We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best cassoulet traditionnel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Au Four St. Louis

Au Four St. Louis
Ranked #14 of 329 Restaurants in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best cassoulet traditionnel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We recently enjoyed a delicious meal at this restaurant, cassoulet traditionnel, a specialty of this area of France. The starter, a vegetarian salad, was also great as was the dessert, creme brûlée. It was busy but the service was attentive and the atmosphere, lively. We liked it so much we ate here a 2nd night!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MaryEllenA532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    199
    42
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So long between courses we could not remember what we'd ordered!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Au Four St Louis was the top recommendation of Hotel Le Donjon. Sadly on a moderately busy Friday night it did not live up to expectations. We were a table of 6 adults who had made a reservation. The location and ambience were very good and the reception and waiter service were very good but they were clearly under staffed in the kitchen and the waiter was helping the chef out. They were unable to turn out orders for 6. The food was very slow to arrive and it was an hour before the first course and a further hour before the main course.
The starters and dessert were good but the main courses were over cooked and distinctly tired. Cassoulet was very stodgy, greasy and over coked and the Magret du canard tough beyond belief (3 persons). We all ordered traditional dishes but were disappointed. Perhaps we got them on an off night.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roaming55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good traditional dishes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We were recommended this restaurant by our hotel while our ne night stay in Carcassone. It was one of the only restaurants open on a Monday evening in the medieval city. Our dinner was good, we chose the traditional Cassoulet dish and were not upset. It was tasty, huge portion neither of us could end his dish, despise its real good taste. The foie gras for starter was nice too but nothng real special. I would recommend no starter if someone intendsbto taste the Cassoulet, it's a shame to waste such good food!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FranceMauritius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Strolled around looking for a unique, off the tourist trap restaurant and stumbled upon Au Fort St
Louis. Not disappointed! amazing food,cosy atmosphere, good wine, attentive server.
Highly recommend to anyone looking for great food and reasonable prices. A hidden gem!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanieb1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Tasty, good prices, convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We were staying at the Hotel de la Cite and they recommended this restaurant upon our arrival, and even made a reservation for us.

The prices were extremely reasonable, and I thought the portions were generous. It was a very charming little restaurant with friendly service. The service was a little slow (by American standards) which drove my boyfriend kind of crazy, but it didn't bother me - I love the relaxed attitude in Europe! I also appreciated the variety of the menu, since I'm a vegetarian (not always easy to deal with in France, especially a small town like Carcassonne). Oh! And we had the creme brulee, which was absolutely fantastic.

My only complaint was that there kids running through the restaurant constantly. They must have been children of the staff (or owner) because they were going through the desk drawers, running in the back, and even into the kitchen a few times. They kept slamming the front door of the restaurant, weren't exactly quiet, and it became a little bit of a distraction. We were here late at night, looking for a quiet and relaxing meal. We got great food, but not as much quiet as we were hoping for.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Au Four St. Louis also viewed

Carcassonne, Aude
Carcassonne, Aude
 

Been to Au Four St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing