We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More a 4 Star B&B than Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Chateau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel du Chateau
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“More a 4 Star B&B than Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2009

We arrived at this hotel following a long hot drive from Montpellier to be greeted with a problem on arrival. We were booked into a Deluxe room for 5 nights, but the reception had us booked for 4 nights. Trying to resolve this problem was made difficult by the receptionist spending most of the time answering telephone calls, fortunately the issue was resolved to our satisfaction. The room was in an annex, of four rooms, separate from the main building and next to the swimming pool. The bedrooms in this annex do lack a bit of space, but this is balances by a large private seating area just outside the door. The bedroom, which appeared recently refurnished, had a flat screen TV, radio and a canopy over the bed! The mini-bar was in the wardrobe, which restricted the amount of storage space available. The bathroom was large – double sink, bath and shower. The hotel benefits from being quite literally on the doorstep of La Cite. The mediaeval city is only a couple of minutes walk away where there a many restaurants which make up for the lack of a restaurant at the hotel. Breakfasts were the only problem we encountered following our check-in. There seemed to be a lack of staff and as its a table service which is operated this meant delays, firstly with getting a clean table to sit at and then ordering breakfast. Also, for anyone staying more than a couple of days the limitations of the breakfast menu do become very noticeable. We only spent a short time by the pool, which though small, was kept clean and seemed popular with other guests.
This is hotel benefits from its location (and is easily accessible by road), offers good facilities at a reasonable price in comparison to the hotels within La Cite, but does suffer from a B&B mentality.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BingHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    203
    83
    33
    10
See reviews for
123
473
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2009

We had a classic double for two nights at this wonderful hotel. Our room was clean and cool with a safe but no fridge/mini-bar. The location is perfect for exploring the old town and the secure parking was a real advantage plus there is free internet (and a QWERTY keyboard!)

The heated pool was a real plus and we found the staff very helpful. Breakfast on the terrace was lovely the only minor gripe would be no fruit!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PalinJunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2009

We stayed in this hotel in July for three nights. You couldn't ask for a better location, right outside the main entrance of the old city and only 10 minutes in a taxi from Carcassonne airport (12euro)
Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Just a couple of small qualms. The hotel doesn't serve food except for at breakfast time so if you're a traveller who likes to have an occasional quiet night without leaving the hotel for dinner, this wouldn't be for you.
There was alot of dust under the table and the sinks in the bathroom, not trying to nit pick but they were both places that could easily be cleaned. There's a window from the bathroom into the bedroom, this is shown on the hotels own gallery. It doesn't offer much privacy but the toilet and shower cannot be seen as they're in a seperate alcove and there is also a blind that can be rolled down.
The hotels exterior is very well kept and maintained and there is a gorgeous seating area outside for drinks in the evening or for breakfast in the morning. The hotel also has a pool and a mini jacuzzi and have pool towels in the rooms for you to use.

A shuttle bus is offered (in high season) from the old city to the lower town but the hotel is within walking distance (approx 20 mins) and there are loads of pharmacies and convenience shops. We would suggest that you buy any snacks or drinks you are packing with you for the day in these shops as they offer value for money in comparison to shops in the old city (500ml water in the old city 2-3euro. 2litre bot in lower town 80c) Clothes shops, antique shops etc were closed for periods in the middle of the day so it would probably be better to go early in the morning or in the evening time.
We really enjoyed our stay in Hotel du Chateau and would recommend it to travellers.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HorseBox305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
438 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

The location is wonderful as many have said. We had two rooms, one right off the lobby for 3 people and another by the pool for 2 people. The rooms are small but well designed with very modern bathrooms. Also, the air conditioning works well and its sorely needed in the summer. The bar/breakfast area is open air and served a very nice though, somewhat pricey breakfast.

I found all the staff very helpful with the desk people speaking English well.

I want to give great thanks, as shortly after check-in, my 15 year son became quite ill. The woman behind the desk made phone calls for us, and gave us directions to a clinic in the old city. When we couldn't make it there in time, she located an alternative doctor in the new part of the city, made us an appointment and gave us excellent directions. Never a charge for phone calls nor hesitation about helping us. Latter, another woman the next day asked me how my son was doing.

This was above and beyond.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pandpCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

Just returned from a three night stay at this lovely hotel. You couldn't get a better location for the citie. We stayed in a superior double room which was very comfortable but the bed was a little soft. The bathroom was well fitted and modern ,in a classic style, although the shower enclosure was very cosy - even for 1 ! Breakfast was beautifully served in the lovely garden if a little bit limited in choice. We also enjoyed the lovely pool area.
You couldn't stay in a better location.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suntraveller2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2009

We stayed fot two nights and would highly recomend this Hotel, the location is perfect for the Citie and it exeeded our expectaions, we had room 1 it was beautifully decorated and imaculatley clean.
Although the hotel only serves breakfast there are plenty of places to eat in the citie

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pazzNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2009

My husband and I stayed here two nights recently as part of our 25th anniversary trip. We thought the location at the foot of the old city was perfect. Our room was a "junior suite". It was a nice blend of classic design and modern technology. We had a large bathroom with a garden tub and a huge shower. The bed was the most comfortable one we slept in during our three week trip. We had a large terrace to enjoy and a secure place to park the car.

There is no restaurant but they do serve breakfast and they have a pleasant bar for drinks. We thoroughly enjoyed the place and would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vandyalum82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#7 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Chateau

Property: Hotel du Chateau
Address: 2 rue Camille Saint Saens, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Chateau 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally situated, facing the towers and city walls of the medieval Cité it welcomes you at the entrance to the drawbridge. The marriage of ancient and modern offers an interesting journey between the medieval and the contemporary.The hotel is totally unique : a rare elegance and model of aestheticism, it is a constant reminder of timeless good taste and defines the art of entertaining guests.Wine tasting and enjoyment in the panoramic bar…A special space, relaxation in the sun or shade around the heated pool, opening from Pâques to Toussaint or the heated Jacuzzi opening all the year. Relaxation, pleasure and absolute refinement in our luxury SPA CARITA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel du Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Chateau Hotel
Du Chateau Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing