We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so happy holidays!”
Review of Domaine de Cure

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carcassonne Center
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Domaine de Cure
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We stayed here during Summer 2012; it's a pleasant farmhouse divided into 4 apartments, one
inhabited by the owners. As it was 750 euros to stay in the smaller apartment, we had high expectations.
There is no privacy between each apartment and we found this annoying as the owners seemed forever on a supervision drive. The kitchen was not generously equipped - one
drying cloth, 2 tablets only for the dishwasher, no extra bin bags, no powder for the washing machine, no iron or ironing board. The rules and regulations that we had to sign made us aware that we had very punctilious hosts. We ensured on the last day that all was clean and in order despite being given no cleaning materials.
On our return home, we were informed that 25 euros would be deducted from our safety deposit and despite protestations, we finally agreed, merely to be rid of the rants that accompanied each e-mail [and this one too, I'm sure!] Having booked holiday accommodation for over 40 years at home and abroad, this was my first ever experience of being accused of not having left a property in good order.
Such a shame as overall, we enjoyed the area. Just a pity about the hosts!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Glynllifon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoneplace, Owner at Domaine de Cure, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

We must reply to this unfortunate review to point out the reality of what happened.

This elderly couple left a large coffee stain on the duvet which not only left a mark on the bed cover but went through to the duvet itself. We informed them that despite our best attempts at cleaning, the stains did not come out and needed a professional cleaning service costing 25 euros.

A signed terms and condition is necessary today for any owner to protect their property. We ask our guests to report any damage during a stay which they failed to do so. We also ask people not to flush anything other than toilette paper down the loo (to protect the septic tank) yet this Welsh couple chose to use kitchen paper towels which ended up clogging up the system. This extra cleaning time was considerable (and the indignity caused, to say the least).

A self-catering holiday defines itself. Yet we go out of our way to provide many things. When they “forgot” to buy something at the store (10 minutes away), we were on hand to provide.

We are disappointed that this couple chose to belittle the damage they caused. We corresponded in a professional manner which was met by denial and excuses. Conveniently, we never received an explanation for the loo and to this day still do not know why they could not use proper toilette paper.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2012

Recently stayed at Domaine de Cure with another couple, beautifully restored property, spotlessly clean, wonderfully friendly and helpful hosts, the views from the pool area were stunning, we enjoyed all the recommended wines! had a great time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoneplace, Owner at Domaine de Cure, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

A beautiful wine growing region with a wide selection of choices... we are happy you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

If you are looking for top end spec accommodation in a beautiful, peaceful, yet well positioned location, with attention to detail and friendly, attentive hosts, then you have found it here!
We stayed in the spacious La Forge Gite, full of character and style yet also beautifully equipped with all the latest technology and all the home comforts you could wish for. The wide patio doors of the Gite open out onto your own al fresco dining area within the beautiful shady garden (particularly welcome in the heat). There is also another sunny area of the large garden where the pool, patio and a rather special japanese style sun house are situated. Here you can gaze at the wonderful views of the vineyards and distant mountains in perfect peace.
We found the Gite spotlessly clean and our wonderful friendly hosts Agathe and Jean Noël were attentive to all our needs and comforts and were always prepared to go the extra mile to make our stay perfect. They are very happy to share their extensive knowledge of the surrounding area, the restaurants and local wines. We thoroughly enjoyed their company and a good few laughs!
Domaine de Cure is the perfect location from which to explore the lovely and very interesting Carcassonne area, close to local amenities such as supermarkets etc, yet feeling far from the madding crowd being located down a quiet country lane surrounded by vineyards. With so much to see, we were out and about alot, but we would love to return so that we can spend more time making the most of the great facilities at Domaine de Cure. Many thanks Agathe and Jean Noël for everything and we'll see you again, soon I hope!

Room Tip: La Forge is the largest of 3 spacious Gites at Domaine de Cure and it has the steeper staircase whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoneplace, Owner at Domaine de Cure, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2012

So glad your stay was here was a happy, relaxing and enjoyable one. A beautiful region with so much to offer... we look forward to your next visit and sharing some more good laughs!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Always difficult to select accommodation over the internet and our choice for a self catering week in the Carcassonne area was no different. Suffice to say we were delighted with our choice of Domain de Cure as it proved to be as good if not better than our research had indicated and proved to be up there with the best of our accommodation choices for our 3 months in Europe this year.

The location was down an interesting country road in the midst of and overlooking the surrounding vineyards and grain fields with such a restful and appealing panorama, yet only 20 mins from the centre of Carcassonne. It is located away from the hustle and bustle of the tourist areas and was a haven to return to each afternoon where we were able to relax and absorb the peacefulness and ambience of the area. Having access to Jean-Noël's selection of local wines proved to be a bonus for our alfresco dining.

The accommodation was clean, spacious and well presented and equipped offering a level of comfort that was both appreciated and enjoyed. Attention to detail seemed to be a trademark for our hosts who were always available providing that much needed local knowledge to ensure our stay was enjoyable and helped us make the most of our time in Carcassonne and surrounding area. We were disappointed that we did not have sufficient time to sample more from the list of suggested restaurants as those that we did try were superb so full marks for our hosts research in this regard. It was also good to have such facilities as our own washing machine, access to reliable wifi , English TV, barbeque and undercover car parking.
Would we go back? Definitely, we thoroughly enjoyed our week, our accommodation was very comfortable, well located and our hosts very friendly and most helpful.

Thank you Agathe and Jean-Noël for the memories.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Helen_and_Geoff40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoneplace, Owner at Domaine de Cure, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

Modern comfort in the tranquility of the countryside... yet close enough to all that the region has to offer. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Our hosts Jean-Noël & Agathe were waiting for us when we arrived with a very personal and warm welcome. We felt that we were among friends after our long trek there by train from London. We arrived at sunset and the next day awoke to the delightful sights and sounds of the country side. The waqrm dry air reminded me of my Southern California youth but the sights of the countryside reminded me of a Cezanne painting. We took a walk to Conque Sur Orbiel one day and had some coffee and went to the Post Office. I knew I was not in Kansas so to speak or Washington, DC where I live anymore. It seemed timeless and dreamlike and nothing broke that spell the whole time we were there. We used the Domaine de Cure as our base of operations and drove our rental car as far as Aix-en-Province, Andorra, Albi and Perpignan. We also explored the local sites which were every bit as interesting. Next time I go I think I would like to spend more time at Carcassonne and attend some cultural events. We were gone much of each day but, Jean-Noël & Agathe touched base with us every day and we managed to share a bit of our lives with them and they shared a bit with us. They were always available to answer any questions or needs we had or offer advice on how to improve our experience. The Domaine de Cure is a safe, clean, friendly and very luxurious place for a visit that makes you feel like you are at home.

Room Tip: There is no fitness center or spa as such but the swimming pool is excellent with a view of the coun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoneplace, Owner at Domaine de Cure, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

We certainly hope you will have another chance to return for the cultural, historical and gastronomical experiences you may have missed both close and further afield. One week is certainly too short to do it all!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

In September stayed at Le Forge at Domaine de Cure. A lovely peaceful location next to a flourishing vineyard but near enough to make the journey easy into the beautiful Carcassonne, passing alongside the picturesque Canal du Midi. Jean-Noel and Agathe are both charming hosts, friendly and very willing to help with any questions about the area, booking a restaurant or advising on excellent local wines. The gite was both comfortable and pristine, an excellent shower and very comfortable beds - greatly enjoyed superb sleeps undisturbed by traffic noise! A real bonus was been able to view UK television via Sky freeview (no need to miss Downton Abbey!) and free wi-fi connection which worked well and easily.

We were recommended to stay at Domaine de Cure by our daughter and her husband who stayed last year, and were not disappointed. Thank you both Jean-Noel and Agathe for your wonderful company and delightful accommodation. And there was no problem with our deposit being promptly returned!

Room Tip: I would have thought that any of the gites would be a lovely place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank jelica39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoneplace, Owner at Domaine de Cure, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Happy people give us the energy to carry on doing our best! Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

So it's that time of year again to write the 2012 travel reviews after visiting a wide variety of places to stay over the past months.

Earlier in the year stayed for a few days at the Domaine de Cure in Conques-sur-Orbiel, close to Carcassonne. Not the easiest of places to find despite having been provided with a basic map, some signs on the road would have greatly eased matters (particularly at the entrance of the last small track) heaven help anyone trying to find it in the dark!

The properties are very clean, but luxurious they are most certainly not. There are no extras such as complementary toiletries, no basic welcome grocery pack (which would be most useful for those guests arriving after the supermarkets have closed), towels are extremely small and thin and not changed during the stay. No hairdryer, bathrobe etc. etc. or any of those touches which make the difference between luxurious and standard.

One huge negative is that in one of the properties, The Forge, the iron spiral staircase is bordering on downright dangerous with treads so narrow it is necessary to walk sideways down the stairs, keeping a firm grip on the handrail. A complete peril for anyone with young children.

There are no curtains, blinds or shutters in the main living areas downstairs so once it becomes dark, you are made to feel like a goldfish in a bowl .... anyone passing by to go to the other properties can easily see in, and there is a complete lack of privacy.

Furnishings again are basic, mostly supplied by Ikea, lamps, unlined curtains, a clothes unit with no doors which would look more in place in a Butlins chalet, metal filing cabinets for bedside tables and cheap china. The wineglasses (which are only supplied one per person, i.e. four) are the cheapest you can buy - such a shame when drinking good French wine not to have a decent receptacle to add to the experience. The kitchen is sparsely equipped, one lidded saucepan is simply not good enough for a family of four trying to cook a meal, although a microwave is supplied. Cutlery is stored 'sleeping with the enemy style' in a box and needs to be counted out and counted in, as the owners warn you at the beginning that 'everything must be returned to its original place when you leave'.

As mentioned on previous reviews, the owners (who live on site) are obviously passionate about their gites but have an inability to let go and let their guests get on with enjoying their holiday. One is greeted on arrival with a request to sign their Terms And Conditions, a list of do's and don't (mostly don'ts) and the expectations of the owners. They also unfortunately have a tendency to lie in wait for you to return to your gite, and it takes a strong character to rebuff their over-friendly advances and to request to be left in peace. Even by the poolside, with a glass of wine and face pointedly buried in a book, is no guarantee of tranquility.

The small swimming pool is unfortunately located next to a most unattractive small industrial field with enormous rusting metal containers, a real eyesore and the shrubs have not yet sufficiently grown high enough to hide them. A fairly busy road also runs alongside, busy mostly with farm vehicles.

Leaving the gite, ah now, here comes the crunch of staying at Domaine de Cure. Be afraid, be very afraid, for if the gite is not completely pristine upon departure, deductions will be made from your deposit which for some reason is withheld for some days after your departure. We bought our own cleaning materials and spent the last precious couple of hours of our stay thoroughly cleaning everything - even crockery we hadn't used as this had been given as a reason for withholding funds by a previous reviewer.

In conclusion, to charge over £800 per week and with the lack of anything remotely luxurious, no facilities or places of interest within walking distance (it's a poor location without a hired car) and the stress of constantly cleaning ....... sadly Domaine de Cure simply cannot be recommended as a relaxing place to stay, a hotel would have been better value. However, Carcassonne can certainly be recommended as a place to visit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Travelling T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoneplace, Owner at Domaine de Cure, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

We are indeed passionate and proud of what we have created here at the Domaine de Cure. We invested a large amount of our time and money to provide modern comfort in an old stone building well over 200 years old. It may not be “perfect” but it is our “beautiful” home which we happily share with others. The tranquillity in the countryside here is simply an added "luxury".

It saddens us that these guests (2 couples) see a need to write a malicious review despite the best we provided. A perplexing contradiction as we received a nice message from them after their departure: “Thanks for a great break… the cottage was lovely…”

We believe and stand by our price that a self-catering accommodation and we emphasise “self-catering” in low season at 800 euros per week (which works out to under 60 euros per couple per night) represents good value. And in a self contained and fully equipped 90m2!

“Hard to find” because they forgot to print out the map we sent. “No grocery pack” despite our request to be called in the event of late arrival so we might be able to help. And criticism of a need to sign the terms and conditions to clarify the unknowns and any ambiguity. We fail to see any professional shortcoming on our part.

Within the accommodation, the cutlery described are those of an Italian design neatly fitting into a special case while the dinning room table is a lacquered “urushi” work by a Japanese artisan. Just a few “unnoticed” touches to add to our design esprit, without pretension.

While the 12 glasses (and not 4 as mentioned) and the 8-set white tableware are similar to what is found in any hotel, the reality is a need to quickly and effectively replace items in a business where breakage is not uncommon.

We regret that these guests could not enjoy the beautiful walks in the national forest trails right behind our domaine. Perhaps they are not nature lovers. It is unfortunate that they could not appreciate the countless historical sites throughout the region other than Carcassonne castle (yes, you do need a car). Maybe they are not interested in culture.

We understand and respect that some people simply want to relax and spend their holiday around the pool. Ours may not be Olympic size but a respectable 5x10m that still requires daily cleaning. We are sorry if this was disturbing and apologise for simply saying “hello, is everything ok?”

Perhaps this reviewer’s “backlash” may be attributed to the “not so perfect” weather during the their stay. This can put a damper on one’s vacation experience but to dump this anger and resort to malicious criticism of our best efforts and the accommodation provided is truly regrettable. We point to all of the positive reviews we have received by so many happy people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne Center hotels
5.9 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - M...
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,620 reviews
5.7 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hote...
#10 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,579 reviews
4.1 mi away
Inter-Hotel Carcassonne-Pont Rouge
Inter-Hotel Carcassonne-Pont Rou...
#21 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La C...
#7 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,034 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel l'Etoile
Hotel l'Etoile
#28 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
129 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
Best Western Hotel Le Donjon
#6 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de Cure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Cure

Address: Domaine de Cure | Conques-sur-Orbiel, 11600 Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne > Carcassonne Center
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Carcassonne Center
Price Range: £444 - £1,156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domaine de Cure lying in middle of the vineyards with views of the Pyrenees offers 3 luxury gites (sleeps 2-5) in tranquil setting with a private swimming pool. Minutes away from the medieval fortified Cite de Carcassonne and famous Canal du Midi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing