We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a neat place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Boramar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Collioure
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Boramar
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Collioure
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a neat place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

The charm of Collioure, France is matched by the charm and friendliness of this hotel. The hotel is on the opposite side of the cove from all the noise of the tourist area but not too far for a nice stroll downtown. The room was clean and the bath totally acceptable. The breakfast - continental - was well done in preparation and presentation. Staff made you feel at home. Buy a bottle of wine, a baguette and some cheese and sit in the cafe area out front.

We plan to come back here again!

Room Tip: Collioure is not a place you get to by accident; You have to be going there. Trains do run through C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    30
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
14
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Booked this hotel at the last minute and was lucky to get a small room with a great balcony and view (June 2011). The room was very basic but we spent most of the waking time we were at the hotel on the balcony enjoying the amazing sunset and harbor lights come on.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TheModoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solihull
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

The answer, for me, is 'No'. Many TA reviewers have considered the poor facilities at the hotel against the outstanding views. We only stayed there for one night, which made it bearable. The bedding was threadbare. The toilet/shower room was on the dingy side of acceptable. The toilet roll holder is situated on the wall directly behind the toilet, requiring the agility of a contortionist to access. There were no other facilities in the room - not even a kettle. Mind you, there probably wasn't any room. The corridors are poorly lit; in fact the spiral stairs were dangerously under-lit.

There's no 'service' to speak of. Reception is occasionally manned by the owner. I had to move the car as soon as we checked in, leaving my wife with our cases. The owner did not offer to help her to the room with the bags, and she had to struggle up the spiral stairs alone.

So let's contrast this with the view, which is truly wonderful. We've been to Collioure several times now and will never tire of the views. This is the first time we've stayed in the town though, and it was lovely to appreciate this beautiful place by night. The hotel room cost us €75 for a room with a balcony and sea-view. For the state of the hotel, I'd say that it's about €30 overpriced. So that's what the view's worth I suppose. Like I said, for one night you can put up with it.

The reason I started this review by saying that I can't forgive the hotel for its condition and facilities, even allowing for such a magnificent view, is because with a bit of TLC and imagination this could, maybe should, be the best hotel in Collioure. The property does not do justice to the location. I think it suffers from a lazy owner who is happy to take the money and give nothing in return, apart from access to a stunning view. And that's unforgivable.

I've posted some photos of the room and the view to help you decide!

Room Tip: make sure you get an ensuite sea view room with a balcony - many rooms have to share a bathroom and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyfromSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

A perfect location in town right on the beach. We were very late getting into town after driving through the Pyrennes all day but Thierry (manager) made arrangements for someone to meet us with the key and let us in. Actually this was unplanned since we did not know they close the front desk at 8 PM. We stayed in the side apartment attached to the hotel which had a full kitchen and sea view. Breakfast was basic but right served at the tables right in front of the hotel. Great value spot in Collioure.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmactravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Beautiful sea view from the rooms, amazing atmosphere in Collioure itself and very friendly stuff.
Rooms were clean. Bathrooms is a little bit small. Very cozy place for those looking to have a relaxed vacation.

Room Tip: Take seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V_Dmytro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
166 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Remember those great smaller hotels that are family run, where the family were friendly, made you feel welcome, no fuss, no unnecessary fashionista frills just plain honest value in an outstanding location - make that an unbeatable location in Collioure - well this is it !

Booked for 3 days - loved it so much lingered a day longer - moved rooms - all were adequate in size, facilities. Brilliant views, get a balcony if you can. If not put the table by the window and pretend !

There is a terrace that is less than 10 steps to the beach. This end of the Collioure beach is great, a family place, not so busy and its sand underfoot very soon once you are past about 15m of rocks underfoot - but its just deep enough to swim out here.

Take breakfast on on the terrace and see Collioure wake up.

Quiet at night which is a boon. Enjoy the sunsets over the castle and town then walk along the seafront and enjoy the reflections in the water. We watched octopus and cuttle fish in the shallows at night barely 50m from the hotel.

Good restaurant next door - see my review. I want to go back as soon as I can. So good I have recommended to a family member who goes next week so lets see if they agree. Ask about the parking as it can be tricky to find. You can walk everywhere.

The wifi in the rooms was a bit iffy but managed to get by.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony (1st or 2nd floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grayb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

The best thing by far about this hotel is the location. Just a few steps from a great little beach and directly overlooking the water and fortress. Rooms are clean and service is good. Balcony was convenient. Can eat breakfast in the room or on the terrace. Thanks Rick Steves!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MMirvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Collioure hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Bon Port
Le Bon Port
#7 of 16 in Collioure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Madeloc
Hotel Madeloc
#1 of 16 in Collioure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Pairal
Casa Pairal
#3 of 16 in Collioure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#15 of 16 in Collioure
3.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Relais des Trois Mas et Restaurant La Balette
0.2 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant les Templiers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boramar

Property: Hotel Boramar
Address: 19 rue Jean Bart, 66190 Collioure, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Collioure
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Collioure
Number of rooms: 50

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing