We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for visiting City and as a base for touring”
Review of Hotel du Chateau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Chateau
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect location for visiting City and as a base for touring”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We have just stayed for 4 nights using the hotel as a base for visiting the City and touring the area.
Being just outside the walls meant that you could be in the walled city in minutes but also could get into your car and drive off touring without the hassle involved if you stayed inside the walls.
Comfortable room by pool where you never thought you were in a city or a modern hotel with a small terrace to relax, drink etc.
Minor quibbles, breakfast not particularly good so had a coffee and croissant in the city at 1/3 of the price and tiny towels ! Don,t expect to have a peaceful time by the pool as babies and kids galore.
No restaurant but that suited as if our do your homework you can eat very well in the city.
Perfect comfortable civilised base.
My wife had a good quality massage in the spa.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    209
    92
    33
    10
See reviews for
130
492
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
aberdeen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Disappointed not only at size of so called 'suite' but lack of clothes storage space - lived out of cases for the days we were there
Inadequate curtains on room windows meant room and bathroom easily seen in to even with bathroom screen down
Don't try and order orange juice instead of apple juice for breakfast - that seems to be a problem and you'll have to pay even more for it on top of the 15 euros
If it wasn't on door of medieval city - no doubting the prime spot - we would have checked out immediately and did shorten our stay

Room Tip: Ask to see it first Downstairs rooms very dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank les20131962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

There was much about this hotel we liked. The location is superb. You can explore the medieval city, which is literally across the street, before the hordes of tourists arrive and at night when they are gone. The grounds and the patio in particular are very nice places to hang out, and we liked the dogs.Service was fine, but not particularly personal. Perhaps that is because the hotel also caters to small tour groups. However we found the room incredibly small, and the breakfast the least satisfying of the 6 hotels we stayed at.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This is almost the first Hotel that you come to off the Main Road into the walled City. It looks beautiful, tranquil, elegant.......and in many ways it is all of these. A Room is not cheap, and it is not large either. We stayed in apparently the largest Room by the Pool which sleeps three people/four people. It was a lovely Room. It had a little Garden and was very well appointed. A lovely Walk in Double Shower, Air Conditioning etc. Lovely, but not large.
Car Parking will cost you an extra 10 Euros. Bit of a cheek as if you can't park you won't stay. Breakfast will cost you 15 Euros each......a little too expensive when you've paid 270 Euros to stay and they don't even have a Restaurant to provide you with Dinner. For this you'll walk into the Cite and fight with the throngs to eat a Burger, Kebab or more likely a Bowl of Cassoulet.
Throughout the day you'll see Families come and go to use the Pool and it may occur to you that it is busy for a Hotel with about 20 Bedrooms? As you sit for Breakfast and wait whilst they serve Table after Table around you trying to keep up you may think where have all of these people come from as there are only 20 special, expensive, Bedrooms? As you drive out of the Hotel upon paying and leaving the Hotel to continue your journey and you pass the large free Car Park just out of sight of your 10 Euro space, and you see people leaving the much cheaper Hotel opposite, which the Owners also own, with Towels heading towards your Pool, or your Hotel for Breakfast you will realise....... it is all a magical, well executed, expensive, illusion........

Room Tip: Get it as cheap as you can as you're sharing every Facility.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

Everything they do here is done very well. The location is perfect, literally 150m from the entrance to the Chateau. The quality of furnishings, bedding, bathrooms etc is very high. Would highly recommend staying here, it's perfect for a night or a few days and the spa is very tempting too.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Grant A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Our only regret at the Hotel du Chateau is that we only stayed one night.The hotel staff is wonderful, the rooms amazing, and the view of the castle incredible. We stayed in room number 16 with a delightful private patio near the pool. Parking is in a private gated lot so your car is safe. The walk up the steps to the walled city is short and before you know it you have been transported back in time. The breakfast at the hotel was perfect. As you drink your coffee you are treated with beautiful views of the pool area to one side and the castle to the other side. Everyone from the staff to the other guests made this a great place to be.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a private patio, our room was #16.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmaglio45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Lovely hotel right next to the old cite, which is literally a 5 minute walk away. Stylish rooms, great pool area and friendly staff. Loved the family feel of the hotel, with a boutique style and family pets taking center stage. Food and drink aren't cheap in the hotel, but the cite is so close you have lots of choice. Private parking on site, which at 10E a day seems expensive until you realise what a nightmare Carcassonne is to park in! Don't follow your sat nav in from the south as ou will get lost in the one way streets like we did!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
0.1 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
418 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#7 of 39 in Carcassonne
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Chateau

Property: Hotel du Chateau
Address: 2 rue Camille Saint Saens, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Chateau 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally situated, facing the towers and city walls of the medieval Cité it welcomes you at the entrance to the drawbridge. The marriage of ancient and modern offers an interesting journey between the medieval and the contemporary.The hotel is totally unique : a rare elegance and model of aestheticism, it is a constant reminder of timeless good taste and defines the art of entertaining guests.Wine tasting and enjoyment in the panoramic bar…A special space, relaxation in the sun or shade around the heated pool, opening from Pâques to Toussaint or the heated Jacuzzi opening all the year. Relaxation, pleasure and absolute refinement in our luxury SPA CARITA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Chateau Hotel
Du Chateau Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing