We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great family vacation”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
nietsch1
Halle (Saale), Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great family vacation”
Reviewed 27 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The gite is extremely well equiped and the owners are spectacular hosts. Heated pool, modern interieur

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
j0annetra...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Holiday paradise”
Reviewed 25 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

I honestly don't know where to start because everything about La Maison Des Vignes is perfect.
Usually when the holiday blurb states that the owners live on site I avoid, but on this occasion Jonathan and Suzanna being around made the holiday special. They are both so welcoming and helpful, from giving you tips about places you would like to visit to being honest about local restaurants. I can't praise them enough, they have the balance between being helpful and discrete absolutely spot on.
We stayed in Gite Lavender and it was large enough for our family of five. The outdoor eating area was lovely and the swimming pool is wonderful, we had it to ourselves most of the time.
The location is lovely, right in the middle of the village, which is a friendly welcoming place, there are no restaurants but it's just a short drive to Homps and Olonzac where there's a number of eating places catering for all tastes.
It's a perfect base to explore this area of France as most places including the beaches are within an hours drive and also it's a lovely place to relax in the late afternoon and evening after a busy day exploring.
My 8 year old son has asked me everyday since leaving 'when can we return' and he's never asked me that before, even when we came back from Disney, so it must be perfect!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelnDaren...
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous French retreat with a touch of luxury.”
Reviewed 17 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The gites are exceptional, cited close to the centre of a quiet but charming typically French village. The amenities are great, with a private enclosed pool and pavilion area. We stayed in the larger gate with annex which provided a secluded outdoor area for dining, relaxing and playing boule. The communal area is beautifully maintained. We used the mountain bikes that are available to all staying and took advantage of the owner Jonathons' local knowledge for a pleasant ride in the local countryside. The location is fabulously situated for access to the coast as well as the many quaint villages and towns in the region, including the magnificent medieval town of Carcassonne. The owners Jonathan and Suzanna are lovely. Nothing was too much trouble for them and their welcome party was a fabulous night. We will definitely return and highly recommend La Maison Des Vignes to anyone looking for a fabulous holiday location in France.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HKerlin
Bedfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Paradise in the South of France”
Reviewed 10 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

So this was our second visit to LAMDV and we NEVER go anywhere twice so I think that says it all already!!
We had a fantastic time again. Jonathan and Suzanna were the perfect hosts as they were the previous year. We loved the welcome evenings ( a great touch ) and the village party was just fabulous. Lovely to see the community come together and have fun. ( Portugal Pete was the highlight )
We played tennis on the local courts on a number of days or we chilled by the well kept pool or took a walk around the village at night to see the amazing sunsets.
We visited Perpignan / The Abbaye De Fonfroide / Homps / Minerve / Olonzac Market / Carcassonne / Leucate Beach and many other places and just had the best time.
Jonathan and Susanna recommended Chantovent restaurant in Minerve for a birthday celebration. They booked it for us and it was just fabulous. One of the best meals we have had. Staff were so friendly and the food was just amazing. We would definitely recommend it and somewhere we won't forget.
We do not have any complaints. Location is fab. Owners are great and accommodation is second to none. ( It has everything you need ) It feels like home from home and we will definitely return again. Look out 2019 as we will be there.
The Kerlin Family

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustywind...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The perfect antidote to a dull British summer!”
Reviewed 1 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Our second stay at LMDV and all the more welcome as an unplanned late break.
Weather was fabulous and the countryside beautiful with the vines full and ready for harvest.
The gite was as before, simply but elegant furnished and comfortable. The highlight is the wonderful pool which is great for an wake-up dip first thing or a relaxing wallow later in the day.
We'll be back again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool, the tranquillity.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandsy40
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“High quality gîtes”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Gîte Lavande for 2 weeks in July. The gîte suited our family of 4, including a 13yo and an 11yo, very well and the children could each have their own bedroom.

The gîte is reached by an outdoor staircase to the decked terrace. Don't pack your suitcases too heavily for hauling them up the stairs!! Doors lead into the comfortable open plan living/dining/kitchen area. There are also two bedrooms and a bathroom at this level. A further bedroom and showroom are upstairs, together with a reading corner with plenty of reading material. The kitchen is well equipped although the preparation area is small and everything was in excellent working order. Having our own washing machine was a boon too! The terrace area also has dining table and a gas BBQ.

The gîte could get very hot in summer - we were advised to keep the door closed in the heat of the day and open it later when the heat went out the day to cool it down which worked well except in the upper bedroom which remained hot throughout. However, we found we couldn't keep the windows open at night as the ringing of the village church bells every hour kept us awake.

The pool area is stunning and very private with high walls and a wonderful array of plants. The whole site feels very secure with a code needed to access the entire property which means you can feel comfortable leaving belongings in an unlocked gîte while you are at the pool. However, cars are parked outside the secure area and towards the end of our holiday, our hire car appeared to have a had a key scratch forced into the paintwork whilst parked at the property for which we were charged by the rental company. I haven't deducted marks from the rating for this as it could happen anywhere.

The village is small but we appreciated the shop next door for ordering our morning croissants. And it was truly an experience to celebrate Bastille Day at the village school with the locals.

Whilst there are no restaurants in the village itself (although there are 3 vineyards!), there's a good selection within 15 minutes drive. I've reviewed all the ones we visited separately. Many of the small towns also have markets. A folder in the gîte gives details. For provisions, as well as the markets, the shop attached to the nearby petrol station comes recommended by the hosts; however, for a larger shop, we preferred the Intermarché at La Redorte. The local Minervois reds make good wine :)

Jonathan and Suzanna, our hosts, were delightful and take great pride in the gîtes they've so carefully created. The Monday night welcome drinks are not to be missed and Suzanna's lovely hors d'oeuvres are almost a meal in themselves. Jonathan went out of his way to find us a great spot to picnic and watch as the Tour de France came by, about 15-20 mins drive from the property. It passes fairly close most years for those who are interested. There are bikes available for guests to use too.

We wanted a relaxing holiday so didn't rush about sightseeing too much but enjoyed a trip to Carcassonne, and a canal cruise from Homps. On the day we left, we also enjoyed a visit to Cité de l'Espace, the European Space Agency's answer to Kennedy Space Center on our way back to Toulouse airport - a shame our visit had to be so rushed as there's a lot to do and see!

All in all, we really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic....but don't tell everyone!!”
Reviewed 8 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I've just returned from my second holiday with my family at La Maison des Vignes (LMdV). The first being in 2013. When you find somewhere that ticks all the boxes there's a tendency to want to keep it a secret so that you can easily book again!
I don't go back to the same place without good reason and there are plenty of good reasons to go to LMdV.
If you want an opportunity to relax, unwind, explore wonderful countryside whilst sampling great wine and food then LMdV is for you.
LMdV is run by a lovely English couple Jonathan and Suzanna Grix, who are perfect hosts and who strive to ensure that every home comfort is available to you in the wonderfully converted gites, which have been tastefully constructed from the old barns that were once part of a vineyard estate.
We have stayed in Gite Lavande (2013) and this year in Olivier but stay in any of the 3 gites and you won't be disappointed. They are fully detailed on the website so no need for me to elaborate further. The wireless internet is pretty good too, which obviously means you'll not need to speak to or entertain your teenage children for the duration of your holiday!
Jonathan and Suzanna hold a welcome soirée on the Monday evening where guests are encouraged to come and meet each other over a few glasses of local wine and some nibbles which is a great way of getting to know your fellow guests...not to mention it being a cheap night out drinking Jonathan's wine!! ;-) Here also you get to hear first hand about places to visit, Carcassone (about 35/40 minutes away) and its medieval walled city, the ancient village of Minerve (25 mins), the lovely Narbonne on the Canal du Midi (25mins) and the stunning Fontfroide Abbey (30 mins). Further afield there's Beziers, Montpellier (Paris of the South), the Camargue Coast and numerous Cathar Castles. The beaches are no more than 35-40 minutes away with our favourites Leucate and Le Franqui about 45-50 minutes away.
If that all seems too much then you can just get out a good book and lounge by the pool, which has plenty of room for everyone and areas of shade available throughout the day, when the sunshine gets too much. In reality you often find you have the pool to yourself with only the occasional chatter of birds to break the peace and quiet.
The village of Tourouzelle is tiny with just the one shop which is nonetheless well stocked with provisions and you can order your daily baguettes, croissants etc so that you don't need to get up at the crack of dawn to make sure you get something! In nearby Homps or Argens Minervois there are some good restaurants on the banks of the Canal de Midi and Jonathan and Suzanna will happily recommend their favourites there or further afield in Lezignan, Trebes, Narbonne or Carcassone. If you're feeling energetic then there are plenty of walks or you can make use of the many bikes for both adults and children that are available to guests to use, perhaps to ride along the banks of the canal or to the local lake, Lac de Jouarres where you can swim, canoe or fish.
If you're really lucky Jonathan will arrange a dinner cooked by the local Mairie (mayor) in his own home. He's a fantastic cook and was the most memorable experience for us and our fellow guests when we stayed in 2013.
So if you want a relaxing holiday in the South of France or even an active holiday, but enjoy the comforts of home, then LMdV is the place for you...but don't tell everyone straightaway...because you'll want to go back again...like I do.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gites and the pool...and Jonathan's cocktails!
Liked least: The 2 weeks went too quickly...
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing