We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Winter break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of No. 28

Al fresco dining in the sun.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Al fresco dining in the sun.
Your amazing view from the garden Fully-fitted kitchen, with oven, induction hob and dishwasher.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Al fresco dining in the sun.
Your amazing view from the garden
Fully-fitted kitchen, with oven, induction hob and dishwasher.
Comfortable chic sun loungers and new garden furniture.
Downstairs, accessible, en-suite bedroom with double bed, French doors to courtyard.
First floor bedroom with castle view.
Top floor bedroom with castle view.
Outdoor dining area with large adjustable parasol.
Vintage cabinet in hallway.
Example of period staircases and features throughout property.
Example of stylish decoration and furnishings found throughout property.
Free-standing bath found in second-storey bedroom and bathroom.
Traditional (non-working) Carcassonne fireplace.
Original front door.
A view of the castle walls at night, taken from first-storey bedroom window.
Surrounding countryside, overlooking castle.
Courtyard for intimate drink or breakfast.
Nearby Lac de la Cavayere.
View of lounge from kitchen.
Lounge, with comfortable seating for 6, through to view of garden.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
JohnF6712
2 reviews
“Perfect Winter break”
Reviewed 7 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Four of us decided to have a long weekend break in Carcassone and booked Gail's lovely house.We were surprised how big the house was, a real tardis.It was a real home from home.There was milk,tea,coffee etc .left for us together with a very welcome bottle of wine.Views of the castle walls amazing especially at night . We even managed to sit in the garden one lunchtime. Communication with Gail was very
easy and she was very accomodating especially when are flight home was cancelled.
Despite the cold weather the house was lovely and warm and cosy. Thankyoy
Gail for sharing your lovely house with us.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2018
Hi John and party,
I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay. It was such a shame the bad weather in the U.K. affected your return journey, but I know you made it home safely in the end !
With very best wishes, Gail
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashley97
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 9 December 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The location can't be beat; you are truly at the foot of the city walls and a 5 minute (steep) walk to them. There are 3 bedrooms, one on each floor. The kitchen is well equipped and the WIFI worked well. The furniture was exactly as shown on Trip Advisor. A hairdryer was provided. Water pressure was good and showers were hot.

Parking is a problem. You have to find street parking and this can take some time; if you do drive down the alley where the flat is located, you may get stuck there while someone else is unloading.

This property is a row house, and there are neighbors on both sides. One neighbor likes soccer games, techno dance music and to smoke 24/7. The other one, we didn't see or hear at all.

Carcassone can get very congested but the location of this property allowed for early morning walks around the walls, seeing the town before the buses arrived and also an easy walk to the other side of the river for the weekly market.

Communication with the owner was smooth.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Dec 2017
Hi,
Thank you for your review for your stay back in October.
I feel I would like to address a couple of things which you mention. The person who made the initial enquiry and then the booking did ask at the beginning about parking. I explained that, as the house is in a narrow one-way street, you would not be able to park there but that it would be fine to drop off and pick up passengers and luggage at the door and that there is free on-street parking in the many side streets of this very old part of town. You will have noticed while you were there that there is also a( paying) public car park only a couple of minutes walk away should you need it. The properties in this area are nearly all over 300 years old, so finding one with garage space is very rare.
The house is, as you say, part of a terrace(row) as are almost all houses in Carcassonne. One adjoining property is empty and the other is not lived in full-time - the owner's home is elsewhere in France and he only visits from time to time. He's not young and is unfortunately very deaf. But, due to the very unusual way in which our properties are joined, the only wall that we really share is in the hallway at the front of the house, and my main living area and bedrooms are at the back. I am sorry if the noise from his TV disturbed you during your short stay, but I am sure you will appreciate that it is something beyond my control.
I am really glad that you loved the location of the house and the fantastic castle views from the garden - I hope you got chance to spend some time outside and take advantage of them while you were there.
Regards,
Gail
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samantham...
Preesall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 28 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Wow...perfect location, amazing view, beautiful decor, great amenities.
Couldn't have asked for better. A real home from home.
3 comfy bedrooms all ensuite, very cosy warm lounge and the kitchen has all you could want and need.
It is a stones throw from the medieval cite and a short stroll to the city for shopping and restaurants.
We walked into the medieval cite each night for a meal the highlight being L'Escargot stunning tapas.
Cant say enough good things about the house and cannot wait to go again.
Thanks so much

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Dec 2017
Hi Sam and Wade,
It was a pleasure having you and your friends as guests at No. 28 and I look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Regards,
Gail
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WMDHale
Hale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous home in wonderful location”
Reviewed 19 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The unassuming frontage of 28 Rue Longue contrasts sharply with the absolutely beautifully appointed interior. The decor throughout is tasteful and elegant, the rooms large and comfortable. With a beautiful back garden that overlooks the walls and turrets of the Cité- it is in a fabulous location. One word of warning though - Carcassonne is very hilly and getting into the Cité is either up steep steps or a walkway. So make sure you are fit. But oh my goodness the climb is worth it. Winding medieval streets with history on every corner. Restaurants with hidden gardens that pour higgledy, piggledy onto decks and alleyways. I will definitely return. The house is fully equipped with everything you could possibly need for a marvellous holiday - the rest is up to you :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bak015
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical”
Reviewed 27 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Beautiful apartment in a magical spot. Had everything we needed and Gail was flexible and answered quickly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antony N
1 review
“Great place to stay.”
Reviewed 15 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The location of the property is well placed for the cite of carcassonne which is basically at the bottom of the garden and not to far to walk to the town of carcassonne.The property gave us all that we needed and a great place to stay and a thank you to gail.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing