We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (858)
Filter reviews
858 results
Traveller rating
466
242
105
35
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
466
242
105
35
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbasset houndbar breakfast areaold citywalled cityapple juiceglass wallperfect locationlovely hoteldouble sinksprivate parking lotmain entrancetoilet and showerloved this hoteldu chateaudeluxe roomsecure parkingporte narbonnaise
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 858 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

Wanted to stay in a really nice hotel. First we had to carry our bags down some steep steps awkward for this senior. Room was ok, however no view at all. Very close to the medieval city, so that was great. Room very small so difficult to get around each other. Amenities were nice, but over priced in my estimation. Good nights sleep and on our way, she even charged us for a cup of coffee in the morning. Oh well.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Travelinglady1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

We spent 2 nights in Carcassonne and I'm so glad we chose Hotel du Chateau. It's cozy but stylish; its location is perfect for going in and out of the medieval city; the staff are really friendly and the breakfast is yummy!

We loved this hotel - so comfortable with thoughtful little extras like complimentary water & nougat in the room. The bar/ restaurant is comfortable and, weather permitting, there are also lots of comfy chairs to sit outside & enjoy the view. Unfortunately the weather wasn't good enough for a swim but we did sit by the pool which was nice and quiet, away from the road.

The hotel doesn't have a restaurant but food is served in the bar - this is all reheated pre-prepared food. This may sound dire but in fact it was superb quality and I would highly recommend it as an alternative to the ubiquitous cassoulet restaurants in the old city. Breakfast was all locally sourced produce and very tasty (again, better than anything we saw in the Old Town).

The only thing that I think people should be aware of is that several of the rooms are close to the road which gets very noisy quite early in the morning. I'm not sure whether some are quieter than ours but it may be worth asking if you are not used to traffic noise.

All in all, I would definitely recommend Hotel du Chateau - I can not see how the hotel in the old city can give you that much more given the price is more than double. You definitely can't improve on the warm welcome and friendly service we received.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank dunwomblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

What's not to like about this place? Perfect location (two minutes walking distance from the gates of the walled Cite, but in a very quiet and secluded corner), very tidy and good-looking rooms, nice breakfast (you basically get a bit of everything there is in a typical breakfast buffet), a clean swimming pool. Spa is a bit pricey, but very good. Lack of proper kitchen in the hotel is offset by close proximity to the medieval walled town, where there are a lot of restaurants/
In general, it is ideal place to stay during a romantic getaway or a short history-oriented trip to Carcassonne.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreyK_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

A startlingly red room at the foot of the ancient castle of Carcassonne told us we were in for something special. A pleasant staff and a beautiful view didn't disappoint. We thought the glass in the bathroom was a daring designer touch that didn't quite work but nothing else got in the way. A hip sound track made sitting in the lobby/bar/restaurant feel very trendy and the morning breakfast was worth every penny. And don't worry about the over-the-top rooms. They were beautiful in a designer-gone-mad way.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Doug K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

We stayed here as a birthday treat on 23rd July (we actually only live half an hour away!) to extend our evening at a concert in La Cite.
Rooms were beautifully decorated but small.
Breakfast was great.
Staff were fine - there just weren't enough of them. This was supposed to be a touch of luxury but we spent quite a lot of time waiting to be served for drinks and the food we requested was not available.
The most annoying thing was that we returned from lunch out to get ready for the evening, only to find that there was absolutely no water pressure in our room (Rm.11). We contacted reception and were told we would be moved (to Rm.3) but then were told that the water pressure was the same in that room and there was nothing they could do to help. This meant that we had spent all day in the sun then had to change and go out without the "luxury" of a shower!
Naturally, we asked the staff to keep a record of our complaint for the owner when she arrived the following morning.
On checking-out, we were told that they would not be charging for the coffee we had ordered in our room that morning (because there are not even any coffee-making facilities in the room!), as compensation.......like a cup of coffee compensates for the lack of a shower before an evening out!!!
I will definitely not stay here again and have already advised my friends the same.

Room Tip: Room 12 looked like it had fabulous view of La Cite
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dawn o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews