We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay near the castle”
Review of Hotel du Chateau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Chateau
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stayed two night at this lavish hotel. The outside wasn't terribly appealing, (modern building) but the inside was very welcoming and stylish. The room was not very big but cosy with a lot of luxurious features. I specially enjoyed the glass wall to the bath room. Very well equipped, good substantial breakfast, not just a cup of coffee and a croissant. No restaurant at the hotel, but with the Castle just across the street, there was plenty to chose from in there.
In the summertime it must be fantastic with swimming pool and jacuzzi in the gardens and still so central to the rest of Carcassonne.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Per K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (798)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 798 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

We have stayed at this hotel for a night while visiting the old town. We have arrived late at night in time to be able to see the old city walls lit up. There was no room at the main hotel, so we have stayed in the annex in two adjacent rooms with our three small daughters. The two rooms were separate but a clever door enclosed them to create a two room apartment, a modern touch which allowed us to keep the kids in a separate room. The decor was modern although the colors were a bit out there. In the morning we have crossed the street to have breakfast in a beautiful hotel lobby. The food was great and we have enjoyed the garden and stylish dishes. Not for a second have we regretted not staying within the city walls. The hotel is steps away from the old town, allows for hassle free parking and let's you enjoy the view of the old city from the outside while having your breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moni-Kuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

i was here one night as part of a motorcycle group. Eleven motorcycles and a support van arriving simultaneously can strain even the best-trained reception staff! Location is perfect right across the street from the awesome double ramparts. Service is absolutely brilliant including reception, bar and breakfast. The place is very quiet in spite of being right next to all the important things in town. The rooms are extremely comfortable and the bed is phenomenal. The hotel clearly went through a big renovation within the (severe) restrictions of a much older building and clearly they did a fine job of it, but the architect got carried away, and the end result is more than a little quirky. Three examples: 1) after extensive fiddling with the telephone shower in the tub, I found a shower stall hidden behind the bathroom door, 2) the light switches are an incompreehensible setup so to get complete darkness I had to kill the main switch (meaning my cell phone didn´t charge), and 3) those lights recessed into the floor around the bed may look nifty but get really hot so don´t walk on them in bare feet!). But on balance these become small caveats since as an overall experience this is one very fine French hotel and I recommend it highly.

Room Tip: there are four rooms behind the pool which people told us are the best! I was in one of them and can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brazilgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I was a trifle nervous after seeing some negative reviews about this hotel, but once we had arrived and settled in our room, all our fears were dispelled. Although our room was small, it was very comfortable, classy and well appointed. The bathroom was brilliant! We had an excellent lunch on the terrace overlooking the walls of La Cité soon after we arrived and it was wonderfully relaxing. The location alone was amazing - just a few minutes walk from the entrance to the medieval city. It was also a very pleasant walk to the main part of the town, crossing the river on the Pont Vieux over the river Aude. The staff were very obliging and the dogs (which some reviewers complained about) were very placid and sweet.

If I returned to Carcassonne, I would definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank biggersn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed 1 night here in late October. Room was very stylish and we instantly wished we could have had another night or two here. Room overlooked the garden up to la cite, which is literally a stones throw away. Bathroom was very nice although somewhat on the small side. Separate bath and shower. Plenty of English speaking channels on the tv. Wifi connection was ordinary. Staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke great English and I think they could speak Spanish as well. Breakfast was very good with plenty to choose from with a strong influence of the local products such as yoghurt, ham, cheese, fruit, juice and jams although a tad expensive at 15 euros each. Overall we are glad we stayed here as we only had 1 night in Carcassonne so we decided to splurge a little and was well worth it. Would be expensive to stay for an extended period but you would enjoy it as you pay for what you get which makes this place good value in my book.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leigh179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We had four very happy nights here in October. We stayed in room 3 in the main building, overlooking the garden and, through the trees, up to the old cite. The room was rather small, especially as we had the sofa bed in use as a bed, but it was very stylish and comfortable. The bathroom was also on the small size, but with a bath as well as a shower and lovely toiletries, it was finished to a very high standard. We were very impressed by the standard of the breakfast too, which makes use of delicious local products. Although the cover was on the pool when we arrived, the hotel was more than happy to open it up for us to enjoy a swim in the late October sunshine. The location of the hotel is excellent, just across the road from the main gate into the cite, which was every bit as impressive as we had hoped it would be. Although there would be advantages to staying inside the cite walls, we loved the fact you could see it from the hotel and enjoyed the excitement of entering the cite through the impressive Porte Narbonnaise, as travellers have done down the centuries. We arrived in Carcassonne by train and took a taxi to the hotel rather than carrying our luggage. However, it was an easy walk down to the station, crossing the lovely Pont Vieux bridge over the river Aude, from where the view back to the cite is fantastic. From outside the station you can take a trip on the peaceful canal du midi and from the station itself you can take a local train via Limoux and Alet-les-Bains to Quillian. At a flat fare of 1 Euro a ticket it has to be the biggest bargain in the area. I enjoyed re-reading Kate Mosse’s wonderful book Labyrinth during our stay as it is set in the area. I was pleased to read that the main character, Alice, also stayed at the Hotel du Chateau whilst in Carcassonne!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HappyFamily0f3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We happened upon this hotel as our first choice was sold out. Oh my gosh! Soooooo nice!!! Lovely, well manicured grounds, right next to castle, fabulous service, beautiful rooms. Cant say enough good things... They have two very sweet dogs that made me miss my puppy at home. Concierge made last minute reservations for us at an awesome restaurant in the castle. So romantic! Comfy bed and fabulous bathroom! Free wifi. Provided complimentary coffee and croissants for breakfast, which were yummy. Five stars! Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabethweston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
0.1 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
808 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
327 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Chateau

Address: 2 rue Camille Saint Saens, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range: £126 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Chateau 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally situated, facing the towers and city walls of the medieval Cité it welcomes you at the entrance to the drawbridge. The marriage of ancient and modern offers an interesting journey between the medieval and the contemporary.The hotel is totally unique : a rare elegance and model of aestheticism, it is a constant reminder of timeless good taste and defines the art of entertaining guests.Wine tasting and enjoyment in the panoramic bar…A special space, relaxation in the sun or shade around the heated pool, opening from Pâques to Toussaint or the heated Jacuzzi opening all the year. Relaxation, pleasure and absolute refinement in our luxury SPA CARITA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel du Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Chateau Hotel
Du Chateau Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing