We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for la cite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Adonis Carcassonne - Residence la Barbacane
Cockfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great for la cite”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My wife and I stayed for one night on 30/7/13. We checked in, walked up to the old town of carcassonne, slept here and left so we did not really test the place out. It was such a convenient location for the old cite and we got free parking on the street easy enough. 8.50 euro for their secure parking. 9e I think for buffet breakfast. We used neither. Staff were friendly, place was clean. Fridge and hobs etc for cooking yourself.
Happy

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    329
    249
    110
    73
See reviews for
344
363
31
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This hotel is ideally located beneath the Cite walls and lose to the Aude Gate. There are restaurants and a few small shops within a short walk. The staff at reception were helpful. We stayed five nights.

Parking on the streets is possible but you may have a long walk with your luggage! There is secure underground parking at the hotel for an extra charge. We used it without problem.

The room was clean but the whole approach is undoubtedly minimalist! The furniture was sparse and basic and four people using this room or more than an overnight stay would find it difficult - particularly as the toilet is off the living area, which contains the second "bed" - a two seater pull-down couch with no arms. Other than the four dining chairs around a small table, this is the only seating provided. The television is small and a telescope is required for viewing.

The main bedroom - and the bathroom - were up an awkward narrow staircase, which we found quite tricky to negotiate in the dark when accessing the toilet. A tall person would find the bedroom and bathroom awkward as there is a sloping roof, and low doorways, upstairs. The bath has a shower attachment, but you have to hold it by hand to use it.

The kitchen is poorly equipped. We had to buy cups, and use the microwave to boil water. There was no way of washing up, other than by hand as no cloths were provided. Do not expect to perform other than basic tasks in the kitchen. Room cleaning only takes place at the end of your stay - not each day.

The room had a damp odour at first, which we found came from the bathroom and toilet, but as long as we opened the windows and aired the room there was no real problem. We found no mould, which had troubled other reviewers, and the decor was fresh.

Our only other issue was the music and noise from the Parc Hotel. Although it is some distance along the road, it was VERY loud and went on until 2am. Earplugs helped! This seemed only to affect some rooms in Block E.

We would return but only for a short stay.

Room Tip: Avoid those in E block facing away from the Pont Vieux
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianochaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My husband and I were planning on one night in Carcassonne and searched for the most convenient and cost effective hotel in close proximity to La Cite - we found it at Adonis La Barbacane. Not sure what these accomodations are usually, we guessed they are student residences. The front entrance where the reception is located is only open from 8am to 12pm, then 3pm to 10pm. If you arrive there between 12 & 3, it will be locked and you will have to wait on the sidewalk with your luggage until they re-open. This didn't happen to us as we arrived mid-morning, but just a tip to all those arriving later on - plan accordingly :). We couldn't check in until 3pm, but the girl at reception was very friendly and accomodating by locking up our luggage for us until check-in time. Once we were able to check in, our room was in one of the adjoining buildings. It was a two-floor room - toilet, small kitchenette and living room on main floor & sink/shower and bedroom on the second floor. It was clean and comfortable, which is all we are really concerned with, so it met our needs for the one night.
The hotel is a solid 25 minute walk from the train station (at a brisk pace) -- we had to leave very early the next morning, so had the receptionist book a cab for us the afternoon before. The cab didn't show up in the morning, so we did the marathon walk to the train station to catch our train on time. The area is dead in the morning, so catching a random cab won't happen - again, plan yourself accordingly, especially because reception doesn't open until 8am.
The hotel is around the corner from the foot access to La Cite - so it is in a very convenient location for that.
All in all, for a one night stay it was fine - longer than that, we would have probably booked in a real hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itravel82376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2013

There was nowhere to park when we arrived in the early evening in our hire car, then the woman at reception was in a hurry - and there were no other customers - and was not pleasant or helpful. Bad start! The room we had had very old and 'tired' decor and fittings needed renovating and modernising. We would not recommend this to friends, although the location was excellent in relation to the castle. Very limited restaurants within walking distance for dinner.

Room Tip: Were there any? We were on the lower level from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LandR20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We had prebooked and paid for 2 nights. The location/parking was ideal. However, the apartment was poorly maintained, with black mould round the bath, dirty grout, stained ceiling tiles, damp cheap abrasive carpet in the bedroom, the blinds did not work properly, the air con was broken. After the first night I asked for a refund for the second night, as we would not stay there another night. The request was refused, we left anyway. Poor customer service. On a plus side the breakfast wasrather good. Summary - stay away until they have spent some money on bringing it up to a satifactory level. A shame, because the location is ideal.

Room Tip: read other reviews /photos, our experience was not unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grant n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carcassonne hotels

Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

Friendly check in staff who were multi lingual. Clean spacious accommodation which for the price given proximity to la citie and the prices charged in other parts of France is very good. Free wifi a bonus. A kettle would have been nice but everything was working clean functionable and acceptable.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scrooge736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

Negative:
- When we arrived, the hostel had 'siesta', meaning doors were closed between 12 and 3pm. We had to wait among other travellers until the reception was opened.

- The first thing we discovered in our room was considerable mould growth on the ceiling (1 square metre at least). How long should a hotel wait to repair such a disgusting damage? This mould had time enough to grow. There were other things to be renovated, too. How can a 3*** hotel offer such ill-kept rooms?

- jacuzzi (adjacent to the gym) was lukewarm
- loud humming noise of unknown origin all night long in our room

Positive:
- its close vicinity to the castle
- working free wifi
- spacious rooms
- jacuzzi (adjacent to the gym)
- polite reception staff

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HerrWanderstab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
0.7 mi away
Cerise Carcassonne Sud
Cerise Carcassonne Sud
#14 of 39 in Carcassonne
763 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#9 of 39 in Carcassonne
777 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adonis Carcassonne - Residence la Barbacane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adonis Carcassonne - Residence la Barbacane

Property: Adonis Carcassonne - Residence la Barbacane
Address: 15 rue Barbacane, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Adonis Carcassonne - Residence la Barbacane 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence ADONIS Carcassonne La Barbacane is pleased to welcome you in a green setting next to Carcassonne city classified as World Heritage Site by Unesco. You will discover a beautiful region with an extraordinary cultural richness. ADONIS Carcassonne La Barbacane welcomes you in one of its 70 air conditioned apartments, fully furnished and tastefully equipped to make your stay a real success. We put at your disposal: a pleasant dining room for your family breakfast, for your well-being you will have access to the area of fitness and jacuzzi, and for business meetings,an equipped meeting room is available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Adonis Carcassonne - Residence la Barbacane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adonis La Barbacane Hotel Carcassonne
La Barbacane Citea Carcassonne
La Barbacane Citea Hotel Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing