We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Fantastic Apartment”
other travellers have booked this property
The perfect space to explore this beautiful city & region, or the perfect hideaway to recharge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The perfect space to explore this beautiful city & region, or the perfect hideaway to recharge
Extremely comfortable Kingsized bed with 400 thread count luxurious bedding Wake up & smell the coffee... Nespresso machine & milk aerator
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
The perfect space to explore this beautiful city & region, or the perfect hideaway to recharge
Extremely comfortable Kingsized bed with 400 thread count luxurious bedding
Wake up & smell the coffee... Nespresso machine & milk aerator
Beautiful high ceilings with original plasterwork, enhanced by cool soothing heritage colour scheme
Original features with modern conveniences
Play your IOS devices on the 42' Sony Bravia smart TV via the Apple TV fitted
Bosch combination convection oven/microwave & fridge with integrated icebox
Discreet 'hidden' kitchen, with dishwasher, induction hob, extractor fan, kettle & toaster
Attention to detail throughout
Old & new together in perfect harmony
Peel away those stresses & enjoy this beautiful space
Carefully considered furnisher/furnishings to compliment the wonderful space
Beautiful craftsmanship of stunning fireplace
Fantastic wet room with huge power shower, demisting LED mirror and Villeroy & Bosch bathware
After an invigorating shower dry off with 650 gsm towels heated on the Chrome towel rail
Pamper yourself with Molton Brown Soap, Shampoo & shower gel
Snuggle up warm after a wonderful shower
Dressing area off the bathroom, with lit magnifying mirror, full length dressing mirror & hairdryer
Courtyard garden, an Oasis in the centre of town
Why not forget about everything & enjoy an apéritif in the private enclosed courtyard?
So many fine features retained in this immaculate, characterful ground floor apartment
Private, secure street access into this marble mosaic & leaded stained glass oasis
Every care & attention to detail was considered in conserving this listed & protected building
Explore one of the many locks along the Canal du Midi
Enjoying an apéritif, on a stroll along the Canal du Midi
The fountain at Place Carnot evening time, enjoy the atmosphere in one of the many cafés/bars
Carcassonne Plage, only 5 kms. from the apartment, open late spring until end of September
The truly spectacular fireworks over 'la cité', Bastille day, 14 July, not to be missed!
Rennes le Château, well worth a visit, follow the mysteries of the Da Vinci code & Labyrinth!
The Devil at the church in Rennes le Château, only adds to the mysteries of this wonderful place!
Beautiful Carcassonne, when are you coming?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
peterhamp...
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic Apartment”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Having read such fantastic reviews on Suite Voltaire we booked a stay of 5 nights for our trip to Carcassonne. The suite is absolutely excellent and I endorse all the previous very positive reviews. The owner, John, was an absolute delight to deal with and as many others have said he goes out of his way to make you feel so welcome and give you helpful suggestions to make sure that you have the best possible time in Carcassonne.
The way John works is quite simply a masterclass in how to run such a business, from the very beginning with helpful emails, to meeting and greeting, and to ensure that you are comfortable and relaxed. The complimentary bottle of fizzy is a lovely gesture and we thoroughly enjoyed drinking it in the courtyard.
As for the apartment, it is as good as it is described on John's website and by previous guests. When we next return to Carcassonne this will be our first choice to stay at, just hope it's available!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2016
Hi Peter & Katie, It's so great to read how much you enjoyed your stay at Suite Voltaire.

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review, I'm glad all the extra touches at the apartment were appreciated.

It would be my pleasure to extend the same welcome again, when you decide to return to Carcassonne.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Best regards,

John O'Hara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRISTINA...
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The most lovely place in Carcassone”
Reviewed 29 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I spent two nights in Suite Voltarie, it was short time but probably 1 week will be short too because it's the most lovely place we have ever been. Every single detail has been thought to give you exclusivity, comfort and relaxation. When you enter in the apartment, you wish you could stay for ever.
Obviously if we come back to Carcassone we will book Suite Voltaire.
The best rate for John who help us from the beggining to make our stay confortable and easy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Con mi pareja
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write this review Cristina, it was a pleasure to be able to accommodate Miguel & yourself, as you said, it was a pity it was so short.

I hope in the near future, should you return to Carcassonne I have the opportunity to welcome you for a longer stay at beautiful Suite Voltaire.

See you soon!

John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhondaM31...
Wodonga, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quality, comfort, style & position!”
Reviewed 16 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This self contained studio apartment has it all. It's spacious and comfortable and well positioned close to restaurants, cafes, shops & only a short walk to the train station. We booked 10 nights and extended to 12. There is everything you need & John the host provides all those little extra's that make you smile. We will definitely return to Carcassonne & re-book Suite Voltaire.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2015
Hello Rhonda, It was a pleasure to host you in Carcassonne.

I am so glad you enjoyed Suite Voltaire & are considering a return, it would be great to welcome you and Gary back.

Again thank you so much for staying with us.

John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mimzyCypr...
cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect....simlpy perfect”
Reviewed 26 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

What can I say, apart from I'm ridiculously hard to please and a total nit picker if the hotel/apartment/restaurant doesn't live up to photos, reviews etc.
John is an amazing host, from the emails prior to your arrival, checking your flight times, advising he will be waiting for you, insider tips for restaurants, bars even somewhere my husband could watch the Rugby WC Semi finals! Lovely touch's, the carafe of wine from the vineyard in his local village, water and milk in the fridge.
Apartment itself is truly beautiful, I really wanted to become a squatter! Molton Brown toiletries, Nespresso machine, Apple TV.....I definitely need lessons.
The courtyard is perfect for a glass of wine as the sun goes down.
I can't recommend Suite Voltaire highly enough, go explore the cite, enjoy a vin rouge in Place Carnot and then wander home to absolote perfection.
Thank you John

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Eveything!
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2015
Hello Traci,

Thank you so much for your lovely review, I'm glad you enjoyed the apartment so much, it was a pleasure to welcome Tim & yourself to Carcassonne, just a pity you couldn't stay longer. Hopefully if you return to the beautiful region again, I will be able to provide the service once more you loved.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay at Suite Voltaire

John O'Hara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
556HandMe
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely studio apartment with all necessities, plus more”
Reviewed 10 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

John, the owner of this property, made our recent stay one to remember. From our first email contact when he responded quickly to our inquiry (despite the time difference) to meeting us after our long flight from Australia and then seeing us off at the train station, it was a delight dealing with him and we could not have asked for more.

We love the apartment - it’s in a great location with an easy walk to the train station (down a pedestrian walkway) in one direction and the medieval city in another - and it is fitted out beautifully. Everything is such high quality that we felt as if we were staying at a 5* hotel and not a vacation rental apartment. The kitchenette has everything we needed to put together a lovely meal using fresh produce from the local market and it was great to be able to live like a local (if only for two weeks). The bathroom is gorgeous with an exceptional shower to wash away the weariness from sightseeing and we found the heated towel rail useful to dry some hand-washing. With the shutters closed, the apartment is quiet and with the restful colours and a comfortable bed, each morning we awoke feeling rested and ready to explore and experience the local sights and flavours of the region.

We loved Carcassonne and no doubt this was largely in part to the owner's helpfulness and generosity. He gave us very useful recommendations for great restaurants, wine bars and food stores. The medieval city is an amazing sight but it is very touristy and we much preferred staying outside La Cite. We loved the Canal du Midi and spent a number of afternoons sitting on its banks enjoying the sunshine and watching the barges go by. Carcassonne is on a direct train line to Paris and it was a good base to visit other towns such as Toulouse and Narbonne.

If the opportunity arises, we will definitely stay at Suite Voltaire again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2015
Hi Jennifer & Herb,

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review for Suite Voltaire, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay so much, it really was a pleasure to welcome you to Carcassonne give you tips on enjoying this fantastic space & region. I truly hope I get the opportunity meet you again.

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Suite Voltaire

~ John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caireann2...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wish I was back there now!”
Reviewed 16 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had the chance to visit the beautiful Carcassonne in March this year for a wedding with a group of friends, who were staying in different places around the centre of the town - all of which the owner of Suite Voltaire, John very kindly organised for us! This meant we were all close together & right in the middle of town. Suite Voltaire is just beautiful - it's a large studio / boutique apartment very tastefully and recently decorated, with great quality furniture & everything you'd need for a real treat of a stay, but is also very central to everything - amazing restaurants, cafés & bars in the main square. The shower / wet room is pure luxury & couldn't believe there was even Apple TV! It's also within a few minutes walk of La Cité - the gorgeous walled castle / medieval city, which is packed with an endless choice of restaurants & gift shops & an amazing Cathedral with stunning stain glass windows. John, the owner was very helpful & recommended great places to eat / drink / visit. The only downside is that we didn't stay longer - definitely planning a return trip. Spring in Carcassonne is very special, made all the more special by the great accommodation & host!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The way the space in the apartment has been used to make it feel very airy & spacious
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, I was so glad to read how much you enjoyed your stay at Suite Voltaire and was happy to be an assistance in sourcing accommodation for your friends, hope to see you again when you return to Carcassonne.

John, Suite Voltaire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing