We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very happy apart from one extremely rude member of staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adonis Carcassonne - Residence la Barbacane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Adonis Carcassonne - Residence la Barbacane
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very happy apart from one extremely rude member of staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Unfortunately I didn't get much time to make the most of my stay here as I arrived late and left early but the apartment was enormous and really comfortable, and right next to the old medieval city and river where you can have picnics. The little terraces overlooking the river looked really inviting and the reception was bright and colourful. There was a very friendly girl on reception in the morning who made up for the incredibly rude girl from the night before, and great location. Perfect for people wanting to visit Carcassonne
One complaint: I rang the hotel "emergency number" to say I'd be arriving late (and by late I mean ten PM) and the girl who answered was pretty damn rude, when I asked her if she could text me the access code she said, Well I will if you get off the phone. I understand latecomers are a pain but I was very polite so it was just plain bad grace. If tourists irritate you, don't work in the tourist industry!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katemakesfilms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    288
    229
    98
    66
See reviews for
294
317
26
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

I think the hotel writes its own reviews.This hotel didn't just smell mouldy it had it growing in between tiles, walls, bathrooms even in the main bedroom!! cheap furniture total disappointment plus hard to find dont waste your money!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank masebella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carcassonne hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Very good for the price. Located just outside the ancient city walls. The room was well equipped, we rented the room for 4 people, there was also a small kitchen complete with stove, pans, plates, etc. Overall, great stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Very nice studio apartment, with lovely view of medieval city walk from our bedroom window. Nice to be able to cook on the small hob and use the fridge in the room. One criticism is that the cutlery hadn't been cleaned very well by the previous guests. You have to buy your own dish soap and sponges too. Nice and clean, comfy bed, good heating system as it was freezing in Carcassonne and the en suite bathroom was nice. Well recommended.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SJBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

A nice minimum service hotel/motel model with good facilities, part time reception, sun lounge area. Quite good breakfasts. Helpful staff. A taxi Sunday morning from hotel to airport was 12 euro....really cheap. Would recommend as reasonable place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joeF66X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Clean, spacious apartment. The room was well equipped, with spare towels in the bathroom. Beds were comfy and clean. No complaints at all. I don't understand any of the complaints I had read before I went. The staff were lovely, very helpful and friendly.
Under the walls of the cite, great location for everything. Just across is a cobbled easy access straight up to the castle. If you go self - catering there is no local supermarket, my advice would be to go across the river and shop there, no-one gave us this advice and we arrived Saturday and went straight to the castle, then found that all the shops were shut on the Sunday so it cost us a fortune buying bits in the small cite shops. We had no problems taking the airport bus here or getting a taxi back - €15

Room Tip: We stayed in A block, very quiet and easily accessed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdonisPascal, Responsable relations clients at Adonis Carcassonne - Residence la Barbacane, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Google Translation
Encore merci pour ces commentaires encourageants.
Cela donne du baume au cœur à toute l'équipe d'Adonis Carcassonne.
En juillet et aout, c'est la pleine saison estivale et il est possible que nous ayons failli en terme de qualité et de performance.
Mais maintenant, notre disponibilité et le bien être de nos clients est plus facile pour nous.
A bientôt chez nous à nouveau...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

This hotel has a great location, some nice outdoor sitting space, and is pretty convenient for parking. My cousin and I had spent a few days in Carcassonne prior to exploring the Pyrenees and basically just wanted a bed for the night on our return. As such, this was great value - a cheap option for a good night's sleep in clean surrounds.
I'm a discerning and picky traveller, and my days of family trips are over. As such, it was fine for a night or probably 2, but if I was after somewhere quaint or nice, then this wouldn't be the place to stay for any longer than that. If I was a family who cared more about getting out and about and just wanted somewhere to cook and sleep, then it's a good value option.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsychristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#7 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Octroi
Hotel Octroi
#15 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adonis Carcassonne - Residence la Barbacane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adonis Carcassonne - Residence la Barbacane

Property: Adonis Carcassonne - Residence la Barbacane
Address: 15 rue Barbacane, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Adonis Carcassonne - Residence la Barbacane 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence ADONIS Carcassonne La Barbacane is pleased to welcome you in a green setting next to Carcassonne city classified as World Heritage Site by Unesco. You will discover a beautiful region with an extraordinary cultural richness. ADONIS Carcassonne La Barbacane welcomes you in one of its 70 air conditioned apartments, fully furnished and tastefully equipped to make your stay a real success. We put at your disposal: a pleasant dining room for your family breakfast, for your well-being you will have access to the area of fitness and jacuzzi, and for business meetings,an equipped meeting room is available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo, ACCOR, SpeedyBooker.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Adonis Carcassonne - Residence la Barbacane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adonis La Barbacane Hotel Carcassonne
La Barbacane Citea Carcassonne
La Barbacane Citea Hotel Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing