We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a fairy tale”
Review of Hotel du Chateau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Chateau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Our family of 3 spent one night at this lovely hotel in June. We had visited Crcassonne before during the winter season and were excited to explore it during sprig/summer season with warmer weather and maybe a bit more life. Well, there was plenty of life but the weather was cold and rainy. That being said at least we had the Hotel du Chateau to return to after a cold, wet day of exploring. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Our room was small but it was clean and comfortable. There was a cute patio that you could enjoy if the weather allows. My favorite part of this hotel is the bar/lounge. The area has floor to ceiling doors that open up with a view of the fortified city. We had a cocktail before bed and just stared at the lit up city that could have been directly from a fairy tale. Our bartender was also a gem! He was so attentive and I heard him speak at least 4 languages while we were there. The guy never stopped moving and he made me my favorite drink of our month long trip!!! Breakfast is also good and served in the lounge or outside if weather permits with another fabulous view of the city. I would return here just for the lounge and that fabulous cocktail!!!! You can't beat the location of this hotel. You can liteally throw a tennis ball and hit the fortified city!!!

Room Tip: Rooms are fine but you are paying for location!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmandaFoxy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (801)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 801 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2011

Fabulous location just outside city walls
We loved the gardens: the pool area great but we particularly loved all the lounging areas in the gardens: perfect for relaxation, reading and sundowners
Liked the bar area and the lounge music played on terrace
Beautifully designed throughout: very tasteful decor
Lovely details in the rooms (small, but well-appointed)
Quality bed-linen and towels
Liked the use of quality materials: marble, travertine etc etc
Helpful staff
Can't understand why people would ever want to stay in a hotel 'chain' or big impersonal hotel when there are such bijou little boutique places like this!
Internet access in lobby

,

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladyjaneWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Booked this hotel for two nights in June, to visit Carcassonne. Hotel is an a fantastic location just outside the Cite, with lovely views over it. Rooms were nice and clean. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast really nice in the morning. They also have a beautiful Bassett Hound who we doted over as we had to leave ours at home with my parents!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girlpace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a five-night stay at Hotel du Chateau, Carcassonne. It is situated very close to the entrance to the wonderful medieval "city" of Carcassonne. We were treated with courtesy by the staff in the hotel, many of whom were able to speak quite good English,even though I did my best to converse with them in poor French! We were shown to our room which was classified as a "classic double" room on arrival. We were immediately disappointed because the room was small and poorly laid out. It was adequately decorated and the queen-sized bed was very comfortable. The room had a spotlessly clean very modern shower-room en suite. However, it had no proper wardrobe space to hang our clothes. There were two tiny drawers in the desk provided only. There is no tea/coffee-making facility in the room either which was a drawback, because the hotel does not have a separate restaurant or serve an evening meal. You can have a very good continental breakfast, which we availed of on two mornings. The hotel has a lovely terrace and gardens with a very well-maintained outdoor pool and jacuzzi. Overall, we had a lovely restful break there, but would suggest that proper wardrobe facilities and a kettle should have been provided to warrant the €160 per night room-rate we were charged. The hotel also has a spa which we did not use.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

The hotel is ideally located just across from the medieval part of Carcassone, but also walkable to the "new" town. Well-appointed rooms, nice staff, excellent bathrooms, convenient parking, quiet, and a very nice outdoor area for reading, having a drink, etc. If I go back to Carcassonne, I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SFVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

As most reviewers say. The location is perfect for touring Carcassonne..and the Hotel has parking.

The hotel is near the entry to the Old Town, where there are many restaurants in easy walking distance.

The hotel was pretty and our room was fine (smallish, but clean). Our breakfast was very nice. The weather was cold when we visited and there was no dining on the terrace, so no views over breakfast.

(Only thing to watch is that the hotel is not near a supermarket.)

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeTheRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

My family and I were supposed to stay at the Hotel Montmorency (the two are sister hotels across the street from each other), but when we arrived we asked if there were two rooms available at Hotel du Chateau. Luckily they had rooms available and we switched over with no problems. The rooms we stayed in (one double and one triple) were beautiful, comfortable, very modern (the bathrooms are to die for!) and the location of the hotel was perfect. The entrance to La Cite was about a 2 minute walk from our rooms. The breakfast available was great as well. The beds were the most comfortable we slept in on our entire 2 week trip. I also cannot say enough about the staff! They were kind and very helpful. This was especially evident when my young niece left her favorite blanket in the room after we had checked out. We called the hotel the following day. They had found it and arranged to have it mailed to us in Paris where we were staying for a week. She was so happy to have it back! This hotel was head and shoulders above any hotel we stayed in while we drove through France on our trip. It was very much worth the extra expense (versus the rates of Hotel Montmorency). I would most definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisully11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne Center hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - M...
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,620 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hote...
#10 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,579 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
#6 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
810 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#2 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
510 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Chateau

Address: 2 rue Camille Saint Saens, 11000 Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne > Carcassonne Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne Center
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne Center
Price Range: £123 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Chateau 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally situated, facing the towers and city walls of the medieval Cité it welcomes you at the entrance to the drawbridge. The marriage of ancient and modern offers an interesting journey between the medieval and the contemporary.The hotel is totally unique : a rare elegance and model of aestheticism, it is a constant reminder of timeless good taste and defines the art of entertaining guests.Wine tasting and enjoyment in the panoramic bar…A special space, relaxation in the sun or shade around the heated pool, opening from Pâques to Toussaint or the heated Jacuzzi opening all the year. Relaxation, pleasure and absolute refinement in our luxury SPA CARITA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel du Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Chateau Hotel
Du Chateau Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing