We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Little Gem!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bedroom has a view towards the Canal
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bedroom has a view towards the Canal
Canal side terraces - 50m from the cottage The cottage at Millepetit
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Bedroom has a view towards the Canal
Canal side terraces - 50m from the cottage
The cottage at Millepetit
The Cottage looking towards the 12C tower
The 'Cooks' kitchen...
The lounge leads onto the private courtyard
Millepetit Chateau and 12C tower
The bathroom with extra large shower
Private courtyard dining with gas BBQ
Our little bridge leads onto the canal path
Herb garden from across the canal
Canal side walks
Cité de Carcassonne - 12 kms away
Trèbes - 40 min walk away...
The triple lock at Trèbes
Produce from Millepetit's market gardener
Passing traffic!
On the cycle path towards Trèbes and Carcassonne
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
JimmyCric...
Staffs
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect Little Gem!”
Reviewed 11 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This is a lovely cottage with everything that you could possibly need for a short break or longer holiday. It is extremely well laid out and very neat and clean. The welcome bottle of Rose wine in the fridge along with a bottle of milk was a lovely touch. There is a great information pack with lots of suggestions for days out, places to see and places to eat and drink.

The location right next to the canal on the site of two working farms is stunning and the walk or cycle ride along the tow path into Trebes is very pleasant.

The cottage is in a row which was originally the old stable block for the Chateau next door and you really get a sense of experiencing rural French life here.

Dave and Heather could not have been better hosts, even with having their own family visiting during our stay, they still found time to sit and chat and help us with our shopping - thank you Dave!

We had exceptionally hot weather whilst we were there and the little courtyard at the back of the cottage off the lounge was a lovely, private place to sit in the evening with a glass of wine.

Will hopefully be back very soon and for longer next time!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor C
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“French farm gite”
Reviewed 11 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The gite was as described by Heather & Dave. It was comfortable, clean and well equipped. Heather & Dave were most helpful in their tips for trips in the area and generally did all they could to ensure that we had a great holiday, which we did. We found having a car invaluable as the location is 2 miles from the nearest town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2017
Thanks Trevor and Liz - it was a pleasure to have you here at Millepetit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moisy2013
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Didn't want to leave”
Reviewed 29 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The whole experience ,from start to finish was a delight. The cottage was as described, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The wifi signal was excellent. The hamlet itself was a genuine mix of holidaymakers and working farmers with grape and olive growing the two main activities, as we were there during the wine harvest there was a little, infrequent noise from the passing machinery , but this just made it more interesting. It was an excellent base for touring the area from Carcassonne to Beziers and much in between. Heather and Dave were the ideal hosts, entertaining, helpful and informative but without ever being intrusive. They also run a successful cookery school there with no shortage of clients and having sampled their cooking, I can see why.
Being just a few steps from the Canal du Midi was a real luxury for walking or cycling along the towpath or sitting with a cold beer (or two) and waving to people on the passing boats. The triple locks on the canal at Trebes were fascinating to watch. The road down to Millepetit is a tad bumpy but it does ensure that nobody drives too quickly but it is so worth he effort when you get there. It was one of the best holidays we have had and will certainly be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location the hosts, the cottage, everything!
Liked least: Having to leave at the end
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2016
Thank you Moira & Graham for your review - it was a real pleasure to meet you - fellow Aussies are a treat for us! You guys really made the most of the region with your daily trips from Millepetit - just what we recommend!!! Dave & Heather
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAM201520...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“cottage by the Canal du Midi”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a very happy holiday at Millepetit. David and Heather made us very welcome and were unobtrusive, but helpful hosts. We made good use of the folder they had prepared with excellent tips for places to go and things to see.
The cottage was spotlessly clean and is well equipped. We loved its proximity to the canal, which is a peaceful, calm place to walk. The little courtyard garden is very private and relaxing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Local information, shower, kitchen, private garden, warm welcome
Liked least: Settee in lounge isn't very comfortable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2016
Thank you Wendy and Drew - we are so pleased that you enjoyed our cottage and your time at Millepetit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilharzia...
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“Peaceful, but also very entertaining as you see the 'real' France”
Reviewed 15 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I stayed in Dave's and Heather's cottage for five days, and it is spotless, comfortable and well appointed. Every day I did long walks along the Canal, and every day I saw some very interesting aspect of rural France - including all sorts of characters....
Dave and Heather were delightful hosts, yet unobtrusive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, and my hosts
Liked least: I would have loved a coffee machine, but that is a very minor gripe!
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark10002...
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“millepetit”
Reviewed 7 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had a great time here, and will definitely be back soon. The canal is lovely and the whole experience was very relaxing.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda C
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
“A delightful stay in an idyllic part of France”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Enjoyed our 5 night stay in David & Heather's cottage by the Canal du Midi. The cottage itself was spotlessly clean and well equipped. It had a lovely peaceful terrace leading from the lounge on the first floor where you can sit and relax or, if you prefer, you can sit by the canal side watching the boats go by. David and Heather proved to be most helpful with advice and tips on the area. One of our favourite recommended "day trips" was to Lagrasse and Ribaute. Another "high-spot" was the excellent evening meal by the canal side on the day of our arrival, which was cooked and served by Heather and David, and accompanied by a fine Rose wine. This made a very relaxing start to our stay. All in all a great time and hopefully we will return one day.

How easy was it to book the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing