spacious, and comfortable. The owner, Rory, was extremely helpful when we got caught by the parking station issue.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The spaciousness was wonderful, and the apartment had a great comfortable feel to it
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMSunday
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dad's 70th surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We booked Chez Georges based on the pictures and online reviews we were able to find. In the past, pictures have often suggested the property to be larger than it was. Not in this case. We were nearly lost for the apartment is so spacious it is unbelievable! It is in a great location, beautifully decorated and just ideal for two couples like in our case or a young family.
Rather than eating out we ended up spending most nights in the flat cooking and chatting - simply because we liked it so much.
The pub downstairs can be a tad lively but it didn't bother us at any moment (bedrooms are to the back anyway) and we enjoyed a wee glass of wine there ourselves.
It was lovely to be welcomed in the property with a bottle of local wine, it was a lovely, unexpected surprise and we were all very touched about it.
The apartment is definitely value for money and with the train station just minutes walk away it is easy to make day trips around the area.
Supermarket is mere seconds away as is the nearest bakery.
The flat has an excellent folder full of handy information too.
Bedrooms are large and the beds super comfortable. There is a good basic stock of stuff in the kitchen (spices, tea, coffee) and all the utensils you could ask for. All and all an amazing place.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Great size and location
Liked least: No negatives
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah m
Cellai, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Huge, Well-Appointed Apartment in Central Carcassonne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Chez George is the place for you if you want to be smack dab in the center of town, near the main square (Place Carnot), and long for spacious digs. On the first floor (European), Chez George is the nicest apartment I've ever rented in Europe. The rooms are huge; the kitchen is modern and well equipped; a DVD player, TV w/access to non-French stations, and WiFi are available; both a clothes washer AND dryer are available; and the beds are exceptionally comfortable. The bedrooms are in the back of the apartment, so street noise (the apartment is above a bar) is no bother. I had a car and parked on the nearby Blvd Jean-Jaurès where parking is free between 6 pm and 9 am -- about 3 blocks away. There's a great market in Place Carnot on Saturday mornings and a smaller version on Tuesdays and Thursdays.

I stayed for a week and toured the region, using Carcassonne as home base. Cathar Country, Albi, Collioure on the coast, Narbonne, Toulouse -- all are easily reachable.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Size and quality of the apartment
Liked least: Noise from the bar beneath the apartment
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fifimcm28
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“ANOTHER GREAT STAY HERE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed here last year ourselves, and were so impressed with the accommodation and the area ,we brought my parents in law with us this time.
The apartment was easily big enough for four of us and we used the kitchen for some evening meals, as the local market three times a week, is a must to buy delicious ingredients.
There is lots to do in Carcassonne and there are loads of restaurants nearby.
Would happily stay again and would heartily recommend the apartment.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location,size and condition of the apartment
Liked least: Having to come home!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonydeb
swadlincote
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect apartment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

just returned from a week at chez george, lovely spaciouse apartment all mod cons right in the centre of everything shopping resturants ,train station 10 min walk lac de la cavayere is a must its a lake up in the forrest for swimming safe for kiddies refreshments available only 1 euro each to get there bus stops over the road,la cite very impressive lovely outside and in 15 min walk from apartment lovely walk through the park along the river,we are just glad everything was as it was said to be would recommend this apartment to friends and family and anybody who is thinking of going to carcossonne .

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: loved it all
Liked least: nothing bad to say about the apartment or carcossonne
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P0tbellyP...
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Fantastic pied a terre right off the plaza in Carcassonne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This is a wonderful two bedroom apartment right in the middle of bustling Carcassonne. 12 foot ceilings and enormous spaces make the updated apartment feel like the guest lodgings in a mansion. Three adults and two teenagers were in our group and we never stepped on each others' toes. Although there is only one bathroom, the WC and bath are separate which is very accommodating for larger groups like our own. The bedrooms are massive, beds comfortable, linens very nice, and the kitchen is well equipped. Massive windows in the huge living room overlook the main pedestrian shopping area in Carcassonne, just a block off the central plaza. It is surrounded by restaurants, cafes, bakeries, and markets. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone. The owners have been a delight to work with, even sending the ipod that our son left in the living room.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Size and comfort of the apartment, and location.
Liked least: The hot water heater heats overnight, so no hot showers in the afternoon.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KGNew
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Palatial apartment in the centre of Carcassonne.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

There were 6 of us in our party and Chez George had plenty of room to accommodate us all. The apartment is in the heart on Carcassonne surrounded by excellent restaurants, near to a supermarket and boulangeries, and close to the citadel, station and canal. We did not have a car but easily walked to the citadel and booked a minibus for a tour of the Cathar Castles. The apartment is very well equipped, clean and stylish and so big we managed to play hide and seek with my two sons for hours! I have never seen ceilings so high!! Despite being on a busy pedestrian street and above a bar the apartment was quiet and peaceful. An excellent holiday was had by all!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The central location and size of the apartment.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$76
/
Night
Week
Month
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing