We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the Citadel”
Review of Hotel du Chateau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Chateau
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Close to the Citadel”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Clean. Fine breakfast. Great location. Priced well due to the season (spring) and location It is within two hundred meters of the UNESCO World Heritage Site Cité de Carcassonne. To quote the UNESCO 1997 citation, the Cité is “an excellent example of a medieval fortified town whose massive defenses were constructed on walls dating from Late Antiquity.”

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter-Judson-Moore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    213
    94
    33
    10
See reviews for
130
501
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

What a great hotel. Lovely location,lovely swimming pool. Room very chic... and hotel within walking distance to the city centre. Would not hesitate to recommend and will return . Just a stones throw from the city wall entrance and certainly deserves its 4 star rating.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judith e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights at the end of June. The hotel is an absolute gem. After a booking cock-up (my fault), we ended up with a two bedroomed suite across the road in the Montmorency (same hotel). A very modern suite - red walls and concrete floor, so maybe not to everyone's taste, but very spacious, on the ground floor with direct access to the gardens including an apricot tree from which you could just lean out the window and pick breakfast! Beautiful pool area with bar service. Big fat friendly cats and dogs in the reception and as everyone has mentioned, an amazing location. Don't limit yourself to visiting the citadel in Carcassonne, Go into the 'new' town. It's a very pleasant stroll from the hotel.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 62. Excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel certainly lived up to its 4 stars! Lovely comfortable bedroom with every mod con and gorgeous bed linen.marble tiled floors and walls in bathroom.Resident dogs in reception to make us feel at home too and fabulous service.located right by the gate into the walled city, perfect!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCP053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

What a great hotel. Fabulous location, really amazing lounge/patio area. WARM swimming pool, freindly staff, safe parking, nice breakfast (we were so full - I don't see how the complaints on here can be justified - we really enjoyed it - ham, cheese, eggs, bread, fruit, yoghurt, bread pastries....it went on and on......

It isn't the cheapest hotel I have ever stayed in but was just great. We booked a junior suite, nice room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgegibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is not a bad hotel and if you can get a deal, worth visting and certainly better value than the hotels in the citadel. But it wasn't the most comfortable room and it felt rather dark and poky. The shower was great, but it was only hand held with no attachment to hang it on. But for location, you can't beat it, being about 2 minutes walk from the main gate into town.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a downstairs room - they seem to be rather dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertF1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We rounded off a weeks cruising on the Canal du Midi with three nights at this Hotel.
The staff were very attentive and very willing to help - they all seemed to speak good English and were helpful in correcting my attempts to use what French I have!
The rooms were great, very clean and modern with a comfortable bed. Air conditioning in the room was very effective and responsive. I only have two very slight criticisms - Firstly, the shower which, whilst being well appointed, was a little small and made it difficult to escape the fixed "rain fall" shower head (unless you used the separate hand shower) when washing your hair and, secondly there were no draws so we tended to live out of our suitcases.
The Hotel does not have a restaurant as such - but they served a very good "continental style" breakfast in the morning ( as we planned to eat out each night that was not a problem to us) however if you want a hotel with a full restaurant service........
The greatest asset the Hotel has is its position, just outside the Old Cité. Each night we walked slightly uphill into the Old Cité to eat at some wonderful restaurants and when we had finished it was a pleasant, slightly downhill walk back to the Hotel - just the way I like it!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
0.1 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#9 of 39 in Carcassonne
769 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Chateau

Property: Hotel du Chateau
Address: 2 rue Camille Saint Saens, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Chateau 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally situated, facing the towers and city walls of the medieval Cité it welcomes you at the entrance to the drawbridge. The marriage of ancient and modern offers an interesting journey between the medieval and the contemporary.The hotel is totally unique : a rare elegance and model of aestheticism, it is a constant reminder of timeless good taste and defines the art of entertaining guests.Wine tasting and enjoyment in the panoramic bar…A special space, relaxation in the sun or shade around the heated pool, opening from Pâques to Toussaint or the heated Jacuzzi opening all the year. Relaxation, pleasure and absolute refinement in our luxury SPA CARITA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Chateau Hotel
Du Chateau Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing