We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming stay inside walled city.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Echappee Belle Chambres d'Hotes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed for three nights in this charming B&B. We had a room overlooking the garden. It had plenty of room and a large bathroom. Breakfast was provided and although adequate, was not plentiful. I requested gluten free bread for breakfast and although provided, it did need to be heated. The hostess was Australian and it was a relief that language wasn't a problem. We did have a problem getting in the front door as it was quite tricky and by the sound of it, some other guests did to. That would be a great thing to sort out.
This was our first time in a walled city and it did prove to be an education. Although we were in a very quiet street, sound does reverberate within the walls and so for two nights we didn't get much sleep as the venues in the vicinity didn't give up until very late. The third night was a lot quieter but it is not a thing that can be controlled by the B&B. With hindsight, it would be smart to shut all the windows and put on the air cond but because the place was so charming we did leave the windows open of a night out onto the garden. The small fridge in our room didn't work either.
We did arrive by taxi so had to trek our luggage over the cobbles from outside the city walls to the accommodation. No shuttle service. Try a great tapas bar called L'Escargot.

Room Tip: There are only a handful of rooms in this B&B and the ones I saw were similar to our own. Up a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui11000, Owner at L'Echappee Belle Chambres d'Hotes, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you for your review and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.

I am sorry that you did not mention the fridge in your room was not working . I suspect you did not realise you had to turn it on using the dial inside, as it was working prior to your stay and afterwards.

I note your comments about no lift. The stairs are not difficult in comparison to those in many French houses. This is my home (built originally in the 14th Century) not an hotel, so I find it unusual that anyone would expect to find a lift here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

Inside the walled city sits this wonderful B & B. We had to keep pinching ourselves that we were staying in a typically french home in a medieval city. The room was spacious, comfortable and clean. The breakfast was fresh and delicious. What made the visit so special for us was the friendliness of the hosts, Jacqui and Jean-Louis. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt like we were part of the family. Two days weren't longer enough as we explored the old city and had a day at the markets. What a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maree T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Our biggest disappointment of 4 weeks staying in some fantastic accommodation, only to fall flat in Carcassonne. Average would describe our stay. The room was nothing special and although clean and fairly spacious, everything lacked the ambiance of a French getaway!
Breakfast was a disaster - baguettes that had been FROZEN and then thawed and heated up. Can you believe this? In France? Some people may like an Australian run accommodation place, but we were very disappointed.

Room Tip: Average, average, average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui11000, Owner at L'Echappee Belle Chambres d'Hotes, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our French home which is an Australian-French establishment. I am disappointed you did not voice your concerns at the time of your stay. Our croissants and bread are delivered fresh every morning, however because you were the last to breakfast all but one piece of fresh bread had been eaten.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The new owners are trying very hard to make this an enjoyable B&B, and they are succeeding. Rooms are of a good size and overlook a lovely garden. Being within the walls means that it is very quiet at night. Bathrooms all equipped with fancy showers but water pressure wasn't sufficient for the pulsating jets to do much good - but the rest of the shower was great. Hostess was especially accommodating and prepared breakfast for us on our last morning even though we were leaving at 6:30 am. It was one of those little things that makes you recommend this place. Only negative was hauling our luggage from the car park (up stairs, over cobblestones) as the B&B does not subscribe to the hotel shuttle service. It would have been worth paying a little more and getting this convenience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank metaligenics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui11000, Owner at L'Echappee Belle Chambres d'Hotes, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Thank you for your kind coments. I appreciate what you are saying about the luggage and the shuttle however the shuttle service is run by the Hotel de la Cite and Hotel Donjon (same owners), for their clients only. Unfortunately they will not offer their services to any other establsihments within the city, so it is not possible to subscribe to this service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Rooms were nothing special, but nice breakfast and friendly hostess. A bit inconvenient getting the luggage. The owner doesn't subscribe to the shuttle bus service. You have to check in first, then get the parking pass and go back to the car. But it's worth it. It's a real treat staying inside the city walls. All the other tourists leave at night and you can wander around on your own. Great fun.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulzimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui11000, Owner at L'Echappee Belle Chambres d'Hotes, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

I would just like to respond to a couple of things mentioned in this review:

Re the shuttle service - unfortunately it is not a matter of "subscribing" to the hotel shuttle service to assist clients with their luggage. The shuttle service is run by the two big hotels in La Cite, who do not offer the service to clients of other establishments.

Re the parking - If you are wishing to park in the hotel car park it is possible to obtain a parking pass at the time of entry. Some staff offer it whilst others will give it to you if you ask. Otherwise you can get one at the B&B,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Lovely French feel to this house. Splendid spacious room on first floor defined as 'comfort double', with large bed, traditional French furnishings and decor, good-sized bathroom with very modern shower, and pleasant view over garden to the Church of St Nazaire; and with much-neeeded, excellent air conditioning - we were here late-July when temperatures every day were in the mid-30s. Adequate breakfast in very pleasant room making for good cosmopolitan conversation - all guests sit together. Lovely host, Jacqui, who is kindness itself. Very quiet location on side street near the Church, inside the medieval walls, yet a haven away from the hustle and bustle of the Cité tourism. Would throughly recommend.

Room Tip: Comfort double on first floor - spacious with a great French feel and with a pleasant view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarryHaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We were only here for one night, but the owner, Jackie, was very friendly. The room was clean and comfortable, with a great view, and breakfast was very enjoyable. The location is great for sightseeing, while still being removed from the busiest parts of La Cite, and the price is well worth dragging our luggage through the cobblestone streets!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMirvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne Center hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
#6 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,452 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#16 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
712 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#2 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hote...
#10 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,579 reviews
2.8 mi away
B&B Dochavert
B&B Dochavert
#16 of 53 in Carcassonne Center
68 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Demeure de la Cite
La Demeure de la Cite
#30 of 53 in Carcassonne Center
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Echappee Belle Chambres d'Hotes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Echappee Belle Chambres d'Hotes

Address: 5 rue Raymond Roger Trencavel, 11000 Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne > Carcassonne Center
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne Center
Price Range: £89 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your L'Echappee Belle Chambres d'Hotes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Echappee Belle Chambres d`Hotes Hotel Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing