We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Really Nice Flat in a Great Location”
other travellers have booked this property
the view from the lounge window
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
the view from the lounge window
A comfortable nights sleep awaits after all your exploring The lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
the view from the lounge window
A comfortable nights sleep awaits after all your exploring
The lounge
the kitchen
the lounge
The bathroom has a constant supply of hot water
Round the corner from the apartment and you feel like you have stepped back in time.
Colourful local markets are held in many nearby towns as well as Carcassonne (3 times a week)
The surrounding countryside is a painters paradise, or perhaps just somewhere for a leasurely walk.
Seeing a concert within the Castle can be a highlight of a trip
Circulade villages were built around a castle, this one is near Carcassonne
The Donjon or keep is at the centre of the Castle walls
Take a leisurly boat trip on the Canal du Midi
The autumn colours of the vines are a sight to see
One of the many festivals is Limoux carnival
The firework display on Bastille day is amazing, book early for this one.
At the local markets, the selection of produce can be overwhelming
Puivert castle is one of many in the surrounding area
Montsegur is a Cathar castle and well worth the climb, especially in winter
The medieval bridge links the Cite and the main town crossing the river Aude
Place Carnot becomes a skating rink and Christmas market in December
The river is just at the end of the road, why not dip your feet and relax
The park at the end of the road is between the river and the Cite walls
There are bars and restaurants for all tastes in the Cite
Place Carnot, in the main town, has a market on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays
The facade of the apartments as seen for the Cite
The apartments are just below the Cite walls
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
phikapboy
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really Nice Flat in a Great Location”
Reviewed 16 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed in Apt. Monet for a week, 10-17 Sept./14. Enjoyed it very much. Spacious flat with a great view of the Castle, especially at night when it is lit up (although you do have to get low to the floor for the best view!). Los of hot water. Mick & Inga were very gracious hosts who could not have been more helpful. When the wi-fi didn't work when we arrived (not their fault!), Mick persevered in dealing with France Telecom until it was fixed. Many hosts would not have done that.
The flat is a 15 minute walk uphill to the Castle and all that goes on up there. Also reasonably close (walking) to the New Town across the river. There are also several restaurants and stores within a couple of blocks of the flat.
If you have a car, parking is a bit problematic, but we were always able to get a spot in the free public parking about 3-4 blocks away. Also, you might get lucky and get a space on the street.
Apt. Monet is 2 flights up from the street, but we managed okay with our luggage. Mick & Inga also offer the 2 flats on the ground and first floors. and they have a couple of flats across the street as well, so there are several choices.

Having great hosts makes up for any small challenges!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & helpful hosts
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fairy tale Location”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Just returned from a 3 night break at this apartment. The apartment is on the 3rd floor and has fantastic views from the lounge of the apartment over to the castle, which when lit up by the massive spotlights at night was truly magical. The apartment only has one bedroom, but it has a pull put sofa bed, which accommodated another 2 of our family. The apartment is well equipped with everything you would need for a short break, added bonus of a washing machine should you be staying longer. The owner picked us up from the airport as part of the service which was a nice touch. The apartment is in a residential area, but has a bakery and a newsagent close by for essentials . Towels were provided by the owner, and the shower which also had plenty of hot water was great after a busy day sightseeing. We found the location perfect, and an easy 10 minute walk and you were inside the walls of the castle, which had a great selection of restaurants and small gift shops. We had great difficulty getting a taxi booked for our return journey to the airport, due to it being a Sunday morning, and a phone call to the owner for help, resulted in us being picked up by one of the owners and driven back to the airport. Customer service way beyond anything we have experienced before. The only downside was the apartment was very hot, and the 2 fans which were supplied did not really cool it down, small gripe out weighted by the location and level of customer service experienced.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and customer service
Liked least: Lack of air conditioning as the apartment was very hot.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorrnna
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful memory!”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My daughter and I spent 3 nights in Apartment Monet in May. We had such a wonderful time!
The apartment was just lovely and Carcassonne was the perfect location for a short trip. We loved everything about the trip: the very comfortable apartment with its amazing view, the old city, the 'newer' city, delicious restaurants. I have to say the highlight of our trip was when we hired bikes and cycled along the Canal du Midi - such fun! We would so love to go back one day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynnylou7...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent, would definately stay there again”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Very clean and well equiped apartment. We stayed for the fireworks, and had the best views in the city. Excellent location, and very welcoming hosts. Everything you need is nearby with great restaurants and bars just around the corner.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne J
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An Absolute Gem”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My husband and I have just returned home from a one week stay at the Apartment Monet. The apartment was well presented and an absolutely lovely "home from home". The kitchen was modern and well stocked with all the equipment you might need to cook for yourselves, which we did on several evenings. Similarly the bathroom was modern with a great shower. The apartment is ideally situated and within walking distance of both the old Cite and the town outside the castle walls. Inga has thought of everything to make the apartment really comfortable. We had the pleasure of meeting her during our stay and she is a very warm and friendly host eager to make sure we were happy with everything, which we most definitely were. This apartment is ideal for a short weekend break. If staying for longer a car is a good idea to see more of the surrounding area. We hired a car before leaving the UK and enjoyed visiting some of the stunning Cathar castles in the region. I would certainly recommend the apartment to anyone wanting a relaxing stress free break in a beautiful part of the world.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the amenities which made it a
Liked least: The property had a satellite dish but the TV reception was very poor and it was virtually impossible to watch any of the satellite channels.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg J
Paris, France
2 reviews
“Outstanding Location and Accommodation”
Reviewed 2 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Inga was an excellent host - I arrived in Carcassonne with a brief walk to the flat and found everything to my liking. Flat was in an excellent location for access both to La Cite and the Bastide, well appointed and comfortable.

I will definitely come and stay again in future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location
Liked least: I was unable to locate a wine bottle opener ... so bought one, definitely a must have in this area LOL.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie S
Minehead, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely apartment and fabulous location”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We had a fab week staying in Monet Apartment, it was perfect for us. The apartment was clean and comfortable, plenty of room for just the two of us and a great shower! The location was ideal, everything in Carcassonne seemed within easy walking distance. The view of La Cite from the apartment window was stunning, it almost felt like it wasn't real it was so picture perfect!
We flew into Toulouse and hired a car as we wanted to get out and about during our holiday, I was a little apprehensive about parking the car as there is no parking with the apartment, but we easily found free parking on one of the nearby streets every time.
Overall we had a brilliant holiday, loved Carcassonne, loved Monet Apt, thank you very much!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing