We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location warm friendly service”
Review of Hotel du Chateau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Chateau
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic location warm friendly service”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

The hotel location is perfect for seeing the old city.
Lovely terrace grounds and swimming pool area. The relatively small number of rooms gives a cosy intimate feel. Rooms are a little on the small size but beautifully appointed with modern plumbing etc.

Breakfast only served in the bar but the lack of full restaurant is not a problem with a huge choice in the old city. If you do not like dogs you would not be happy with the two pets of the household wandering around.

We paid extra for a terrace room and thought it was worth it. Pricing overall is at the top end but it has a unique location.

Overall we had a relaxing 4day stay and would use it again and we like dogs!
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Parking useful for those needing it.

Room Tip: Terrace rooms are slightly larger and probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonValPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    213
    93
    33
    10
See reviews for
130
499
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Easy access to the walled city. Parking available if you are driving.
Nicely renovated property with small, but comfortable rooms. You take care of getting your bags in and out. No restaurant, but the bar has snacks and breakfast service.
The view to the old city is fantastic at night. Nice outdoor terrace to enjoy if the weather is nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Took in this Hotel as part of a Supercar Rally around Europe with 5 other Couples. Hotel is very pretty, clean and the location can't be beaten. I understand other reviews about shortness of staff at times and they could possibly be a little "officious" perhaps, just an undertone, but possibly there. eg, 6 Supercars turn up at the reception in front of hotel, start to unload baggage and told, "do not unload there, park the cars around back first !". However, rooms were lovely, bathrooms well appointed and bar very accomodating, after a meal in the Citadel. We thought, good value, and well worth a visit, would love to have spent more time in this super location, thats for sure! I am a dog lover, but could do without dogs around feet of Breakfast table perhaps? Am I just getting Grumpy?

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmbassadorsDrivingCl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

Our room, although pretty, had lots of dead insects lying around and live ones flying around. We complained and were told that there was no other free rooms. We showed the receptionist the next day and she offered free breakfast to make up for this. After further discussion she offered a small discount. I was told to write to the manager by email if I was not happy. Disappointingly, they did not respond to my email. More disappointing than the problem itself was the lack of response by management.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BGJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephaneRives, Propriétaire at Hotel du Chateau, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Madam, Sir,
We are sincerely sorry, we had prepared for you the same day an answer to your email which unfortunately never left our box of sending.
Effectively we met a problem of ants in the room number 06 during 3 days of in a violent thunderstorm a few days before.
The hotel were full on that night, this why we were not able to change your room.
We do fell really sorry for you about this inconvenience, which is independent from us.
We are a family hotel, we are trying hardily to make please and satisfy our guest.
We understand your disappointment on the fact of not having received answer from us and we are confused.
Cordial greetings, Stéphane and Cécile Rives, the owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We arrived quite late at the Hotel du Chateau and there was just one person looking after both reception and the bar, which didn't bode well. We had booked a double room with three beds, one double and one single for our granddaughter. When we had booked in, the girl on reception showed us to our room, pulled out the sofa bed for our granddaughter, and explained how to use the air conditioning. The room was nicely done in medieval style, but was extremely small and the toilet and shower section were very tight. We chose the hotel due to its proximity to the old city, and decided to have a quick visit before bed. When we came back, we had a couple of drinks in the bar and then went straight to bed, as we had been travelling all day and were exhausted. As soon as we turned out the lights, the first problem emerged - the curtains were thin, there was no blind on the window, and there was a streetlight shining in from outside. Luckily, we were so tired that we all slept, though I woke up at the crack of dawn with the sun shining through. We later checked the window and saw that there were shutters outside which were not visible from the inside and which we could have closed; we felt that the receptionist should have told us about this. But that was mild compared to what happened next.

When I went into the bathroom, I noticed some dead flies in the bath. Then around the sink and emerging from under the rim of the sink, some of those large winged ants that look like flies. I dispatched them, and went into the tiny shower closet, where I noticed several small ants scuttling around the floor. I got rid of those too. Went back into the bedroom, where I spotted one of the large winged ants on the bedclothes of our bed - I was afraid to check any further. To cap it all, when we closed up the sofa bed, there were three dead insects underneath on the floor. Luckily, we had only booked for one night, and were leaving that morning anyway.

After the (just about adequate) continental breakfast - expensive and disappointing for France -we complained to the manager (who was on reception) and I must say got a frosty and insulting response. She first of all asked us if we had opened the window with the light on, as this would let the insects in. We explained that we had gone straight to bed, and didn't go near the window (at this point I mentioned the shutters, and was basically sneered at for not knowing that shutters are on the outside in that part of France). We brought her down to the room so that she could see the dead insects for herself, at which point she corrected me that one of the insects I had identified as a fly was, in fact, an ant!

Back at reception, she continued in defensive mode by saying that it wasn't as if there was a scorpion there, and it was, after all, 'la nature'! She also said that such a thing had never happened before, so maybe we were unlucky. However, this hotel has obviously never heard the maxim that 'the customer is always right' and we found the service overall to be deplorable. No way is this a four star hotel. To be fair, we were given a reduction in our bill - our breakfast and bar costs were refunded which saved us about 60 euro. However, I really regretted booking that hotel and would certainly never go back, on account of the rude, slipshod service as much as the insects.

I would recommend the Best Western Le Donjon to anyone visiting Carcassonne. The old city itself made the visit well worthwhile, and we were sorry we hadn't booked the Donjon which is nestled cosily just inside the city walls. We went inside, and were struck by its warm and welcoming atmosphere and authentic medieval vibe. It's also a good bit cheaper than the Hotel du Chateau. Will definitely stay there next time!

Room Tip: Don't go to room number 6 - the insect room. And make sure to close the shutters before going to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LaurenDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephaneRives, Propriétaire at Hotel du Chateau, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Madam, sir,
We are sincerely sorry for your bad stay in our hotel.
Effectively a nest of ant had settled down in the room number 6 of in the terrible thunderstorm which we had a few days before.
I thought that the fact of offering you every your extra on the invoice was a fair discount, in priori not! It was only ants....
We are a small family hotel of charm and not a chains or company as you can find everywhere and your critics hurt us as you were able to notice it in your departure.
The blackmail in the posting of a bad opinion does not influence us on the contrary.
We try, by love and passion of our work, to welcome at best all our customers and our staff tries to do the same there.
Sincerely Yours, Best regards, Stéphane and Cécile Rives, the owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed at the Hotel du Chateau just outside the main gate of the medieval cite. It was a
incredible experience. The hotel is so very charming, the room that we had in the grounds was
just beautiful, very comfortable in every way. My only complaint is that there was no coffee maker in the room. Other than that it was perfect. The staff were very helpful and nice and the owners
have three adorable pets, two dogs and a cat that roam freely. It felt more like a private home.
I would recommend it to anyone going to Carcassonne.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room, otherwise be prepared for stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justadrienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

You only need 1 day for Carcassone and this the hotel to choose. Just outside the old city gates, very convenient parking, friendly and efficient staff and a great breakfast. Best of all there are two resident dogs.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EQexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
0.1 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#7 of 39 in Carcassonne
769 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Chateau

Property: Hotel du Chateau
Address: 2 rue Camille Saint Saens, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Chateau 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally situated, facing the towers and city walls of the medieval Cité it welcomes you at the entrance to the drawbridge. The marriage of ancient and modern offers an interesting journey between the medieval and the contemporary.The hotel is totally unique : a rare elegance and model of aestheticism, it is a constant reminder of timeless good taste and defines the art of entertaining guests.Wine tasting and enjoyment in the panoramic bar…A special space, relaxation in the sun or shade around the heated pool, opening from Pâques to Toussaint or the heated Jacuzzi opening all the year. Relaxation, pleasure and absolute refinement in our luxury SPA CARITA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Chateau Hotel
Du Chateau Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing