We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Masashi's Back in Town”
Review of le 5eme peche

le 5eme peche
Ranked #6 of 81 Restaurants in Collioure
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: French, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
roussillon
Level Contributor
101 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Masashi's Back in Town”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We've missed le 5eme Peché in Collioure this year. They have moved from rented premises to their own place, but the work has taken a year. Masashi's fresh, complex take on French and Japanese cuisine is unique in this region, and we welcome its return.
The new restaurant is stylish and modern, with a great big open kitchen (with bar seats looking right in) and lots of wood and stone. Its not much bigger than the old one, but there is more room per table, and everything is a lot more stylish.
The chef has done a couple of stints at Guy Savoy and Can Roca in between to keep his hand in, and the fabulous food shows his great ambitions. The fish is fresh and of the highest quality, and the dishes show a lot of imagination. Seasonal produce features heavily, and it is great value at 37€ for the 3 course dinner.
The wine list has the cream of the Roussillon crop and is served at perfect temperature.
Overall, the 100% Japanese team front of house and in the kitchen is reassuring somehow, and they are producing the most inventive and compelling food in the area at the moment.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    80
    21
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wow”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Pefect,
will keep this short.
great service,
food is so good, light fresh fantastic flavour combinations,
one of the best meals i have ever eaten, makes some of the michelin star meals i have eaten
appear to have come from centuries past.

very good value for the fresh ingredients and the skill involved,

thank you for an amazing meal

i will be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frazer t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roussillon
Level Contributor
101 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great New Setting”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The light, airy and spacious setting of the Hotel du Golfe is a great new space for Masashi and the team. The food seems lighter and fresher than ever, and its lovely to have a sea view whilst sampling this top quality fusion cuisine. Lunch remains an absolute bargain at under €25 a head. For inventive seafood cooking, this is the place to go in the region.
The hotel is 5 mins drive from the centre of Collioure.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Complete Fusion”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

October, and Collioure can be seen without elbowing a way round the summer tourists, This restaurant has a mention in Michelin, and many other punters' guides to good food. Each dish was a picture on a plate, and worth waiting for. We had wine by the glass - it was lunch time and one of us was driving - delicious. The use of different shaped plates to enhance the contents is very clever - but so is the food. Could I imagine that oxtail married intensely with red peppers, vegetables and nuts could turn into a complete winner? It did. My husband's first course, a salad of seafood, leeks and ginger was given the thumbs up. Service started at 12.30pm and after 14 covers further hopefuls were turned away. There is room for 20 at a squeeze in this tiny restaurant on a narrow street above the harbour. No comparison with the huge bars and brasseries closer to the water. This was fine dining. Not much leisure between courses, but the chef was on his own in the kitchen with only one person to look after the diners. Japanese/French cooking at it's best, tucked away in one of the most beautiful little towns on the coast, close to the Spanish border.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arrosage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Appalling service”
Reviewed 6 October 2012 via mobile

We were welcomed by an unsmiling waitress whose task throughout the meal seemed to be to get us finished in the least time possible. The food was good, albeit quite pricey.

The first course arrived in record time. Barely had we put down our knives and forks than the plates were swept away and the main course served within literally a matter of seconds. It was the same again for the pudding.

We had wine by the glass; in a part of the world where wine is abundant the size of the glasses was minimal. I guess they get around 8 glasses out of a bottle.

When we left, there was no one to bid us farewell; the waitress was seen chatting with friends down the street.

This restaurant is not cheap, and one expected a lot better.

I sent an email to the proprietor complaining about the service. I did not have the courtesy of a reply.

Helpful?
4 Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed le 5eme peche also viewed

Collioure, Pyrenees-Orientales
Collioure, Pyrenees-Orientales
 
Collioure, Pyrenees-Orientales
Collioure, Pyrenees-Orientales
 

Been to le 5eme peche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing