We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lukewarm overpriced food”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Copacabana

Le Copacabana
Ranked #69 of 81 Restaurants in Collioure
Cuisines: Seafood, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Perpignan, France
Level Contributor
86 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lukewarm overpriced food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

We ordered the plat du jour which, it turned out, was just one course—prawns and scallops on a tablespoon of overcooked rice and limp veg. Worse still, the skimpy portions were served lukewarm. Quite disconcerting. Then I found a fragment of washing up sponge on my plate! Not very appetizing at all! Nevertheless, we washed our meagre plates down with a small glass of Muscat, then our bill (for two) came in at €42. Daylight robbery. Glad we skipped dessert! Service was OK—a little flustered, bordering on acerbic at times. Needless to say, we won't be going back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BeenThereEatenThat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    96
    86
    95
    133
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food indifferent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We tried this one night while spending a week in Collioure. It was touted as pricey, but good food. That is a fair assessment. In October there is little business. On this evening there was only one other couple in the restaurant. With so few customers one would think you might get attentive service. However, the staff seemed quite indifferent to us and began shutting down the place as we were leaving. The food was good, but pricey. There are other places in the city that give much better value for good Catalan seafood.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bærum
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic seafood!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We have had several perfect meals for lunch and dinner at this frontside restaurant! It might be a bit too busy during July/August, but then all of Collioure is filled up with tourists! We have always had both very good food and excellent service. They have the most delicious seafood prepared at their own seafood bar and a superb "gratin de St. Jacques" (gratin of scallops). The waiters are skilled and will also help you to find the best wine to accompany your meal. We can highly recommend Le Copacabana!
Tju2013



Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tju2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very rude waiter”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Here we encountered the only rude waiter in 3 weeks of travel in France, but he was SO rude that he must fill the quota for the entire country. The view is nice, the food we did get was OK, but we finally asked for the bill and left without having most of our dinner. Not a good choice in Colliure, better to keep walking.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A fabulous view!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

We went here for the seafood and weren't disappointed, I had grilled prawns and despite being very clear that I wanted the ones flambéed in cognac I don't believe they were, a case of the waiter thinking you wouldn't notice the difference. My husband had moules & frites which he enjoyed. You do pay a premium for the great position, but its worth it for one night at least.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Copacabana also viewed

Collioure, Pyrenees-Orientales
Collioure, Pyrenees-Orientales
 
Collioure, Pyrenees-Orientales
Collioure, Pyrenees-Orientales
 

Been to Le Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing