We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Charming about this Hotel.”
Review of Hotel du Chateau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Chateau
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We arrived quite late at the Hotel du Chateau and there was just one person looking after both reception and the bar, which didn't bode well. We had booked a double room with three beds, one double and one single for our granddaughter. When we had booked in, the girl on reception showed us to our room, pulled out the sofa bed for our granddaughter, and explained how to use the air conditioning. The room was nicely done in medieval style, but was extremely small and the toilet and shower section were very tight. We chose the hotel due to its proximity to the old city, and decided to have a quick visit before bed. When we came back, we had a couple of drinks in the bar and then went straight to bed, as we had been travelling all day and were exhausted. As soon as we turned out the lights, the first problem emerged - the curtains were thin, there was no blind on the window, and there was a streetlight shining in from outside. Luckily, we were so tired that we all slept, though I woke up at the crack of dawn with the sun shining through. We later checked the window and saw that there were shutters outside which were not visible from the inside and which we could have closed; we felt that the receptionist should have told us about this. But that was mild compared to what happened next.

When I went into the bathroom, I noticed some dead flies in the bath. Then around the sink and emerging from under the rim of the sink, some of those large winged ants that look like flies. I dispatched them, and went into the tiny shower closet, where I noticed several small ants scuttling around the floor. I got rid of those too. Went back into the bedroom, where I spotted one of the large winged ants on the bedclothes of our bed - I was afraid to check any further. To cap it all, when we closed up the sofa bed, there were three dead insects underneath on the floor. Luckily, we had only booked for one night, and were leaving that morning anyway.

After the (just about adequate) continental breakfast - expensive and disappointing for France -we complained to the manager (who was on reception) and I must say got a frosty and insulting response. She first of all asked us if we had opened the window with the light on, as this would let the insects in. We explained that we had gone straight to bed, and didn't go near the window (at this point I mentioned the shutters, and was basically sneered at for not knowing that shutters are on the outside in that part of France). We brought her down to the room so that she could see the dead insects for herself, at which point she corrected me that one of the insects I had identified as a fly was, in fact, an ant!

Back at reception, she continued in defensive mode by saying that it wasn't as if there was a scorpion there, and it was, after all, 'la nature'! She also said that such a thing had never happened before, so maybe we were unlucky. However, this hotel has obviously never heard the maxim that 'the customer is always right' and we found the service overall to be deplorable. No way is this a four star hotel. To be fair, we were given a reduction in our bill - our breakfast and bar costs were refunded which saved us about 60 euro. However, I really regretted booking that hotel and would certainly never go back, on account of the rude, slipshod service as much as the insects.

I would recommend the Best Western Le Donjon to anyone visiting Carcassonne. The old city itself made the visit well worthwhile, and we were sorry we hadn't booked the Donjon which is nestled cosily just inside the city walls. We went inside, and were struck by its warm and welcoming atmosphere and authentic medieval vibe. It's also a good bit cheaper than the Hotel du Chateau. Will definitely stay there next time!

Room Tip: Don't go to room number 6 - the insect room. And make sure to close the shutters before going to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LaurenDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephaneRives, Propriétaire at Hotel du Chateau, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Madam, sir,
We are sincerely sorry for your bad stay in our hotel.
Effectively a nest of ant had settled down in the room number 6 of in the terrible thunderstorm which we had a few days before.
I thought that the fact of offering you every your extra on the invoice was a fair discount, in priori not! It was only ants....
We are a small family hotel of charm and not a chains or company as you can find everywhere and your critics hurt us as you were able to notice it in your departure.
The blackmail in the posting of a bad opinion does not influence us on the contrary.
We try, by love and passion of our work, to welcome at best all our customers and our staff tries to do the same there.
Sincerely Yours, Best regards, Stéphane and Cécile Rives, the owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (798)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 798 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed at the Hotel du Chateau just outside the main gate of the medieval cite. It was a
incredible experience. The hotel is so very charming, the room that we had in the grounds was
just beautiful, very comfortable in every way. My only complaint is that there was no coffee maker in the room. Other than that it was perfect. The staff were very helpful and nice and the owners
have three adorable pets, two dogs and a cat that roam freely. It felt more like a private home.
I would recommend it to anyone going to Carcassonne.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room, otherwise be prepared for stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justadrienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

You only need 1 day for Carcassone and this the hotel to choose. Just outside the old city gates, very convenient parking, friendly and efficient staff and a great breakfast. Best of all there are two resident dogs.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EQexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

On the plus side, the location of the hotel is superb as it is directly opposite the entrance to the old City. However, it did not match up at all to the 4 star rating and left much to be desired.
Our room was very small with hardly any room to store our clothes, in fact there was no drawer space at all. The bathroom was also small especially the shower cubicle and the actual shower lacked power. The rooms were also noisy. The breakfast was priced at 15 Euros per person which was very expensive for what was provided. The food was served at the tables but was extremely restricted. There was no cooked food at all and the choice was poor. The swimming pool was closed despite it being at the end of May with no apology for this. We had no help at all either bringing the luggage to the room or to the car at the end of our stay. We were also charged 10 Euros per day for our car which meant that our total cost per day was 230 Euros. I would suggest that this is extremely expensive for the facilities and service received. To add insult to injury, my request to check out and pay my bill an hour before actually vacating our room was refused as I was told that I was not allowed to pay until the room key was returned. I have never experienced that at any previous hotel and was extremely insulted and annoyed. All in all not value for money

Room Tip: Some rooms are larger but even those have insufficient clothes storage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMLEEDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

If you are going to visit La Cite, the walled Medieval town of Carcassonne be sure to research your hotel and book in advance. Do not do what I did and turn up by car looking for somewhere to stay. Otherwise you may, like me, be taken in by this hotel's fantastic location, which is a stone's throw away from the main entrance gate to La Cite with its terrific view of the ancient walls. It is very expensive for what it offers and at approx €200 per room with no restaurant, and small lobby/ reception area which we had to share with 2 large dogs and a cat, it clearly trades on its prime location. However it provided me with a first time ever experience. Upon returning from an evening tour of the Medieval town I went to the small bar, which doubles up as the breakfast room and requested a glass of red wine. To my amazement I was told that the Hotel had no red wine!!!!! In brief don't fall for the location. Go somewhere that offers better facilities and value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The hotel is beautifully situated just across the road from the main gate in to the ramparts. It could not be more convenient and is a pretty building similar to a large farmhouse with a lovely terrace and bar overlooking the ramparts, especially pretty at night when floodlit.
On arrival, having booked a classic double room, we were shown to room 11. It was very small and dark and overlooked the back of the hotel. We hated it and asked at reception if alternatives were available. We were offered room 3, which was a superior double at 20 euros extra. Never has 20 euros been better spent. We had a beautiful room and en suite, spacious with a settee on which we could sit and look out of the window overlooking the front garden and side view of the ramparts. It made a huge difference to our stay.
Breakfast was lovely in the bar overlooking the ramparts with the terrace outside( it was wet).
Secure car parking at 10 euros was an asset. We had a small problem in that having booked and confirmed at last years rates, we were initially charged the increased 2013 rates, but this was readily corrected. The hotel, perhaps, does not offer quite the same value for money as other lovely places we stayed in, but the room price inevitably reflects the excellent location. If you are only here once, pay for a room with a view and you will not regret it.

Room Tip: It is definitely worth paying for a more spacious room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firstcuckoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We flew into Toulouse and caught a train to Carcasonne - all remarkably simple and smooth. The hotel itself is fantastic. The location is just outside the Cite walls so benefits from the lovely nightly view of the walls all lit up, and is a short walk to the main entrance to the medieval cite.
The staff we lovely and always had a smile and were incredibly helpful - nothing was too much trouble - even down to finding out train times for our return trip as we found we were in the middle of a bank holiday - and not a clue!
had a a fab 3 nights - and we were really reluctant to leave.
Breakfast was also really nice - we also found a the Brassarie Le Donjon - in the walls - which was a fab place for a meal.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clairey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
0.1 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
808 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
507 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#2 of 39 in Carcassonne
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Chateau

Address: 2 rue Camille Saint Saens, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range: £127 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Chateau 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally situated, facing the towers and city walls of the medieval Cité it welcomes you at the entrance to the drawbridge. The marriage of ancient and modern offers an interesting journey between the medieval and the contemporary.The hotel is totally unique : a rare elegance and model of aestheticism, it is a constant reminder of timeless good taste and defines the art of entertaining guests.Wine tasting and enjoyment in the panoramic bar…A special space, relaxation in the sun or shade around the heated pool, opening from Pâques to Toussaint or the heated Jacuzzi opening all the year. Relaxation, pleasure and absolute refinement in our luxury SPA CARITA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel du Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Chateau Hotel
Du Chateau Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing