We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another wonderful stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
71 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 71 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
pgeoghega...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This was our second time La Maison and this second visit more than matched the first, which was wonderful.
The gite has had a revamp since we came 2 years ago, and an already very well appointed property has been enhanced. We particularly appreciated the fast wifi, refitted kitchen and new TV. (Nobody wants to watch TV much on holiday, but it's nice to watch the news and catch up on Jeremy Corby, et al. Occasionally)
There is nothing more to add other than to thank Jonathan and Suzanna for an absolutely perfect stay. We look forward to coming back soon.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan W
Leymen, France
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to relax”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a wonderful stay and would definitely recommend the appartments. We stayed in one with a double room on the ground floor and a twin room upstairs (and with a sofa bed that could have been used). The pool was great, and essential when we were there, for it was in part of the 2015 heatwave and it was 37 or 38 C each day.

We had wonderful visits to Narbonne, Leucat Plage and Carcassone - which is an exquisite walled medieval city, an absolute must-see.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owner, Jonathon, was really helpful and had lots of great suggestions.
Liked least: There aren't really any facilities in the village itself - you have to go to one of the adjacent villages for provisions
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely Gite in a Beautiful Setting”
Reviewed 23 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We travelled to the area in a a group of 4 friends and chose the lovely Gite Lavender based on reviews on here. The Gite lived up to all the 5 star reviews; it was located in a sleepy French town, had plenty of space for the 4 of us whilst being set in lovely grounds - I felt relaxed as soon as I arrived.

The Gite itself was well appointed and had pretty much everything we needed, including great wifi and a lovely gas BBQ which was perfect for us to have a couple of meals out on the covered terrace. The terrace was a real asset to us as it opened out into the lounge to give lots of light and air whilst also being great for sitting out and drinking a bottle of wine, even the one evening when it was raining.

Jonathan and Susanne were great hosts and very knowledgable about the local area and were always happy to give out tips. The mixer on the first night was a great chance to get to know people and in fact we became friendly with the guests in one of the other Gites, even having them over for drink some nights.

There is a lot to see and do in the area, I would highly recommend the Festiano Vineyard, the Village of Minerve (and the restaurant there!), central Narbonne with its canal, cathedral and food market and the river at Ribaute for swimming.

I would recommend for anyone to stay here and I would happily go back and stay again and as it turns out the other Gites were occupied with people who had already been before!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and Setting
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mac27381
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idyllic French village location”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I recently stayed at the Gite Lavande with a group of friends for a week in September and I had an amazing stay. The Gite itself was very spacious, clean and well equipped and the beds were exceptionally comfortable. Everything has been catered for. The covered decking area was perfect for sunset BBQs and the area is very peaceful – with only the odd church bell tolling, which just adds to the whole experience. The pool area is well kept and clean with lots of sunbeds and is the ideal place to relax after exploring the local towns, Carcassonne and Minerve being particular highlights.

The owners, Jonathan and Suzanne, were very welcoming and the perfect hosts, holding a soiree on the second evening and serving lovely local wine and food - my glass never went empty! It also gave us an opportunity to meet the other guests in the Gites, who were all lovely, and to acquire recommendations on places to visit, although the guest pack that is provided gives lots of helpful information. Bikes are available to use if you want to explore the local area which is recommended as the scenery is beautiful.

There is a place within 2 minutes’ walk of the Gite where you can buy your daily baguette and croissants and a garage with a shop attached in less than 5 minutes’ drive, which randomly has a great butchers. The village is very rustic and full of French charm and the local people are very friendly. Helpfully there are vineyards within walking distance of the Gite where you can pop in for wine tastings and sample the local wine.

LMDV is in a lovely location and is the perfect place for relaxation or as a base to explore the wider region. I understand that people return time and again and I can see why - I would highly recommend it and would happily return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrina K
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful French Village”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Myself and three friends stayed here for a week in September. The accommodation was spacious, of a high quality and very clean and had a great outside covered seating area for long dinners outside.
The owners had welcome drinks within a few days of everyone arriving which gave us a great opportunity to meet the other guests but also some of the locals who gave us a number of tips for day trips, markets and restaurants.
The shop in the village has sadly closed down but there is a supermarket within a 5 min drive which had everything we needed. Plus there are 3 vineyards within walking distance which made life a lot easier!
We really wanted a very quiet, idyllic location and this is exactly what we got. I would have no hesitations in recommending this to families or groups of friends alike and would be more than happy to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful location
Liked least: No shop in the village or restarants
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VTJOH
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely place!”
Reviewed 18 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We really enjoyed our week at Maison des Vignes - the pool area is fantastic, a great size pool and beautiful, perfect space to relax and our 3 year old loved practicing swimming. The gite was very well equipped and comfortable. Johnathan immediately put stair gates up on our arrival making it very safe for our toddler. The village is rather deserted - would have been nice to have had a couple of things in walking distance but a very good supermarket only 5 mins drive away. The welcome evening Suzanna and Johnathan hosted was lovely - very generous hospitality and relaxed atmosphere. We loved Minerve and the restaurant recommended in the gite's welcome pack - fantastic food and pretty good value for the set menu! We also had a great lunch in Narbonne at En face and would highly recommend this place. All in all we would definitely consider returning to Maison des Vignes, perhaps with friends and family as it would be great to hire two or all of the gites with a big group.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon F
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal accommodation for exploring the Languedoc region or enjoying a relaxed time by the pool”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This was out third trip to La Maison Des Vignes in six years, which says it all really! This time we stayed in Gite Coquelicot, which provided perfect accommodation for four adults, two teenagers and a toddler. The Gite was well-presented, clean, spacious and well-equipped to cope with the range of ages. The veranda over looking the pool offered a perfect spot to enjoy meals in the pleasant evening sun as well. The location was an ideal starting-point to explore the local area, whether visiting the picturesque village of Minerve or experiencing the hustle and bustle of La Cité. Alternatively, there was plenty of space around the pool to soak up the sun and/or catch up on those unread books, while the pool itself was big enough to cope with plenty of bodies. Thus, we would highly recommend this as a place to enjoy a relaxing break by the pool or explore the local region.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing