We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Had a wonderful time working and relaxing at...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Maison Tranquil

Magical lake house with private pool set in 3.5 acres
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Magical lake house with private pool set in 3.5 acres
Secluded private pool area 13x5m child friendly private pool with lake views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Magical lake house with private pool set in 3.5 acres
Secluded private pool area
13x5m child friendly private pool with lake views
Private gated child friendly pool area
Covered seating area with stunning lake views
Private terraces with stunning lake views
Dedicated childrens play area in the grounds
Secure private parking
Dining room with bespoke 4m oak dining table
Entrance hall with feature wood burning stove
Large open plan kitchen with wood fired pizza oven and breakfast table
Snug lounge with wood burner and UK Satellite TV
Dedicated ground floor playroom for kids
Bedroom 1 double bed with en-suite
Bedroom 2 double bed with day bed & en-suite
Bedroom 3 king bed with en-suite
Bedroom 4 with double bed and en-suite with bath
Bedroom 5 family room with twin singles, bunk beds and en-suite
Bedroom 5 family room with twin singles, bunk beds and en-suite
Bedroom 6 with super king bed and private bathroom
En-suite bathroom
Dining room log burner perfect for a winter break
Lake shot on Xmas day, perfect winter retreat
Dining table laid up for a festive winter feast
Tranquil country house with magical lake views
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
NastasiaG...
Arnhem, The Netherlands
1 review
“Had a wonderful time working and relaxing at Maison Tranquil”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in July 2018

Our group of 8 scientists working on writing up publications had a truly marvelous time at Maison Tranquil. We couldn't have imagined a better place to wake up and face a new productive day, knowing we'd be able to take a dip in the cool swimming pool during the break and enjoy seeing the Milky Way itself (no joke) in the illuminated skies at night.

The house is incredibly spacious, and you'll have no trouble finding yourself a nice little spot to relax, work or chat. You don't need to bring anything except for clothes (and food ;), because the owners - the wonderful Mark and Andrea - have made sure that the house is fully stocked on dishes, cutlery, cookware, etc., as well as linens and towels.

If you're looking for a calm and beautiful place to spend your time, we can absolutely recommend Maison Tranquil. Even the stunning photo's you see here don't do the experience justice.

Thanks a million, Mark and Andrea! We'll definitely try to come back next year!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2018
Thank you Nastasia. It really was our pleasure to have you enjoy the house for the week. A hard working group of girls that also managed to enjoy themselves and make the most of a working vacation. It would be fabulous to see you all again next year! All the best Mark & Andrea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely stunning”
Reviewed 16 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Fabulous location - the options are endless. Wineries, history, skiing, the list goes on. Mark & Andrea are the perfect hosts.....nothing is too much trouble: shopping, catering, massages. This venue is incredibly versatile - whilst we were a small party, I can imagine it being used as a venue for a group of friends, hen do, wedding....the house lends itself to a myriad of options. Love the relaxed, laid-back, can-do attitude of the hosts. Would highly recommend.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2018
Thank you for your lovely feedback. It was a pleasure to host you and your lovely family and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip H
Bronxville, New York
1 review
“All we hoped for and more....”
Reviewed 19 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

A beautifully situated home ( it's a very spacious manor house but feels very much like a home), with a pool, alongside a lake and deep in wine country. 5 couples co -existed very happily in the commodious social rooms and bedrooms. It was cool at night - with three open fires that lit and worked perfectly - and warm enough to sit outside overlooking the lake at lunchtime. Plenty of china, cutlery, kitchen equipment, glasses - and wood. We shall return in the summer as well to use the pool, BBQ and walks and lake.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2018
Many thanks for taking the time to post your experiences at Maison Tranquil. It was a pleasure to host you and look forward to seeing you and your family in the summer! Mark & Andrea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathykins...
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful space in a beautiful setting to enjoy with family & friends”
Reviewed 28 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

What a wonderful place to stay and get away from it all. I can't recommend this place highly enough for large groups or families.
The views from the house across the lake are magical - the house is so aptly named as it's in such a tranquil spot, surrounded by trees and farmland.
The weather was stunning so the children enjoyed the private pool whilst we relaxed on sun loungers. With such a large home-from-home house and extensive grounds there was space for our large group to create wonderful family memories, but also get away to find peace and tranquility alone.
The house is so well equipped and has been renovated by Mark and Andrea with love and attention so it feels really homely. I particularly loved the huge handcrafted wood dining table where we enjoyed many family meals, and the private pool.
The hosts couldn't have done more to make us feel at home - we even enjoyed a massage from the very talented Andrea to really help us relax into our holiday.
What's more, the house is only half an hour from the historic city of Carcassone and surrounded by great places to cycle and walk from the door.
Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2017
Thank you for your feedback. It was fantastic meeting you all, and it's lovely to hear that you and your family had such an enjoyable time both at the house and together as a family. Safe trip home and look forward to welcoming you all again soon. Mark & Andrea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin K
1 review
“Stunning home in a spectacular location”
Reviewed 28 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We came and stayed over October half term. The house is fantastic. Well equipped and tastefully furnished. Both myself and my wife took advantage of a massage which we pre booked with the hosts. Our children loved the lake, the play area and the lake. I enjoyed many off road runs in the surrounding beautiful countryside. Great internet access. “Maison Tranquil” certainly lived up to its.name.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2017
Thank you for your feedback. We are extremely happy you had such a relaxing week at Maison Tranquil. Look forward to seeing you all again soon. Mark & Andrea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Idyllic location in gently rolling countryside with great views”
Reviewed 5 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Manson Tranquil certainly lives up to its name, set in beautiful rolling countryside overlooking the lake it is an ideal location to explore the delights of Mirepoix and nearby Carcassonne. Well equipped, with comfortable bedrooms and excellent large lounge, dining room and kitchen, this house comfortably accommodated six couples. Mark and Andrea are helpful hosts who gave us plenty of advice on how to make the most of our stay. A visit to winemakers Domaine Gayda, was an excellent recommendation, where an outstanding wine tasting was followed by a delicious lunch.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2017
Many thanks for your feedback. We are very happy you and your lovely friends had such a good week. Look forward to seeing you all again soon. Mark & Andrea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa O
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 19 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Fabulous holiday Andrea and Mark are amazing hosts - they had even done a shop for us which we had given a list of requirements before we arrived - we were collected from the airport - the gite is gorgeous with wonderful homely touches all around. The views across the lake are idyllic, lots of vineyards to visit, on our hosts recommendation we visited the village of Mirepoix and fell in love with it. We all loved the pool and table tennis, lovely outdoor cooking and eating areas. Carcasonne is lovely and the beach is only an hour away. Would love to come back in the winter and light the big wood burners I bets it's super cosy! Highly recommended - well done x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2017
Thank you Lisa. You certainly seemed to have a wonderful week with your lovely family. Look forward to seeing you for a winter retreat :) Mark & Andrea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing