We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT A DUMP”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“WHAT A DUMP”
Reviewed 14 July 2009

What a huge disapointment to find what a dump Carcassonne is. I have been to various destination in France and love the Country deeply. Cacassonne has so much to offer, underneath the dirt and the grime. Le Cite is such a spectacular and magical place to visit but all we could see was the total unkept condition of the whole place. We stayed at the Bristol 3* ! No better than a cheap seaside B&B in the late 60's, a tired (not dirty) poor quality establishment, the staff were lovely though.
Back to Carcassone, the canal side was tatty and realy unkept, the grass ( or the meadow ) at the side of the canal, had just been mown, or the crop that was previously there, had just been harvested. Stalkes of the crop were left strewn across the area, this was the same at the casle and along the river aud. The pavements an roads are just a crumbling mess, EVERY WHERE ! The main avenue , or walkway from the hotel tothemain square was the exception, it was paved in buitifull stone, yes you've guessed it, It was filthy dirty and I cannot see that it had been cleaned EVER. The buildings were of great quality and lovely archtecture, but unkept, unpainted uncared for
unloved and the old bridge what a mess they have made of it ! Do not cross this bridge of a night, very strange shadowy figures lurk there. Food ? poor and very expensive along with the drinks £3-50 fo a 25cl orangina anywhere or any soft drink. £12 for pizza that looked like a 12 yo 1st attempt at makeing one.
Shame on the town officials for not looking after your town and your tressures, and shame on the residents for not haveing any pride in your town.

Helpful?
4 Thank JayD38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    50
    68
    37
    60
See reviews for
23
110
27
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2009

booked in for two nights, we couldnt believe how bad the room and general appearance of the hotel was.The beds were dirty ,the sheets unchanged from last guests. The hotel was tatty and the promised parking was like an advanced driving course just to get into the garage, when in couldnt get out. Carcassone was a lovely town with plenty of nice looking hotels, just dont go to this one

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paddyanddee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carcassonne hotels

austin, tx
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2008

I am a bit confused by the negative reviews, here. We stayed 2 nights and had a nice CLEAN room. (the beds could have been better) The staff was very helpful, the room was nice, with a view of the Midi canal. The food was good. I would stay here again, anytime. I am a travel agent and was in Carcassonne with my girlfriend. I have stayed in many different levels of hotels around the world and I wasn't turned off by the Bristol, at all. One man's trash is another man's treasure, I guess, but this place worked fine for us.

  • Liked — Clean and reasonable
  • Disliked — beds could have been firmer
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stevethetruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2008

Everything everyone had written before was true. Why hadn't I consulted Trip Advisor before? Will definitely do so before booking anything again. The hotel was dreadful or at least the rooms were, and very expensive into the bargain. Quite the most horrible and depressing hotel we have ever stayed in. Can't believe I am saying this, but actually the meal in the restaurant was good. Quite put us off ever going to Carcasonne again. Horrible place, horrible hotel.

  • Liked — Absolutely nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wishyouwerehere17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limerick
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2008

should have known when we were asked to pay up front (without seening the rooms ) would have ran out . a kip , was expecting to see them to rent by the hour .

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the rooms
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank brianlimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2007

It was so disgusting and stank so much in the most hideous dirty bathroom ever, that the kids REFUSED to go in there in the morning even to brush their teeth! They said it smelt like a wet pet had been into a public toilet!
Just DON'T go there! Our family toured from New Zealand in Europe for 3 months – and this WAS BY FAR THE WORST HOTEL– ever. We had a disgusting mouldy room with a view of the canal which was the only slighty ok thing about the place. JUst one last comment– ewwww, ewwww, EWWWWW!!!!

  • Liked — nothing at all
  • Disliked — everything– esp the bathroom
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank princesspea01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2007

This hotel was recommended to us by a 'friend', so ignored negative reviews. What a mistake. We booked via the internet. The only room available was a three bedded one. We asked for a canal view, we got a brick wall. Just imagine, if you found a spare room. you had a few odd bits of furnishing and an apprentice decorator and electrician to hand. Just let them free in this room, and this was the room we walked into. Everything about it was tired. I opened a drawer which had crumbs in it. Why did we stay? Well we booked for only two days, and the hotel's one saving grace was it's proximity to the station. The receptionists were moody, especially when I mentioned the crumbs, but I feel this was due to them realising the bad product they are having to sell, and then having to deal with the complaints. I feel they are using the internet to off load their bad rooms as the board in reception held many keys during our stay. I feel sorry for the Bristol, I'm sure it was formerly glorious, so sad to see it's decay.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank CornwallTravelwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Bastide
Hotel de la Bastide
#21 of 39 in Carcassonne
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#20 of 39 in Carcassonne
326 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#29 of 39 in Carcassonne
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Au Royal Hotel
Au Royal Hotel
#35 of 39 in Carcassonne
126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
632 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Soleil Terminus
Hotel Soleil Terminus
#24 of 39 in Carcassonne
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Property: Hotel Bristol
Address: 7 avenue du Marechal Foch, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bristol 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carcassonne Bristol Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing