We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“close to perfect”
Review of Hotel du Chateau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Chateau
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
guildford
1 review
“close to perfect”
Reviewed 28 March 2010

We would confirm most of the comments that other positive reviewers have made. Position, rooms, service, overall quality all top notch.

Our wonderful visit to this area was complicated by my need for urgent medical attention at 3am. The night manager Sebastian dealt with our needs absolutely brilliantly even acting as our translator. Both he and Celine continued to try and deal with our flights for us whilst we were at the hospital. Brilliant service. We can't thank them enough.

Pool was being filled. Wish we could havs stayed longer. Sue and Steve

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redstartGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    214
    95
    33
    10
See reviews for
131
506
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2010

Only had 1 night here as was flying out next day - would have liked to spend longer - superb hotel - top of the range furnishings and nice views. Stayed in a standard room i think it was €130 and had free parking. Breakfast is €10 per person and is probably worth it - continental style. Nice public areas and is next to the castle which is stunning. Highly recommend this hotel in every way

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank max29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2010

Just returned from a 3 day trip to Carcassonne. We stayed at the Hotel du Chateau on their 3 nights for 2 offer in a junior suit. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and decorated to a very high and uber modern standard. The bed (room 8) was incredibly comfy and they even had a great hair dryer in the bathroom (no need to take yours girls!). The staff were very friendly and helpful, booking us taxis and restaurant reservations and the breakfast was excellent (a really lovely fresh selection of breads, jams, cheese, yogurts, meats, juice and hot drinks for 10 euros). I wouldn't hesitate to book this hotel again! Many thanks for a brilliant stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShelE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2010

4 of us have just returned from a 2 night stay at Hotel Du Chateau. It was lovely and without staying within the walled city, you could not get any closer. Rooms were not huge but lovely, and yes there is a slight lack of storage, but it is not a big problem. The staff were extremely helpful and spoke a number of different languages. We asked for wine glasses, buckets of ice and the use of a corkscrew...all provided with a smile! No chareg for the car park and breakfast very pleasant. I would highly recommend it and would love to return.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyerKeytes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2010

We could not fault this hotel. The rooms were beautiful, the pool was lovely, breakfast on the terrace was a treat and all this within steps of the city gates. Couldn't recommend any more highly.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagoya, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2010

Before writing this review (which I'm doing sitting in the dining / lounge area of the hotel) I took time to read the other comments from guests. In most instances I can appreciate / understand their points of view and I believe the important part of any consideration you make of a review is whether you feel there is a connection / similarity between the reviewer, their wants/expectations, and your own. If you agree with their expectations, then you may appreciate their review of same.
My goal was for a warm, welcoming suite with friendly staff who smiled when I greeted them. I got this in spades! My room (number 16) was lovely and although slightly better lighting above the bathroom mirrors would aid makeup application in the morning, in all other respects it was delightful - warm, quiet, clean, well appointed etc. And yes, the bed in number 16 had a feather padding ;-). I would have appreciated coffee/tea making facilities in the room, but that's about the only thing I'd ask for.
The young women who were attending the desk and dining room each morning and afternoon are a delight. The location brilliant.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CynWorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2009

Following the advise of other travelers on Trip advisor we pick this wonderful hotel. The recently remodeled the whole place so it has the feel and style of 4/5 star hotels at a 3star price. I imagine it only recieved 3stars since it dose not have room service or bellhop service? It has secure parking and walking is distance to everything. The rooms facing Le Cite have a spetacular view as dose the sundeck and dinning area. Quiet and comfortable. I advise over the ones within the city walls, especially if you are going by car.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraveledK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
0.0 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#9 of 39 in Carcassonne
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Chateau

Property: Hotel du Chateau
Address: 2 rue Camille Saint Saens, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Chateau 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally situated, facing the towers and city walls of the medieval Cité it welcomes you at the entrance to the drawbridge. The marriage of ancient and modern offers an interesting journey between the medieval and the contemporary.The hotel is totally unique : a rare elegance and model of aestheticism, it is a constant reminder of timeless good taste and defines the art of entertaining guests.Wine tasting and enjoyment in the panoramic bar…A special space, relaxation in the sun or shade around the heated pool, opening from Pâques to Toussaint or the heated Jacuzzi opening all the year. Relaxation, pleasure and absolute refinement in our luxury SPA CARITA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Chateau Hotel
Du Chateau Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing