We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maison sans Frontiere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maison sans Frontiere
Ranked #35 of 58 Carcassonne B&B and Inns
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location, great value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

Maison Sans Frontiere is ideally situated between the medieval city and the lower town - both are only about 10-15 minutes walk away. The rooms are small but comfortable, and definitely on the quirky side, with bags of character. We stayed in Rio which wasn't en-suite but we had a bathroom next door all to ourselves which was great. I wouldn't recommend this hotel if you want luxury and sparkling new fittings everywhere, but I enjoyed the laid-back, friendly atmosphere. Unlike some of the other reviewers, I slept like a log all night (possibly from the amount of walking we had done during the day) and was never disturbed by any noise from the street. Marlene and her husband were very friendly - they recommended us restaurants and booked us tables, they sat and had a glass of wine with us on our last night and they even drove us back to the airport on our last morning. If you're looking for a bargain and you don't mind somewhere a little more laid-back and eclectic, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ismililith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    41
    4
    6
    0
See reviews for
13
60
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2010

If you want to visit Carcassonne and feel as if you are staying with a French family, then this is the place for you. The location is excellent - it is only 10-15 minutes walk from the medieval Cite and the new town. It is not a top quality hotel - if you want a 4 or 5 star room then this isn't for you, but if you want clean, comfortable rooms in a friendly environment without breaking the bank, then this is perfect. Breakfast was lovely - continental style with cereal, yoghurt, fresh breads & pastries and lots of wonderful home-made jams. And we had full use of the kitchen and living area - their motto is "make youself at home" and we did just that. Marlene was also more than happy to recommend restaurants and book them for us, and we even got a lift back to the airport.

For the ladies, there is also the bonus of it being right next to the barracks for the 3rd Para regiment of the Marines - is there a better sight in the morning than opening your curtains to see lots of handsome young men out for their morning run. Certainly made my day!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillymp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

Promised ourselves we would return to Carcassonne and we did. We stayed with Marlene & Michel and were delighted we did. The premises continues to be upgraded and has a most welcome feel to it. The location is perfect, but the thing that does it for me is the genuine welcome from decent french hosts who are completely at ease with their guests. We will return to carcassonne again and will have no hesitation in staying in this superb hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happyaslarryIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2010

The hotel is situated between the old and new cities. A 20 minute walk gets you to the beautiful old city across a bridge to the rear of the hotel. Alternatively it is only15 minutes the other way to the newer city and the midi canal. The rooms are coloufully decorated, clean and spacious, they are also en suite. The owners are helpful and friendly, you have use of the courtyard and covered area at the rear of the property. You can use the fridge in the kitchen and you are allowed to bring your own refreshments and food if you wish to eat outside. Tea and coffee facilities are provided, but be awarethat they are sparse and we brought our own to accomadate our own tastes. This minor issue should not detract from the good value, convenient, clean and friendlyness of the owners. It does not have the feel of only a 2 star plus.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bearbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

If you want 5 star luxury, and a hotel chain feel, do not stop here!
If however you want a more personalised stay, where the owners sit and talk to you over breakfast, where you feel you are sharing the owners home, and their life (each room is themed around the family and their locations in the world) then this could be the place for you.
There have been comments by other users about no doors to the ensuite, yeah OK the 2 rooms we had didn't have them, but so what, it added to the charm., LOL, and hey I'm married so there was no issue, but I can understand if it was just friends travelling together and they wanted a bit more privacy (There are curtains).
It is walking distance to both the old and new towns, with no great difficulty for us.
I like nice hotels, I like staying in 4 and 5 star hotels, but I enjoyed my 2 nights here, as did my children. We left with a "warm feeling" from here however, and would recommend it to others.
We were given the password for the free WIFI, but i couldn't get it to work, but it was no real issue, and never brought it up with the owners.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2010

very enjoyable place. I stayed in the Venice room, very clean and lovely. Breakfast was good with plenty of homemade jams. Great location and nice area.I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ducecile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
208 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

Marlene and her husband were wonderful in their hospitalty. They made their homes ours and were wonderful in their help in exploring the area and information about restauarants and historical places to visit. Though a little on the 'bijou' the rooms are adequate , clean and breakfast enough to kickstart your day, Ideally situated for La Cite, dont let the moaners put you off. I would return if this way again and hope there are vacancies. Can recommend the whole area for walks, driving visits the history of the Cathars abounds and so does that of the vineyards which surround the city. Le Cite is a must including some of the very good restuarants including Restaurant St Jean in Place St Jean. Excellent fixed price menus for all tastes. Will return without a doubt.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tourman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#31 of 39 in Carcassonne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Au Royal Hotel
Au Royal Hotel
#36 of 39 in Carcassonne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
Hotel des Trois Couronnes
#11 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#22 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Bastide
Hotel de la Bastide
#21 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Jardin Du Palais
Le Jardin Du Palais
#29 of 58 in Carcassonne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison sans Frontiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison sans Frontiere

Property: Maison sans Frontiere
Address: 19 rue du Palais, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison sans Frontiere 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Maison sans Frontiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing