We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful experience from start to finish”
other travellers have booked this property
The perfect space to explore this beautiful city & region, or the perfect hideaway to recharge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The perfect space to explore this beautiful city & region, or the perfect hideaway to recharge
Extremely comfortable Kingsized bed with 400 thread count luxurious bedding Wake up & smell the coffee... Nespresso machine & milk aerator
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
The perfect space to explore this beautiful city & region, or the perfect hideaway to recharge
Extremely comfortable Kingsized bed with 400 thread count luxurious bedding
Wake up & smell the coffee... Nespresso machine & milk aerator
Beautiful high ceilings with original plasterwork, enhanced by cool soothing heritage colour scheme
Original features with modern conveniences
Play your IOS devices on the 42' Sony Bravia smart TV via the Apple TV fitted
Bosch combination convection oven/microwave & fridge with integrated icebox
Discreet 'hidden' kitchen, with dishwasher, induction hob, extractor fan, kettle & toaster
Attention to detail throughout
Old & new together in perfect harmony
Peel away those stresses & enjoy this beautiful space
Carefully considered furnisher/furnishings to compliment the wonderful space
Beautiful craftsmanship of stunning fireplace
Fantastic wet room with huge power shower, demisting LED mirror and Villeroy & Bosch bathware
After an invigorating shower dry off with 650 gsm towels heated on the Chrome towel rail
Pamper yourself with Molton Brown Soap, Shampoo & shower gel
Snuggle up warm after a wonderful shower
Dressing area off the bathroom, with lit magnifying mirror, full length dressing mirror & hairdryer
Courtyard garden, an Oasis in the centre of town
Why not forget about everything & enjoy an apéritif in the private enclosed courtyard?
So many fine features retained in this immaculate, characterful ground floor apartment
Private, secure street access into this marble mosaic & leaded stained glass oasis
Every care & attention to detail was considered in conserving this listed & protected building
Explore one of the many locks along the Canal du Midi
Enjoying an apéritif, on a stroll along the Canal du Midi
The fountain at Place Carnot evening time, enjoy the atmosphere in one of the many cafés/bars
Carcassonne Plage, only 5 kms. from the apartment, open late spring until end of September
The truly spectacular fireworks over 'la cité', Bastille day, 14 July, not to be missed!
Rennes le Château, well worth a visit, follow the mysteries of the Da Vinci code & Labyrinth!
The Devil at the church in Rennes le Château, only adds to the mysteries of this wonderful place!
Beautiful Carcassonne, when are you coming?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tillytr0t...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience from start to finish”
Reviewed 23 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

The service we received from John was exceptional, most helpful and nothing was too much trouble. This is a rare example of how a successful business can be run.
The locality of the property is quite central in the town and certainly within walking distance of the Cite. It's accessibility to and from the airport is straight forward by using the shuttle bus. However, John very kindly offered to take us to the airport so as to keep our wait after check in to a minimum.
The accommodation is just as the photographs describe and much more....We have a rule that we would never stay in anything less than we have at home, this is on a par and more so. The attention to detail, design, comfort and cleanliness are truly outstanding.
We were met at Suite Voltaire by John,. He greeted us with details of using all things electrical and shared his wealth of knowledge of the locality and all it has to offer, shops, restaurants, bars and the weekly market.
Little touches such as local wine, milk tea and coffee are generous and most appreciated.
Should you choose to stay at Suite Voltaire you will definitely not be disappointed we promise you that!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Absolutely nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2016
Hello Liz,

Thank you so much for your kind review, it was a pleasure to host you & Ray.
I'm glad you loved the apartment so much and the considered extras, I know time off is precious, so I try to make everyones stay special.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to post your views.

John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane C
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Suite Voltaire was everything we could have wished for and more.”
Reviewed 22 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We are recently back from a five day stay in Carcassone and we were so lucky to choose Suite Voltaire. We could not fault anything - the bathroom is an absolute gem, on top of this John is such a lovely guy.The whole package was wonderful. It was great to be in the heart of the bastide, eating out was a pleasure - Cafe de la Comedie, Brasserie a 4 Temps and Le Longchamps. We thoroughly enjoyed exploring the surrounding area, having some memorable drives with stunning views.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2016
Hi Jo.;

Thank you so much for your review, I am so glad to hear that you & Pete enjoyed your stay at Suite Voltaire.

Thank you once again for choosing us for you stay in this wonderful area.

John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronicas...
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfection! Already booked for next year!”
Reviewed 17 November 2016 for a stay in June 2016

A perfect slice of heaven! Carcassonne is a wonderful historic city with a beautiful castle and a bustling city square...perfect for a long city break. This apartment is situated just off the square, but feels so boutique, you could be in Paris! Wonderful open plan ground floor accommodation, fantastic amenities{hidden behind doors if like me you HATE looking at a kitchen when you're relaxing}. Beautifully calm and tastefully decorated, a real oasis for spending quality time.
The landlord John, is incredibly helpful, and also leaves a lovely welcoming surprise, and you can tell, its his dedication and attention to detail, that made us decide to return again so promptly. A truly wonderful experience!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2016
Mrs. Simpson, thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review, it is always great to hear how much the guests love the apartment & appreciate the little 'extras'.

Looking forward to welcoming you again next year!

John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tess H
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A luxury central rental, with every mod con. Quiet and peaceful.”
Reviewed 16 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

From the moment we booked with the host, we had 5 star service all the way.

The suite is luxurious, furnishing modern, stylish and comfortable. The pint of milk and bottled water provided was such a lovely touch. Centrally located, its really easy to use as a base. The local food market was minutes away, and should not be missed.

From providing local info, advising on local places to eat (one of the party is veggie) and some insider info, we were made to feel very welcome by the host.

Highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2016
Hello Tess,

It's great to read how much you enjoyed your stay at Suite Voltaire, yes we also love the convenience of the location, it was a pleasure to host you both.

John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schuss1
Oshawa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cozy retreat but close to everything!”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Suite Voltaire was everything we wanted and needed for our 4 day stay in Carcassonne. We were a 20 minute walk from the gates of Le Cite (Narbonne Gate). The central shopping street was steps away (rue Coutejaire/Clemenceau) and Place Carnot ( market, boulangerie, fromagerie, Carrefour grocery store) was just a couple of minutes walk. John was an excellent host. He answered our email questions promptly and he provided excellent information about what to do and where to find things ( by email and in person when he met us upon arrival). The studio apartment is not massive but makes excellent use of space and was more than large enough to meet the needs of my wife and I. We enjoyed evening cocktails in the peaceful courtyard and "dined in" a couple of nights due to the proximity of good produce and the excellent kitchen facilities. The facilities in the apartment have all been updated. The bathroom, kitchen and living space ( complete with large screen tv equipped with Apple TV) were all fantastic. We could not have been more pleased with the accommodations or our host. Suite Voltaire is a great place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The dining room chairs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
Hello Howard & Elaine, thank you for taking the time to write your review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay so much at Suite Voltaire.

It was my pleasure to host, I hope you enjoy the rest of your trip around France!

John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BredaHon
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely Apartment, Perfect Location, Great Host”
Reviewed 27 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Apartment is beautifully decorated with all the amenities needed for a relaxing stay in Carcassone. John could not have been kinder to us, very patient with our much delayed arrival time! Lovely bathroom, very comfortable bed, whole apartment was spotlessly clean. Perfect location for walking to the Cité, Canal du Midi and adjacent to Place Carnot with lots of cafes and restaurants. Would definitely stay again if in the Carcassone area. Book this apartment, you won't be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing atmosphere and decor
Liked least: Absolutely nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2016
Breda, Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review, it great to read how much John & yourself enjoyed your stay at Suite Voltaire, it was my pleasure to host you both & hopefully get the chance to do so again.

John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuzyL76
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Highly recommend... ”
Reviewed 26 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We recently visited Carcassonne and planned to be 'sight seeing' most of the day so ideally we were just looking for a clean and tidy base to sleep. In relation to the price that is exactly what we thought we had booked with John..... but it was so much more.

John has created a fantastic space with lots of generous little touches that you don't expect. Very central and exceptional value for money!

Although modern the apartment also has a huge feel for the part of France you are visiting. J'adore

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2016
Hello Susan & Peter,

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at Suite Voltaire and great to read how much you appreciated the design that went into creating the space and the extra touches to make the stay even more enjoyable.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I really do appreciate the feed back.

Hope see you again sometime soon in Carcassonne.

John, Suite Voltaire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing