We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“All good!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of No. 28

Al fresco dining in the sun.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Al fresco dining in the sun.
Your amazing view from the garden Fully-fitted kitchen, with oven, induction hob and dishwasher.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Al fresco dining in the sun.
Your amazing view from the garden
Fully-fitted kitchen, with oven, induction hob and dishwasher.
Comfortable chic sun loungers and new garden furniture.
Downstairs, accessible, en-suite bedroom with double bed, French doors to courtyard.
First floor bedroom with castle view.
Top floor bedroom with castle view.
Outdoor dining area with large adjustable parasol.
Vintage cabinet in hallway.
Example of period staircases and features throughout property.
Example of stylish decoration and furnishings found throughout property.
Free-standing bath found in second-storey bedroom and bathroom.
Traditional (non-working) Carcassonne fireplace.
Original front door.
A view of the castle walls at night, taken from first-storey bedroom window.
Surrounding countryside, overlooking castle.
Courtyard for intimate drink or breakfast.
Nearby Lac de la Cavayere.
View of lounge from kitchen.
Lounge, with comfortable seating for 6, through to view of garden.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Middleage...
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“All good!”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Excellent location. Tastefully restored and furnished and very fresh and contemporary. Bedrooms spacious with beautiful views up to the medieval city. Spacious open plan kitchen / sitting area with high ceiling is also bright and spacious. A great place to stay but put your Granny in the downstairs bedroom as the stairs are very steep!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carole M
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Everything you need in a Beautiful House in a Beautiful Setting!”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Very unassuming from the street, the house itself was a wonderful surprise. The photos simply do not do it justice, and it was much larger than expected. Gail has thought of everything, anyone could need. We actually stayed Christmas week, meaning that we probably used the facilities more than a summer renter, and managed to dish up a Christmas dinner! On arrival there was a bottle of red and a bottle of squash on the side and a bottle of white in the fridge, with a bottle of milk, plus lots of other goodies you don't realise you'll need! All bedrooms looked out onto the walls of the cite, with a set of steps going up to the cite entrance at the end of the road.

Although Carcassonne basically shuts down for Christmas day and Boxing day, which was expected, on all other days, every single square in Carcassonne had something going on to entertain our two 12 year old boys, with ice-skating, go-karting and bungee trampolining. They even found the farmyard animals fun!! They want to go back to that house and consider the bedroom - THEIRS.

As an example of the owners thoughtfulness, a previous review mentioned requiring a torch if you chose to go up to the cite using the steps at night time and Gail had taken this on board and by the front door was a torch and new batteries.

Would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ground Floor Shower, Mattresses, Overall Location
Liked least: I honestly cannot think of anything apart from the fact we had to leave and come home!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snoringun...
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Charming understated luxury in a simply outstanding location - no car needed!”
Reviewed 20 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

It isn't easy sometimes, trying to book a holiday for three friends when two are non-drivers and the third doesn't want to, and you are trying to get your head round the street map of the area you are looking at so that there isn't a ten km hike to the nearest restaurant or shop. Needless to say, we usually go for central locations, and when I saw the heading "Location Location Location", it led me straight to the details for Rue Longue. We weren't disappointed, the house is simply beautiful, not only completely Centre Stage for the UNESCO listed Medieval Cite, but a delightful home from home owned by the charming Gail.

We had a totally marvellous week with largely sun filled hot weather, and absolutely loved staying at no 28, it is an overwhelming beautiful house. It is clear that a lot of work and thought has gone into the renovation and design of the place, and, for three ladies, it was perfect! It's the little things that made our stay perfect, leaving the wine, and some milk, not having to go out and immediately and buy toilet rolls (you'd be amazed how often that happens!). The comment that comes out over and over again is going to be how marvellous the location is, the views and the rest..., and you did feel as though you could just reach out and touch the old walls, but honestly, we just loved lounging around the home - the garden isn't huge, but it was perfect for us...I'm not a sitting in the sun person, so I mooched at the table while the other two lolled on the loungers and we giggled insanely every time a hazelnut from the tree in the garden fell on our heads.

Down to practicalities, booking was a doddle, and all carried out via the Tripadvisor site, for those who might be chary of parting with money in an unknown environment. When the balance of the payment was made, Gail got in touch with us to let us have directions, and also to ask if there was anything else we needed. It really made me feel that she cares about the guests who stay in her holiday home, and as someone who also has a rental property, I find it is reassuring that the owner wants you to have a good stay.
When we arrived we used the details Gail gave us to book a taxi to the house - again, all trouble free, and when we arrived access was simplicity itself and we were free to enjoy our holiday straight away.

Elderly visitors will have to be aware that no 28 is a very old property, and the stairs, especially up to the second floor, are very steep. There is a downstairs double room however, and as all rooms are ensuite, you would only need to be able to get up one or two internal steps (to the kitchen, and outside) if you didn't feel able to manage the old wooden steps to the upstairs bedrooms. The house also has a brand new wifi connection which worked a treat, once we had contacted the housekeeper for the password - if you can't find the details for anything you need in the information book in the house, a quick text or call will receive a speedy response.

We had gorgeous weather, so practically lived outside in the garden and the lovely courtyard. One the one occasion there was a rainy evening, we shut the doors and watched DVD's on the very comfortable corner sofa chaise. For three or four it is ideal to stretch out and relax, but if six adults were staying, everyone fitting on the sofa might be a bit of a squash. :)

There are restaurants ad nauseam in the area, nearly all offering very reasonable set menus (which was a worry since I'd had an extremely expensive trip to the Loire valley last year, but no problem with price in Carcassonne). If you want to eat in, there is a small tabac selling bread within a couple of minutes walk, and a small supermarket on Rue Trivalles about seven minutes away. The only issue is carrying the bags back when you get carried away buying local goodies! If you intend going up to the old town to eat at night, take a torch with you..the stairs are VERY steep, and there is no street lighting on the actual stairway.

We brought home some lovely memories from Carcassonne, especially of our stay at Rue Longue. If you are considering a holiday in the area, I can definitely recommend this lovely house and its very friendly owner Gail.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gorgeous views and great location
Liked least: The tortuous climb up the steps to the city in the dark!! (no street lighting)
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irisheil
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Book this one and you will have no regrets.”
Reviewed 13 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

When you start to write a review you think what could have been better? - the answer in this case is nothing.
This is perfect holiday accommodation.
You step out the door, you climb some steep steps and you are in the old city which after all is what most people come to see in Carcassone. You turn the key, step inside the door and you retreat into a beautifully restored old house. Spacious, bright and really well equipped this property feels more like a home than a holiday let. The back garden is overlooked by the old city walls. At night the walls are lit up and the peace in the garden evokes thoughts of raging battles, of Cathars and Crusaders in days of yore .
The owner Gail was very helpful when I was making the booking and it was apparent when I was staying in the house that she cared about the guests. Every detail was attended to, no shoddy decor, no broken equipment , no showers that only half a worked! This is a top class residence which I would highly recommend.
.A taxi from the airport rather than the bus is a good idea as you arrive at the door and if there are a few people the cost will be much the same as the bus. Taxi cost us €15.00. You cannot go wrong by booking this wonderful home from home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that it surpassed expectations.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Reviewed 5 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the location
Liked least: Bed rather firm for me,
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Biggar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Rain!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Helmdon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing