We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay, maybe a little pricey”
Review of Hotel du Chateau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Chateau
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2009

We stayed in this hotel in July for three nights. You couldn't ask for a better location, right outside the main entrance of the old city and only 10 minutes in a taxi from Carcassonne airport (12euro)
Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Just a couple of small qualms. The hotel doesn't serve food except for at breakfast time so if you're a traveller who likes to have an occasional quiet night without leaving the hotel for dinner, this wouldn't be for you.
There was alot of dust under the table and the sinks in the bathroom, not trying to nit pick but they were both places that could easily be cleaned. There's a window from the bathroom into the bedroom, this is shown on the hotels own gallery. It doesn't offer much privacy but the toilet and shower cannot be seen as they're in a seperate alcove and there is also a blind that can be rolled down.
The hotels exterior is very well kept and maintained and there is a gorgeous seating area outside for drinks in the evening or for breakfast in the morning. The hotel also has a pool and a mini jacuzzi and have pool towels in the rooms for you to use.

A shuttle bus is offered (in high season) from the old city to the lower town but the hotel is within walking distance (approx 20 mins) and there are loads of pharmacies and convenience shops. We would suggest that you buy any snacks or drinks you are packing with you for the day in these shops as they offer value for money in comparison to shops in the old city (500ml water in the old city 2-3euro. 2litre bot in lower town 80c) Clothes shops, antique shops etc were closed for periods in the middle of the day so it would probably be better to go early in the morning or in the evening time.
We really enjoyed our stay in Hotel du Chateau and would recommend it to travellers.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HorseBox305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (781)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 781 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2009

The location is wonderful as many have said. We had two rooms, one right off the lobby for 3 people and another by the pool for 2 people. The rooms are small but well designed with very modern bathrooms. Also, the air conditioning works well and its sorely needed in the summer. The bar/breakfast area is open air and served a very nice though, somewhat pricey breakfast.

I found all the staff very helpful with the desk people speaking English well.

I want to give great thanks, as shortly after check-in, my 15 year son became quite ill. The woman behind the desk made phone calls for us, and gave us directions to a clinic in the old city. When we couldn't make it there in time, she located an alternative doctor in the new part of the city, made us an appointment and gave us excellent directions. Never a charge for phone calls nor hesitation about helping us. Latter, another woman the next day asked me how my son was doing.

This was above and beyond.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pandpCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

Just returned from a three night stay at this lovely hotel. You couldn't get a better location for the citie. We stayed in a superior double room which was very comfortable but the bed was a little soft. The bathroom was well fitted and modern ,in a classic style, although the shower enclosure was very cosy - even for 1 ! Breakfast was beautifully served in the lovely garden if a little bit limited in choice. We also enjoyed the lovely pool area.
You couldn't stay in a better location.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suntraveller2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2009

We stayed fot two nights and would highly recomend this Hotel, the location is perfect for the Citie and it exeeded our expectaions, we had room 1 it was beautifully decorated and imaculatley clean.
Although the hotel only serves breakfast there are plenty of places to eat in the citie

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pazzNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2009

My husband and I stayed here two nights recently as part of our 25th anniversary trip. We thought the location at the foot of the old city was perfect. Our room was a "junior suite". It was a nice blend of classic design and modern technology. We had a large bathroom with a garden tub and a huge shower. The bed was the most comfortable one we slept in during our three week trip. We had a large terrace to enjoy and a secure place to park the car.

There is no restaurant but they do serve breakfast and they have a pleasant bar for drinks. We thoroughly enjoyed the place and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vandyalum82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2009

This hotel has a great location, just outside the city walls. Inside it has been nicely decorated and the furnishings are clean and new. The rooms are small but comfortable. The shower was rather tiny and low pressure. On arrival, the receptionist was friendly and we were shown to our room promptly. However, there was no attempt to help with luggage - DIY service only!
Breakfast was served in a room beside reception. However, it was vastly under -staffed and over capacity (many guests seemed to be arriving from an 'annexe' hotel across the road.) One morning we waited over 20 minutes for a table, the next we were asked to return to our room til they called us. Once it arrived, the continental breakfast included delicious cheeses and hams, but not a place for a speedy departure in the morning!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hermes111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2009

There is no restaurant in Hotel. You are not allowed to take a taxi into the Wall city, so if it rains be prepared to get soaked. We changed rooms twice first room by the pool was extremely dark and smelt musty.2ND room we were kept awake all night by a very loud noise sounded like a boiler problem, only one member of staff on until 5 am he didn't have a clue what the noise was. Changed to 3rd room down two flights of stairs no staff to help with casesat anytime. Only one member of staff on serving breakfast so very slow. All in all very disappointing as it was a very special celebration weekend for us we booked out after two days, got charged for 3rd night. No tea or coffee making facilities in room. Very dissopointing very expensive for a 3star

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hopful_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
0.1 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#9 of 39 in Carcassonne
791 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Chateau

Address: 2 rue Camille Saint Saens, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range: £128 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Chateau 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally situated, facing the towers and city walls of the medieval Cité it welcomes you at the entrance to the drawbridge. The marriage of ancient and modern offers an interesting journey between the medieval and the contemporary.The hotel is totally unique : a rare elegance and model of aestheticism, it is a constant reminder of timeless good taste and defines the art of entertaining guests.Wine tasting and enjoyment in the panoramic bar…A special space, relaxation in the sun or shade around the heated pool, opening from Pâques to Toussaint or the heated Jacuzzi opening all the year. Relaxation, pleasure and absolute refinement in our luxury SPA CARITA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Chateau Hotel
Du Chateau Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing