We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality tourist hotel”
Review of Hotel du Chateau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Chateau
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“High quality tourist hotel”
Reviewed 25 September 2011

For visiting Carcassonne the location is perfect, it's just across the road and you have an amazing view of the old city.

We had a junior suite and it was a little small, although well fitted out, clean and perfect for a few days stay, the bathroom and wet room were great! The outside space was private and quiet. The grounds and hotel are lovely. The staff were friendly, professional and efficient.

The car park is 10 euros per night, which seems a little off given the cost of the rooms, and that the large car park is attached to the hotel.

Breakfast was additional to the cost of the room and a bit pricey, but eating outside with the amazing view did make it worth it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    213
    93
    33
    10
See reviews for
130
499
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essendon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
373 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We've just had a 2 night stay at this neat hotel. On arrival we were given a fabulous welcome by the receptionist and instructions on how best to access the old city of Carcassonne... and a friendly nudge by the hotel cat. The room was small but very cleverly set out. One small thing - although immaculate and clean there was a slight fusty smell which was difficult to get rid of. Maybe a consequence of being so close to the outdoor swimming pool?

The helpful and warm nature of the staff followed through during the remainder of our 48 hours. Drinks were well received (indoors as it was raining). Hotel dogs (2) came to say 'bonjour'. Reservations were made on our behalf.

We didn't want to leave and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs might be noisy at they seem to be over the bar. Suggest you aim for one that is away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

This hotel is situation directly across the road from the UNESCO World Heritage site of
A Cite. To sit on the terrace having breakfast looking at this is quite an unreal feeling. Though the rooms are a little small this is made up for by decor and the quality of everything in them. The staffers all very cheerful and helpful, the continental breakfast was good. Everything about this place is good. being so close to the walled city allows you to visit it in the morning or early evening when there are fewer tourists around. All in all this hotel made our trip to Carcassone a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthJuney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield, MI
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The hotel has the best location if you want to stay in Carcasonne. It is outside the walls, but perfect because it is less than a 1 minute walk to reach inside. Plus you have the excellent view of the castle, and city walls. All lit up at night. We enjoyed this every evening. The rooms were very well appointed. Even though they are small by American standards they have all the modern amenities. The bathroom and patio are were great. Having the patio was a real plus. If you book, request one. They are large and spacious. My only complaint is the pool and their rules. I booked the hotel on the condition I could use the pool everyday. What they don't mention is that the pool does not open until 10 are 11 am even though they say it's earlier. They keep a metal cover over it, so you cannot use it. They said the reasoning was they didn't want guests disturbed. As a guest who had a pool room, we were much more disturbed by our early neighbors, and foot/luggage traffic on our patio. This is a minor point, but if the pool is important stay elsewhere. Otherwise I would highly recommend this hotel and I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelpro2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We only stayed one night but wished we could of stayed longer,lovely hotel with excellent facilities Room 10 was decorated very nice with a good sized bathroom and separate toilet very efficient staff at check in and check out and a very good breakfast with the addition of ham and cheese to go with your baguette and croissant.Hotel was easy to find and parking although you pay 10 euros was great.would definitely return if in the area without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shooter5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Well located just outside the city gates. A lovely building set in very pretty gardens with a great pool. Rooms were small but well equiped.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatR22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Visiting Carcasonne has always been a dream of mine. Hotel du Chateau provided us with the perfect place fr us to stay and enjoy this magical city and the surrounding region.

Staff were friendly an helpful, and the rooms and reception areas of the hotel where immaculate and stylish. breakfast is a basic continental affair with local produce and fresh coffee - perfect.

It was a lovely place to spend a lovely trip.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
0.1 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#7 of 39 in Carcassonne
769 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Chateau

Property: Hotel du Chateau
Address: 2 rue Camille Saint Saens, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Chateau 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally situated, facing the towers and city walls of the medieval Cité it welcomes you at the entrance to the drawbridge. The marriage of ancient and modern offers an interesting journey between the medieval and the contemporary.The hotel is totally unique : a rare elegance and model of aestheticism, it is a constant reminder of timeless good taste and defines the art of entertaining guests.Wine tasting and enjoyment in the panoramic bar…A special space, relaxation in the sun or shade around the heated pool, opening from Pâques to Toussaint or the heated Jacuzzi opening all the year. Relaxation, pleasure and absolute refinement in our luxury SPA CARITA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Chateau Hotel
Du Chateau Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing