We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I felt right at home”
other travellers have booked this property
Pool view with slide for children
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool view with slide for children
Back of house view on pool and terrace Entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Pool view with slide for children
Back of house view on pool and terrace
Entrance
Side of the house
Covered terrace and built-in BBQ
Side of the house
Quiet personal moment in the shade
View on the vineyards
View from vineyard to the house
Master Double bedroom 160x200, with built-in wardrobe
Double bedroom 180x200 with 2 mattresses and built-in wardrobe
Bedroom with double bed
Bedroom set up with twin beds
New bathroom with walk-in Grohe shower
New bathroom with 2 sinks and walk-in Grohe shower and free aminities
View from kitvhen to dining table
View on Carcassonne castle La Cité
Front side of La Cité
La Cité at night
Castle view from Carcassonne
Fireworks 14th July
Weekly market Carcassonne, Place Carnot
Shopping in Carcassonne
O2 - Adventure-climbing park near Lac de la Cavayere. Carcassonne
Rafting close to the Pyrénées
Château Peyrepertuse
Canal du Midi
Living room with seating for 6 people
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Jordi B
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
“I felt right at home”
Reviewed 22 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We enjoyed our stay in Carcassonne, thanks to the exquisite attention we received from the owners of the house. The house is perfectly decorated and lacks any detail. For sure, we will visit in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2016
dear Jordi,

thank you for your great comments and it was a pleasure looking after you and your friends. We will save the bikes and the pool for the next visit !! :-)

BJ and Iris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoDamh...
Woking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay in an excellent accomodation”
Reviewed 27 December 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week and it wasn't enough! This is an extraordinary well equipped gite in the South West of France. The pool is a really welcome aspect too. With a music system which played outdoors we could relax in the sun around the pool listening to our favourite music. such a laid back part of the holiday. There were also activities in the locality such as the local castle, an absolute must, and the tree top adventure which was lots of fun but quite challenging. Bikes are complimentary so we were able to trips out on these. We are out in Cazhilac once but can't remember the name of the restaurant, it was however delicious. Other times we simply popped some things on the BBQ as it was so relaxing. We managed to get to the beach at Gruissan Plague near Narbonne. It was a beautiful long sandy beach. Quite busy but space for all. Definitely worth a visit. With so much to do and such a relaxing atmosphere we will definitely be going back! Thank you so much BJ and Iris for such a great holiday :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hospitality, the pool, the gite, the activities
Liked least: Could not think of a single negative
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Dec 2015
Dear Marco and family,
Thank you for the great comments and we hope to see you again with the whole family to explore more in Carcassonne and the Region.
Happy New Year and all the best for 2016

BJ and Iris Schreuder
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott M
dunmow
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“First stay in carcasonne”
Reviewed 26 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

For a large family group this is a great stay. I will be as fair as I can and we would recommend going however here is some minor points

You do need a car the location is not near regular public transport. The nearest bus stop is about 5 mins walk and is about every hour or so so elderly couples I would bear this in mind unless you have a car. We were initially told a bus stop was right outside the door which it is not.

There is a road right next to the house with partially regular traffic mainly tractors and trucks so do not expect to be lying near the pool during the day and have complete peace and quite. we had regular trucks and tractors going past when lying by the pool. But the area is very well enclosed so if you do not mind vehicles going past then it is fine.

Inside is very nice and the bathroom is fabulous with everything you need. The beds are dated and the sheets were a little uncomfortable as they were bobbled that is the only inside issue I had. In the night we decided to use the quilt which was vacume packed and obviously had not been used for a while as it was very smelly when removed. I would recommend they are removed every week and aired.

Before we arrived we were told check in is 16.00 and our flight was arrived at 12.00. However the owners did accomodate this but this could have been an issue if the previous occupants did not leave early. I was a little surprised when the owner said cleaners have to come in so a check in time is a check in time. The only thing is it says there are no cleaners so a bit of a contradiction in terms.

One of the towels in the bathroom was not clean which was also a little off putting I simply placed it at the bottom.

The overall property was fabulous in terms of facilities but the garden was not well kept. The grass was not well cut and the surrounding area had not been weeded so looked tatty. The base of the initial joining instructions does say "please clean up after you as no cleaner will be coming after you" we felt this a little odd and also felt like we were expected to clean for the next guests. I would not have expected this and we were a little frustrated at this.

Carcassone is around 10 min drive and easy to navigate so a hire car is ok.

Pool area is fabulous and you do have a night light which is great to sit there at night having the barbecue on and a wine whilst overlooking the pool. At night it is very quite with no traffic.

The owners were very nice and helpful and overall I would recommend it if you take into account these points and the owners pay a little more attention to details especially when we are paying 1000 euro for 1 week I would expect this.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool was amazing
Liked least: Location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your stay in our house in Cazilhac and your valuable comments. The bus line was changed without us knowing in Spring 2015 and now only leaves in the centre of the village.
The information I send you was normally meant for friends in I did not review it before I send it to you. We clean the house after our guests leave, normally our friends would leave the house "clean as you go".
We will work on the other points you have mentioned and perhaps we need to take one day in between customers in 2016 to have sufficient time in between guests for property maintenance, gardens and cleaning.

best regards and we hope to see you again in Cazilhac.

BJ and Iris Schreuder
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cazilhach...
1 review
“Carcassonne holiday”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Just returned from a seven night stay and we have all had a wonderful holiday. Carcassonne is a beautiful town and the view of the castle walls is spectacular. We visited the Space Centre in Toulouse, Perpignon, Saissac, all worth a trip. We had a fantastic time at the nearby lake where wevall did the floating assault course. Was great fun. Villa is spacious and well equipped. Overall brilliant holiday.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and we happy that you enjoyed your stay in the villa and the Aude region, we hope to see you again one day,

BJ and Iris Schreuder
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen W
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great relaxing family time.”
Reviewed 1 May 2015 for a stay in July 2014

The house is abolutely perfect. Great location with the beautiful city of Carcassonne on the doorstep!
The garden and the pool was our favorite hang-out. Enough shade, enough sun and beautiful roses and olive trees. We had a fantastic little family reunion and were able to go and visit the wineries, old city and of course Carcassonne.
The house is a real house and has that warm home feeling. And with the great weather this was a fantastic break for all of us and we will definately come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2015
Dear Ellen,

we are pleased that you had a great stay and we hope to see you and your family again in Cazilhac.

best regards,

BJ and Iris Schreuder
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 27 April 2015 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Own private pool and garden and so close to Carcassonne
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 May 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great comments and we are pleased your had a great break here in Cazilhac and Carcassonne and we hope to see you again to explore more of the Languedoc Roussillon region.

best regards,

BJ and Iris Schreuder
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
arjen r
Morges, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Haven of Peace and Quiet!”
Reviewed 24 April 2015 for a stay in August 2014

Haven of piece and quiet !
We stayed at this great gite in the late summer of 2014. We were looking for peace and quiet, to recharge for the second half of the year. The house offered everything we were hoping for; it was comfortable, with all modern comforts, the beds were very good, the location private and calm, and the pool was perfect to cool down. Cazilhac is a small village, but the large supermarket is at 5 minutes by car. So is the medieval city of Carcassonne, a real impressive fortified city. Surely it is a bit touristy, but not in an unpleasant way. Plenty of good bars/ terraces for an apero, followed by dinner in one of the many good restaurants inside the fortified walls. And if you want to splash out, go to Frank Putallat, Michelin starred restaurant with a surprisingly reasonably priced menu, it is delicious with a capital D! There are plenty of day trips to be made, there is a nice lake nearby, cycling routes ( we loved the bikes in the house) and not to forget the Caracassonne golf club. We played several times, a real pleasure, friendly people, and a good 19th hole. A bit further out is the beach (1 hour drive) or the Pyrenees mountains, for hiking, climbing, if you like that kind of thing.
We stayed close to home, and really recharged the battery. Two weeks felt like four, that’s what you call value for money!
BJ is a perfect host, and always responsive to any telephone request.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the pool
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2015
Dear Arjen,

Thank you very much for your great feedback and we are pleased you enjoyed our house and the surroundings of Carcassonne. There is loads to do and to see, so we hope we will see you again for a short or longer stay.

Best regards,

BJ Schreuder
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing