We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special about this place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Echappee Belle Chambres d'Hotes
Ranked #27 of 53 Carcassonne B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Nothing special about this place.”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Our biggest disappointment of 4 weeks staying in some fantastic accommodation, only to fall flat in Carcassonne. Average would describe our stay. The room was nothing special and although clean and fairly spacious, everything lacked the ambiance of a French getaway!
Breakfast was a disaster - baguettes that had been FROZEN and then thawed and heated up. Can you believe this? In France? Some people may like an Australian run accommodation place, but we were very disappointed.

Room Tip: Average, average, average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui11000, Owner at L'Echappee Belle Chambres d'Hotes, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our French home which is an Australian-French establishment. I am disappointed you did not voice your concerns at the time of your stay. Our croissants and bread are delivered fresh every morning, however because you were the last to breakfast all but one piece of fresh bread had been eaten.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    16
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
34
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The new owners are trying very hard to make this an enjoyable B&B, and they are succeeding. Rooms are of a good size and overlook a lovely garden. Being within the walls means that it is very quiet at night. Bathrooms all equipped with fancy showers but water pressure wasn't sufficient for the pulsating jets to do much good - but the rest of the shower was great. Hostess was especially accommodating and prepared breakfast for us on our last morning even though we were leaving at 6:30 am. It was one of those little things that makes you recommend this place. Only negative was hauling our luggage from the car park (up stairs, over cobblestones) as the B&B does not subscribe to the hotel shuttle service. It would have been worth paying a little more and getting this convenience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metaligenics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui11000, Owner at L'Echappee Belle Chambres d'Hotes, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you for your kind coments. I appreciate what you are saying about the luggage and the shuttle however the shuttle service is run by the Hotel de la Cite and Hotel Donjon (same owners), for their clients only. Unfortunately they will not offer their services to any other establsihments within the city, so it is not possible to subscribe to this service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Rooms were nothing special, but nice breakfast and friendly hostess. A bit inconvenient getting the luggage. The owner doesn't subscribe to the shuttle bus service. You have to check in first, then get the parking pass and go back to the car. But it's worth it. It's a real treat staying inside the city walls. All the other tourists leave at night and you can wander around on your own. Great fun.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulzimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui11000, Owner at L'Echappee Belle Chambres d'Hotes, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
I would just like to respond to a couple of things mentioned in this review:

Re the shuttle service - unfortunately it is not a matter of "subscribing" to the hotel shuttle service to assist clients with their luggage. The shuttle service is run by the two big hotels in La Cite, who do not offer the service to clients of other establishments.

Re the parking - If you are wishing to park in the hotel car park it is possible to obtain a parking pass at the time of entry. Some staff offer it whilst others will give it to you if you ask. Otherwise you can get one at the B&B,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 643 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Lovely French feel to this house. Splendid spacious room on first floor defined as 'comfort double', with large bed, traditional French furnishings and decor, good-sized bathroom with very modern shower, and pleasant view over garden to the Church of St Nazaire; and with much-neeeded, excellent air conditioning - we were here late-July when temperatures every day were in the mid-30s. Adequate breakfast in very pleasant room making for good cosmopolitan conversation - all guests sit together. Lovely host, Jacqui, who is kindness itself. Very quiet location on side street near the Church, inside the medieval walls, yet a haven away from the hustle and bustle of the Cité tourism. Would throughly recommend.

Room Tip: Comfort double on first floor - spacious with a great French feel and with a pleasant view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarryHaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We were only here for one night, but the owner, Jackie, was very friendly. The room was clean and comfortable, with a great view, and breakfast was very enjoyable. The location is great for sightseeing, while still being removed from the busiest parts of La Cite, and the price is well worth dragging our luggage through the cobblestone streets!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMirvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

The B&B is located within La Cité, so there's a magical feel to it. Our room was spacious, and the bathroom was surprisingly spacious. The innkeeper, Jackie, was a perfect host, going out of her way for us on more than one occasion, and her dog Lulu was delightful. Breakfast was substantial. Wifi was consistent. My wife found the mattress to be very comfortable, which is high praise. A nearby resto plays music well into the night, but we didn't find that to be annoying. The B&B is at least a 30 minute walk from the Gare, and some of it is uphill, but there is a tram or taxis are available.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
607 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I really wanted to give L'Echappee Belle a higher rating. After all, it is one of the few B&Bs located inside the walls of the medieval city of Carcassonne and is surrounded by history and facilities. The welcome (Kiwi) you receive is great, the breakfast is well up to standard for what you'd expect in a French B&B, and even the little dog is charming. But you can only rate a visit on your experience rather than the experience of others and our enjoyment was marred by the room we occupied (Nr. 4 on the ground floor). The room was too small, dark, noisy (plumbing from elsewhere plus noise from anyone who called to the door), and featured what can only be described as an add-on bathroom squeezed into one end of the room. Some will find it difficult to fit into the bathroom (maybe they can reverse into it). Once there you face the proverbial no room to swing a cat issue (not that you'd take a cat with you into a bathroom...). A very small basin is in the middle, a reasonable shower (nice rainhead) to the right, and a toilet to the left. All that you need, but tight (no room to put anything down) and not well decorated if you raise your head. So we did not enjoy our accommodation. To be balanced, our friends enjoyed their room (2) very much as it was light-filled and had a great view. So if you decide to stay at L'Echappee Belle, make sure you do not end up on the ground floor. And beware on taking too much luggage as you will have to tote it through narrow cobbled streets from the parking (go to the normal paid parking first and then relocate your car to the special "hotel guests" parking that is much closer to the B&B after you check in and get a special permit).

Room Tip: Don't select the room on the ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12Knocksinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui11000, Owner at L'Echappee Belle Chambres d'Hotes, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at L'Echappee Belle because of the room you booked. Whilst the bedroom is smaller than others in the house, it is priced accordingly and is the only room with access to the small patio in the garden. Regarding the bathroom - unfortunately this was a legacy of the previous owner and a renovation was planned. This has now been completed - new configuration, handbasin and shower - and new photos have been posted on Booking.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#9 of 39 in Carcassonne
376 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
758 reviews
0.0 mi away
Auberge des Lices
Auberge des Lices
#39 of 53 in Carcassonne
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Echappee Belle Chambres d'Hotes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Echappee Belle Chambres d'Hotes

Property: L'Echappee Belle Chambres d'Hotes
Address: 5 rue Raymond Roger Trencavel, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your L'Echappee Belle Chambres d'Hotes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Echappee Belle Chambres d`Hotes Hotel Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing