We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be great”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel l'Arapede

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel l'Arapede
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Collioure
Certificate of Excellence
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Could be great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed a night in April. Called in day before and receptionist was on the phone. Asked if we could buy drinks and she was VERY rude. Came back following day and had lovely rooms with balaconies. Restaurant was closed that night, 17th April. Pool nice and clean but not heated so too cold to swim in. Nice loungers by the pool. Requested tea but told that they did not do it so had to go to another Hotel! Saw three receptionists in all during brief stay and the two older ones very nice. 15 minute walk to Porte Vendres and same for Collioure.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    59
    23
    5
    0
See reviews for
22
82
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Easy to find on the Port Vendres to Collioure road. Good safe and free parking (parking is really difficult in the town).
Excellent receptionist made us feel very welcome. Good sized room and bathroom. All clean. Great view over the bay from the balcony.
15 minutes pleasant wall in to Collioure, 10 minutes to Port Vendres. 5 minutes to a small beach.
Didn't have breakfast - 12 euros we thought was a bit steep.
Enjoyed the pool although the pool surroundings were a little tired looking.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the top 2 floors for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TKPUNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpellier, Languedoc-Roussillon, France
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We are two middle aged couples who spent 2 nights at this hotel in mid-August 2013, are views are as follows:-

Good
Isabelle the delightful receptionist who went out of her way to be very helpful.

The rooms, they were large, bright and airy and had good sized balconies with table, chair and sunbed (only one though) and they could have done with a small fridge.

The views, the hotel is in a delightful setting.

Bad
On weekdays, after breakfast that's it until 7pm. No bar, no restaurant nothing. This is not what we would expect from a 3 star hotel. There is a small fridge in reception, 4 flights of stairs up from the pool which sometimes has a can or two of beer but that's it.

Be aware that the hotel is a 20 minute walk from the centre of Collioure and it's uphill on the way back.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be similar so no real problem there. Biggest problem for us was lack of food/drink...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobwils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

The Hotel overlooks is located between Collioure and Port Vendres, about a 15 minute walk from Collioure. It is in a very quiet and relaxing location. The restaurant and pool area are nice. The location next to the sea is also very pleasant and peaceful. Rooms and beds are small and basic.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul-in-Japan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed for three nights in the family room and I wish we could have stayed forever! The room was cool, spacious, clean and comfortable. Our three children loved the pool. But the best part was the food. I had grudgingly accepted half board and expected the usual sad semi-industrial standard evening meal. What we were actually served was gourmet food - I especially loved the seafood dishes. Even the children were thoroughly spoiled. No chips and chicken nuggets here. They had a choice of faux-fillet (beaf steak), locally produced sausage or salmon and everything was served just as beautifully as the grown up dishes. For dessert, they were served delicious sorbet ice cream that frankly made me envious.
If I have to find a downside to the Arapede it would be the fact that it is a 15 min walk from the centre of town. It was a hot walk uphill with on arrival, but we managed even with 3 small children and a ton of luggage. Walking into town without baby buggy and suitcases was easy and there is actually a small beach just by the hotel if you can't be bothered with going into town.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank valby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Stayed here for a week in June 2012. Quiet location about 15 minutes walk from the centre of Collioure, but nice, small beach only 5 mins away. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good sized, clean room with balcony on car park level, lovely views from the balcony - a great place to unwind at the end of the day. Large, comfortable bed and good air-con in room. A mini-bar might have been nice, but at the price I'm not complaining. Bath/shower modern and everything worked. Swimming pool clean, open all day and just about warm enough. As others have mentioned, car parking is difficult in Collioure and L'Arapède is unusual in having a good-sized car park - we never had trouble finding a space. As is often the case in France, there was no hot food at breakfast, but the range was better than most. Dinner is usually served on the sea-view terrace. We ate there on 4 occasions and had 2 good meals, 1 less good (very tough beef steak) and one superb (beautifully tender lamb). The set menu has no choice and the carte is short - if we'd eaten in every night, it would have been difficult to avoid having the same thing twice. Despite that, all in all, highly recommended and we're hoping to go back within the next 2-3 years.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BerkshireChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

This is a good 3 star hotel, balcony rooms are highly recommended. Room where we stayed had a lovely view over the bay. Awesome to sit and have a glass of wine on the balcony. Room was small, bed reasonably comfortable but firm. Clean. Excellent location, walking distance to the lovely small beach, supermarket and village.
Breakfast choice was poor especially if you come late. Dinner not recommended. There are lots of restaurants in neighbourhood.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Collioure hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Bon Port
Le Bon Port
#6 of 16 in Collioure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Madeloc
Hotel Madeloc
#1 of 16 in Collioure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Pairal
Casa Pairal
#3 of 16 in Collioure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Relais des Trois Mas et Restaurant La Balette
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mediterannee
Hotel Mediterannee
#10 of 16 in Collioure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#15 of 16 in Collioure
3.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel l'Arapede? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Arapede

Property: Hotel l'Arapede
Address: Route De Port-Vendres, 66190 Collioure, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Collioure
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Collioure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel l'Arapede 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel l'Arapede reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing