We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic location... take note on some details”
other travellers have booked this property
Spacious Penthouse with large living space and private south facing terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious Penthouse with large living space and private south facing terrace
Front door 2 minutes away
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Spacious Penthouse with large living space and private south facing terrace
Front door
2 minutes away
Living room next to terrace
First bedroom
Second bedroom
Wellv equipped  kitchen with dining  table
Main living room
The bedroom corridoor
Table and chairs on the terrace
sunny terrace
the medieval city
Saturday market
View of St Michaels from the Terrace
Well equipped kitchen
Well equipped kitchen
Bright lounge
Bunk bed room
Bunk bed room
Italian shower walk in power shower
Ensuite lavatory for master bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
SteveB197
Park City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic location... take note on some details”
Reviewed 1 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Pros of this apartment were:

- Location, Location, Location. Truly in the heart of the Bastide and close to the Cite.
- Easy access to great restaurants, Saturday market, grocery store, bakeries, shopping, etc. Was a delight to stroll out.
- Surprisingly quiet given how central it was. The apartment really is private and we saw no one else entering or leaving the building during our stay.
- Space - really a lot of space including a great outside area.
- Kitchen was pretty well equipped.
- Checkin was with the cleaner (Cecile) who was incredibly friendly, helpful and went over and beyond in helping us figure out parking and other details. A delightful lady.
- Showers worked really well for Europe. Good water pressure.
- Internet worked fast and made our kids happy.

Cons

- Parking is a MAJOR problem in the area. We told there was plenty of free parking nearby. Our checkin experience was painful - we paid to park for an hour maybe 500 feet away and dragged our luggage through the streets and up 3 flights of stairs. Two adults and two teenagers, so everyone could move their own stuff, but still got us hot & bothered. Then we went to move the car when we were told where the free parking was. Unfortunately we'd been boxed in by other parked cars and had to wait an hour before being able to move the car. We finally figured out the free parking but were also warned that car break-ins are common in the area. There were no issues, but we would have welcomed better advance information from the owners.
- The bunk beds in the 3rd bedroom were pretty tight. Our 13 year old is 5' 11" so he declined that option and slept on the couch instead.
- The heat can be oppressive in Carcassonne in the summer - it was hot and reasonably humid. The air conditioning in the unit really struggled and it was hard to sleep in the first part of the evening.

Overall great place to stay - I'd ask for information ahead of time if you plan on driving. And be aware of the heat and understand the room configurations for your party.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2018
Hello Steve Sorry t hear about your parking snags. That is not typical. it is usually pretty simple. I also was not aware of the break in frequency. I wonder how you heard that... I hope a rash rather than something that is going to settle in. I will advise that the airconditioning should be left on all the time. the doors of the bedroom need to be let open and the windows closed and it is really effective. Thank you for your visit and feedback. The free parking is at the Dome and the parking on the Boulevard is 2.50 per day
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquelyn...
2 reviews
“Wonderful character filled cottage”
Reviewed 28 October 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Charming house in a winding medieval street in quaint village in the heart of Cathar country. The kitchen is fantastic and the whole place is beautifully appointed - a mix of old style classic and comfort with mod cons. The church and chateau are right next door for added character. Easy to find, close to Limoux, with all beautiful country side around. Sophie was great to deal with, so friendly but not intrusive at all.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquilegia...
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very spacious apartment in the bastide”
Reviewed 2 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Great location in a quiet street - ideal for both the bastide and the castle area (20 minute walk away). We stayed just one night, but really appreciated having self-catering facilities and far more space than typical hotel rooms offer. The Saturday marked is just a couple of minutes' walk away and well worth visiting to stock up on food. Overall, a great stay - and an enjoyable first night on our summer holiday in the area.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fragolino...
1 review
“Very central, quirky appartment”
Reviewed 27 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Really enjoyed staying at this appartment. The furniture & fittings could do with an upgrade. Otherwise it was spacious and welcoming.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paco F
1 review
“Great family apartment in centre of town”
Reviewed 8 June 2016 for a stay in September 2015

Our family with two young children had a lovely 9 month stay in this spacious and well-located apartment in the centre of the Bastide, close to everything you could possibly need to get by on a day-to-day basis. Sophie was very welcoming and always just a phone call away. Everyone had their own bedroom and the kids shared their own full bathroom, which was a definite plus. The upstairs kitchen was well stocked and we always felt at home. Definitely a great place to stay to explore the beautiful Aude region for both long and short stays.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2016
Glad you stay was such fun Paco.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AEtherity
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“We loved Carcassonne”
Reviewed 14 December 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed in the Carcassonne Penthouse with our six children (ages 10-20) during a road trip from our base house in Mialet. The stay was wrapped by a day and a half with James McDonald touring Carcassonne and Cathar Country. Both James and Sophie were awesome before, during and after our stay. The Penthouse was well-situated in Carcassonne and comfortably accommodated our party of eight. We would definitely stay again when visiting Carcassonne.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip D
1 review
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

You'd never guess it from the outside...an ordinary side street in the heart of the old Bastide area of Carcassonne....containing a truly delightful, spacious, well planned and well equipped penthouse apartment with secluded rear sun balcony. Twenty minutes walk from the hillside castle, definitely one of the most impressive ever built. Weather in May can be unpredictable, but in the penthouse, you're definitely in the right place, rain or shine. Bright and spacious, comfortable, and centrally situated. Top marks !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2015
Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing