We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”
Review of Hotel du Chateau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Chateau
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2011

Beautiful hotel, excellent decoration, very friendly staff and excellent breakfast.
Every minute of our stay was pleasant. Very much recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ec_grs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (773)
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Chateau
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 773 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2011

From the moment when we arrived to the moment we left everything was prefect.The rooms was beautifully decorated .Our room looked out on to the chateau and at night with all the lights on it was fantasic.Comfortable beds , large and gave a wonderful nights sleep.The staff very very helpful.The breakfast was good and everything local , the only thing about the coffee was that it let the hotel down a bit as it was typical hotel coffee, weak and very thin.For the lovers of good strong coffee its a bit of a shame , but then not everyone drinks italian coffee at breakfast. Very much American style coffee .Other wise the apple juice and cheeses were very good as well as the breads .Parking was locked which helps for a good nights sleep.All in all i could do nothing but recommand this hotel

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjbaudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2010

We stayed here for 3 days as a part of our honeymoon. We took a shot in the dark after reading the trip advisor reviews. We were extremely happy with our choice!

Everything inside has a historic medieval feeling, down to the tasseled key, but the hotel is relatively new with all of the modern amenities that you could think of and more. The king sized bed was large, plush, and the sheets were very comfortable. There is a motorized privacy screen in the picture-window bathroom (which wouldn't leave too much to the imagination!). The floors and bathroom are smooth stone tiles. The doors are old fashioned. The vacuum effect does jar the doors in the downstairs hallway, but it's not too bad. It was too cold to swim, but the pool, which is detached from the hotel, is shrouded by plants. The premium rooms seemed to has their own VIP access to special hot tubs that we couldn't access! Parking was included and every room has a spot. After a somewhat stressful experience in Spain, Hotel du Chateau was a welcome place for relaxation.

The staff spoke English very well. They even humored my attempts at asking for things in my high school French. The breakfast is decent for 10 euro - but you might want to run up into the castle and grab a slice of quiche. The bar stays open pretty late too. Ask the staff for recommendations on places to eat - they can make you reservations. Every place we tried in the castle had great food!

I almost picked a location in the "new" town but after walking around there, we are glad we stayed by the castle. It was off-season, but it did not look like the new town has anything interesting to offer.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raulhopkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2010

Booked based on Trip Advisor reviews and it didn't disappoint. We booked the "Red Room", very smart and comfortable. Only basic food available (ham, cheese & bread) although we are here off-peak.

Staff are friendly and helpful. Free WiFi worked well in our room.

2 mins from the Cite walls, couldn't really ask for a better location and the navette (shuttle bus) to/from airport, station & centre runs from just outside.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenMcTBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We spent one night here in October. The staff on arrival were professional, pleasant and very well organised. The recepionist accompanied us to our room. It was quite small but in excellent condition and well appointed. I particularly appreciate the double vanities in the bathroom. Aside from the size, a high quality operation.

I guess my only complaint/comment would be that I think French hotels should go back to the practice of including breakfast in the room rate. Particularly a hotel of this calibre. They are charging top dollar for their rooms. To add a few more dollars to the room rate ( no doubt their cost for breakfast is considerably less than the exhorbitant amount that they charge if guests opt for it ) would generate all kinds of good will, would probably help them in planning breakfast service each morning and would probably be a money maker for them since some people would just have coffee and a croissant. One of my pet peeves.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boundary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

This was a beautiful relaxing place to stay, right next to the Cite and yet peaceful and
beautifully decorated. The room was gorgeous and the staff very welcoming of our 3 year old boy, despite it being quite an adult hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FahyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

Driving up to the hotel my husband and I were thrilled with what we saw - a green lawn, a stunning terrace, and a beautiful building that is literally the first structure outside of the main entrance to the Medieval Cite. The concierges were amazingly friendly and helpful to us, the pool was beautiful, and we enjoyed the 24 hour bar, situated with a perfect view of the castle lit up at night. Though there are some hotels inside the Cite, the views from outside are breathtaking, and my husband and I realized this was one of our favorite parts of our trip to Carcassone - we would not have enjoyed this had we stayed inside the Cite walls! The free parking, free Wifi, and other amenities, as well as the amazingly decorated and maintained rooms truly put this hotel at the top, beyond the perfect location! The room isn't cheap, but you don't get this much for your money in most places.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura_the_explora10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
0.0 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#9 of 39 in Carcassonne
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#8 of 39 in Carcassonne
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Chateau

Address: 2 rue Camille Saint Saens, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range: £128 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Chateau 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally situated, facing the towers and city walls of the medieval Cité it welcomes you at the entrance to the drawbridge. The marriage of ancient and modern offers an interesting journey between the medieval and the contemporary.The hotel is totally unique : a rare elegance and model of aestheticism, it is a constant reminder of timeless good taste and defines the art of entertaining guests.Wine tasting and enjoyment in the panoramic bar…A special space, relaxation in the sun or shade around the heated pool, opening from Pâques to Toussaint or the heated Jacuzzi opening all the year. Relaxation, pleasure and absolute refinement in our luxury SPA CARITA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Chateau Hotel
Du Chateau Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing