We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful gite, quiet location, authentic rural...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Fran L
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful gite, quiet location, authentic rural France”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Our family (2 adults, 3 children aged 9,8,4) had the pleasure of staying in Gite Lavande for one week in July. The gite was very clean, immaculately presented and contained everything that you could need. The kitchen had just been newly installed and everything worked perfectly. The pool was fabulous with a wonderful relaxation area and the pool house contained lots of items you could use e.g. bikes, buckets and spades for beach etc. From the gite we did various day trips: Carcassonne (World heritage site-40 mins away), Narbonne beach (45 mins) which was beautiful, river swimming like the locals do (recommended by Jonathan) which our boys absolutely loved and Minerve (local village, very quaint and beautiful). The local supermarket (5 mins drive) was well stocked with a great selection of fish, meat, cheese, wine etc. Jonathan and Suzanna were very helpful and hosted an informal welcome soiree where we got to taste local foods and wine. We would definitely recommend this gite for a relaxing family holiday or for extended families/groups booking several of the gites. The Lloyd family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Immaculate condition of gite including kicthen, bedding, bathrooms.
Liked least: No air conditioning and it was very hot. Fans were provided but were of little use.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siegburg, Germany
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool and warm welcome
Liked least: Nothing to comment about
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nteeman
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful setup - thoroughly recommended”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Jonathan and Suzanna have a really lovely setup in a picture perfect small village. We stayed in the larger Gite Olivier. The gite was decorated to a high standard and the kitchen is equipped with everything you need to take advantage of the local produce and sit outside in the wonderful private courtyard.

A very relaxing holiday. We will be back....

Thank you

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustywind...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great base for exploring the region”
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Comfortable gite in a small village in the heart of Languedoc-Roussilon. Perfect for access to the Narbonne and the beaches of the Mediterranean as well as the Canal Du Midi and the Cathar Castles.
Highlight of the property is the pool which is heated and kept spotlessly clean by the owner and his robot assistant.
The gite itself is simply but elegantly finished and immaculately clean. We made extensive use of the Weber gas barbecue to cook meat and fish from local markets.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maclej
Bedford, NS
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Perfect location...”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

If you wish to see all that this area of Languedoc has to offer, La Maison Des Vignes is a perfect location. All of the sights are within an hours drive or so and we took full advantage of this (3000 km in two weeks). We stayed in the Olivier and enjoyed its layout and privacy very much. It is expandable to an extra bedroom and bath, making it versatile for families. However, be aware that internet coverage is not available in this part of the property, which is very inconvenient at times. Jonathan ans Suzanne were excellent hosts and provided a great deal of useful information about the local area and made us feel extremely welcome in their gite.
If there is a downside it is the village. It is quiet in the extreme and that was fine with us...but would have loved a village restaurant or brasserie. Highly recommend this gite.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and proprieters
Liked least: Lack of internet and no activities in the village
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cliftongi...
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My perfect piece of the Languedoc.”
Reviewed 4 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This property is all that we anticipated and more. The gite itself was a lovely home from home with a fabulous pool. It was lovely to sit out on our terrace in the evenings with a local glass of wine and a good bbq. The holiday got off to a great start with a 'meet the neighbours' evening that was a real nice touch with wine flowing, local delicacies and friendly chat. The local area is perfect for a relaxing holiday in a tranquil village with the lovely sound of church bells on the hour, and a useful little shop for essentials, although there is a highly recommended shop at the local petrol station with an amazing butcher. We traveled to the coast a couple of days which took about 45 minutes to discover uncrowded beautiful long sandy beaches. The halles at Narbonne are also worth a visit if you like your food like we do!! If you get chance to visit the local chateau Festiano you will be made more than welcome by a lovely couple who were so hospitable and managed to sell us several boxes of wine!! Worth that 10 hour drive back to Calais!! Thanks Johnathan & Susanna for a great holiday and if you fancy a trip to Barcelona on the 27th let us know.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A perfect French village location
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian G
2 reviews
“Fun, relaxing and friendly”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a great week at La Maison de Vignes, we spent most of the time in the pool with our children aged 5, 11, and 13. We loved the warm welcome with an informal gathering on the first evening that helped us get to know the other Gite residents as well as determine the best use of our week regrading trips, restaurants etc.
Jonathan is a great host who helped make the stay at LMDV one of our best holidays.The gites are constantly being improved making it a great holiday choice.
Tourouzelle is a great location to explore the surrounding area and based on the guest book many have returned to LDMV on a regular basis, we may well join them in the coming years.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing