We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Atmosphere”
Review of Au Four St. Louis

Au Four St. Louis
Ranked #12 of 333 Restaurants in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good Atmosphere”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We arrived here quite late on our first evening in Carcassonne. The Service was a little slow but friendly. The food was excellent and not expensive. The atmosphere was very good. Not being able to speak French, well just a smattering of school French, was not a problem.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Umdash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    208
    46
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“This was a very good find!”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The medieval cite is a tourist magnet, not surprisingly, it is a great place to visit! So we did find some of the restaurants a little touristy!
We were so lucky to find this lovely restaurant which serves excellent quality French food.
My husband ordered the mussels to start, followed by the prawns for main. I had the snails followed by the lamb, all were delicious.
The menu isn't enormous which is great because you know the food is being cooked fresh to order.
Would highly recommend but book ahead if you can while your there , you don't want to leave Carcassonne disappointed!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed in Carcassonne for a week and having found this Restaurant we were very reluctant to go elsewhere. When we did we regreted it. The food is fantastic and very well presented with great little creative touches.All of the Staff are very welcoming and go to some lenghts to make sure their customers have a good evening. Our feeling was that this Restaurant is batting way above it's weight in terms of it's relatively modest presentation and prices. The Salads - particularly the Mussel Salad - are fabulous and be warned very generous. The Prawns are enormous monsters and succulent and lovely as is the Salmon. The Duck, which seemed to consist of a whole de-boned Duck, was fanned out and glistened beautifully on the plate. The taste did not disappoint. They also do a very nice Squid dish and their Potato Towers with garnishes are a delight. Because their portions are so large (and I do mean large ) we were only able to face Dessert on one evening when we had a gorgeous Chocolate Cake, again which we had to share because it was such a generous portion. On our last evening when expressing my gratitude to the owner for such lovely meals we did say that we found the portion sizes a bit intimidating ( the problem is that the food is so nice it is difficult to leave )
but she insisted that it is part of her mission that people should not only eat well but hearthily also. In both she succeeds admirably.Do yourself a favour when you are in Carcassonne and go and eat here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
380 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Lovely side street restaurant”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We wandered around Carcassonne on our last night and decided to try Au Four St. Louis (we had a little list put together of restaurants that had made the top 20 on Tripadvisor so we wouldn't end up with a bad meal!)

We were very pleased with our decision. We sat outside on a lovely little side street and had a great evening. I went for the set €25 menu while my girlfriend picked off the a la carte menu.

The muscle salad was huge. She got that for her main course. The muscles were lovely and warm and was so big it didn't even get finished. To go with the salad she had asked for chips which they don't have. After a bit of persuasion the waitress allowed her order the fondant potatoes as a side. They were delicious.

This restaurant was always busy when we'd pass during the day and the food always looked lovely and smelled lovely.

We were not disappointed and this was a great choice and last night to our holiday.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank simongb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The real home-made cassoulet !”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Friendly service, real customer care. Food sounds truely home-made ...Tiny terrace in front of the restaurant in Saint-Louis streer, few steps away from the Basilique Saint-Nazaire.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank marcowarsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Au Four St. Louis also viewed

Carcassonne, Aude
Carcassonne, Aude
 

Been to Au Four St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing