We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean cheap accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Adonis Carcassonne - Residence la Barbacane
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Friendly check in staff who were multi lingual. Clean spacious accommodation which for the price given proximity to la citie and the prices charged in other parts of France is very good. Free wifi a bonus. A kettle would have been nice but everything was working clean functionable and acceptable.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Scrooge736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (967)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

154 - 160 of 967 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

Negative:
- When we arrived, the hostel had 'siesta', meaning doors were closed between 12 and 3pm. We had to wait among other travellers until the reception was opened.

- The first thing we discovered in our room was considerable mould growth on the ceiling (1 square metre at least). How long should a hotel wait to repair such a disgusting damage? This mould had time enough to grow. There were other things to be renovated, too. How can a 3*** hotel offer such ill-kept rooms?

- jacuzzi (adjacent to the gym) was lukewarm
- loud humming noise of unknown origin all night long in our room

Positive:
- its close vicinity to the castle
- working free wifi
- spacious rooms
- jacuzzi (adjacent to the gym)
- polite reception staff

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HerrWanderstab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Of course, you do not reside here in a very charming hotel. Just if you are looking for an amazingly good budget accommodation you should not longer look for another place. Cheap, clean and a great location as it is next to the castle respectively ramparts. Staff was very friendly. You can find parking easily in the streets around the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chmannva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We booked this as a place to stay near La Cite, and this is close.....Apart from the long walk up very very steep steeps, but that was fine, helps build up the appetite. The hotel was very cheap (£40!) so I cannot complain about the price. Parked right outside, and there is also a nice garden. Only grumbles, only 1 pillow each asked for more and was told they only had 1 spare...Bed was hard. But for the price I would stay again..

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spencermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Location is great... Short steep walk from the castle..

Checking in was fine... Walked into the room and was shocked to see that the ceiling was brown... Looked like they had a water leak and the room smelled of damp... We went back to reception and after showing them a picture of the damp they changed our room which was fine..

I don't understand why they would put people in this room... It needs a good paint and cleaning ect..

Apart from that it was fine... Slept really well after walking around all day and was very peaceful and relaxing

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GGPP2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Perfect location just a short walk to the castle. On the other side of the property is a tributary of the Aude river and a park so it is quiet. It's in the residential area of the old city and very nice. An easy 20 minute walk to the "new" city, so a consideration if you want night life (which is not what I care about) and for Canal du Midi boat rides or the train station. The studios are nice for 2 and adequately stocked. There is a nice patio (common area) for sitting out and enjoying the local wine while watching the swallows. The reception is closed from noon to 15:00 so you can't check in early. Once checked in you get a code to enter the building via an alternative door for after-hours and when the reception desk is closed. They don't turn the AC on until it's consistently warm in the area. It was quite warm when we arrived but since there weren't many bugs we just kept our windows open at night. Make sure to get a room facing the inside of the compound.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inside of the compound are quieter. If you like to leave your windows open ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luz2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Not a bad place, useful as we have small kids and it's hard to find places with reasonably priced rooms for more than just the standard 2 adults...
The good parts are the spacious rooms and pleasant receptionists, although there are things they could do better... an example is that they had "no idea" what times the little tourist train up to the Cite goes past their front door - surely something basic that it would be useful to know, as a hotel catering to tourists?! Though I must concede that they were willing to try and find out for me, it wasn't as if they just shrugged and left it at that.
The rooms really are basic, but our one was clean. Slippery stone floor that our toddler fell on a few times, but that is a standard thing in Europe, not specific to this hotel! Air conditioning worked fine. I agree with other reviewers that the kitchen is basic. Also agree that the lack of shops nearby is disappointing - which is another thing the hotel could help with, if they had a better stocked snack vending machine perhaps.
You can see the beautiful Cite from the hotel but it is a steep and rocky walk up there. As I said the tourist train can apparently take you to save you the walk but we didn't try this out.
The river behind the hotel has a towpath with a "trim trail" and was good for the kids to explore.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonJandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdonisPascal, Responsable relations clients at Adonis Carcassonne - Residence la Barbacane, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013
Google Translation

Ravi que votre séjour ce soit déroulé a votre convenance.
Que votre famille ai profité de la proximité de la citadelle, même si l’accès reste escarpé.
Mais pourquoi donc les remparts sont toujours inaccessibles ?
Les services et équipements restent basiques mais en phase avec le tarif appliqué.
Nous vous remercions de vos bons commentaires.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
808 reviews
2.1 mi away
Inter-Hotel Carcassonne-Pont Rouge
0.7 mi away
Cerise Carcassonne Sud
Cerise Carcassonne Sud
#14 of 39 in Carcassonne
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
507 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
327 reviews
1.4 mi away
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adonis Carcassonne - Residence la Barbacane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adonis Carcassonne - Residence la Barbacane

Address: 15 rue Barbacane, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Carcassonne
Price Range: £34 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adonis Carcassonne - Residence la Barbacane 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence ADONIS Carcassonne La Barbacane is pleased to welcome you in a green setting next to Carcassonne city classified as World Heritage Site by Unesco. You will discover a beautiful region with an extraordinary cultural richness. ADONIS Carcassonne La Barbacane welcomes you in one of its 70 air conditioned apartments, fully furnished and tastefully equipped to make your stay a real success. We put at your disposal: a pleasant dining room for your family breakfast, for your well-being you will have access to the area of fitness and jacuzzi, and for business meetings,an equipped meeting room is available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Adonis Carcassonne - Residence la Barbacane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adonis La Barbacane Hotel Carcassonne
La Barbacane Citea Carcassonne
La Barbacane Citea Hotel Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing