We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maison sans Frontiere
Reviewed 10 February 2013

The maison is fine and clean. The owner is very warm , I arrived late and alone and her welcome was very friendly, she helped me with every thing , I don´t speak french and she doesn´t speak spaniah, but we can comunicate in english . I even gave her a silver mexican necklace as a souvenier. !And Carcassonne was a fairy tale experience ! i would love to come back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pameni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank elaine g
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 October 2012

A big disappointment from the start. Male host very unwelcoming on our arrival. Made to feel we were unexpected. No airport shuttle as advertised, just told to get a bus as it was cheap. Our room was the top floor and felt very old fashioned, cramped and dusty. Kept hitting my head as ceilings so low. I am sure this would suit a family on a budget but I would more than happily pay twice as much to stay elsewhere. After reading all the reviews on this B and B we were sold on the levels of customer service and the hosts charm. Well this was non existent. We didn't even see the female host. Breakfast was 1 croissant and a hard bit of bread and the previous guests unused milk. We did not try any of the jams as did not fancy a brown tomato paste on our croissants. On our departure there was no 'thank you for staying' or 'safe journey', just directions to the bus stop. Sadly the host alone tainted our stay in Carcassonne which was a great shame. We stayed out as long as possible so we didn't have to spend any longer in the rooms. For the price we paid, we wished we had spent another £50 to stay in a much better hotel with actual customer service. But instead were made to feel as unwelcome guests in a strangers house.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Juliette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Stayed at this guest house for a night in June. It is in a great location (walkable from the train station) and the hosts were really nice and very helpful. The room was decorated with African art objects and very home-like. The bathroom was large. The room was comfortable and the breakfast good (homemade jams and jellies). We could walk to the medieval city and also explore the "newer" part of Carcassonne. The pedestrian street is very close for people who like to window shop or really shop. Our hostess drove us to the airport when we left and that was so nice - not having to struggle with making arrangements. I would highly recommend this to anyone on a budget as the price was very good.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kardex2dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Since the first moment you'll feel like @ home. You will also feel they've put a piece of heart in the uniquely decorated room which was comfortable and clean. Every room has got a different ambiance and decoration. We were occupying the African one. The location is great, perfectly located, between the citadelle and the main train station... The way to the citadelle is really nice: The Art Museum with an interesting collection and the amazing citadelle and old bridge view from one of the bridges qare on the way. The brekfast is very good also (it included tasty assorted homemade jellies!).

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikivoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Murielle? and her husband were gracious hosts, they truly live the world without borders theme of their B&B, interesting to talk to. Rooms uniquely decoratated. Bathroom was much larger than average European. Good location within easy walking distance of walled city, do walk to the bridge and view it lit up at night.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wberg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Marlene and her daughter were both charming and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable with African themed memorabelia. Although in heart of the city the room was still spacious. Tea/coffee making facility. Good shower. Breakfast was good. Outsanding value for accommodation in the heart of Carcassonne. My daughter and I were easily able to walk up to the old town from here and equally good access to the Canal du Midi.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne Center hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - M...
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,634 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hote...
#10 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,589 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel l'Etoile
Hotel l'Etoile
#28 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Pont Vieux
Hotel du Pont Vieux
#2 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
520 reviews
1.6 mi away
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La C...
#7 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,036 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison sans Frontiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison sans Frontiere

Address: 19 rue du Palais, 11000 Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne > Carcassonne Center
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne Center
Price Range: £56 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison sans Frontiere 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Maison sans Frontiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing