We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, great location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Les Caranques

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Collioure
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Caranques
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Collioure
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Stayed 2 nights Sep 2013. Standard rooms are basic (though more than adequate) - but the view and situation far far outweighs this. Clean, good bathrooms, comfortable beds and staff very friendly and helpful despite my poor French. Terraces looking out over the bay are wonderful. For lunch we opted to go back to the hotel and have a salad looking out at the views - cheaper and much better than eating in the port, very good food. Tapas not quite so great but ok I guess. Breakfast very good for french buffet style. For a mid price hotel would think this is easily the best in Collioure and would happily return / recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acumbrianlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    75
    31
    11
    8
See reviews for
19
135
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

We've made five trips to Collioure over the last 10 years, always staying at Les Caranques, but I haven't written a review since the renovations and new ownership a few years ago.
We love Collioure and we love Les Caranques still.
The website does an accurate job of showing viewers what the hotel and location are like, but nothing can really capture how special it is. The view is, simply, breathtaking.
From the balcony of each room, from the breakfast room, but most of all from all of the different terraces with their cushioned lounges, chairs, and sunbeds.
It is always possible to find a private terrace for sunbathing, reading under an umbrella, or a glass of wine before walking down to the village for dinner, with the sea and the village spreading out before you.
And then, when you want to swim, the Mediterranean is right at the bottom of the cliff. Nothing in all our travels can compete as a place to collapse.
The ordinary rooms are just fine, with lovely new bathrooms and excellent beds. But the balcony is all that really matters. We always have at least one market lunch that we bring back from the village and eat there, but we also found ourselves having tapas lunches this time down on the sun terrace.
We did notice the lack of air conditioning when we were there this time during a 100 degree heat wave, but we still happily traded that off for everything else about the hotel at its terrific price point. And most of the time, the sea breeze would be enough to make the rooms comfortable.
We were delighted with the bar-- the service, the prices, and the tapas and wine (which is why we started a new tradition of lunch on the terrace)-- and the service in general was consistently friendly, respectful, and helpful. Breakfast was also well done, although I hope they will add a less expensive coffee and bread alternative to the full buffet. Maybe they will before our next visit.
Combining the private location of the hotel with its 10 minute walk to the village restaurants, market, shops, excursions, and other beaches, Les Caranques is just pure heaven.

Room Tip: Do request a room on the main level as close to reception as possible. Because of the angle of the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 60811Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

The hotel makes the most of its amazing position set on to the rocks across the bay from Collioure and overlooking the famous tower. For the price it is amazing value, and the service way above expectations for a 2 or 3 star hotel.
You have your choice of views from a series of terraces, including one with loungers and a bar terrace where you can feast on tapas as you watch the sun set over Collioure. There is direct access to the sea for swimming, which we really appreciated, but it is a bit of a scramble over the rocks, not for very small kids perhaps, and if you want beach its a walk. The room we had was a small twin, booked last minute, which was clean and comfortable, with a small private balcony with stunning views. The bathroom was basic but more than OK, with a large shower.the rooms aren't air conditioned, but the bar area is. The hotel can provide a fan and most of the time the breeze from the sea crashing onto rocks beneath the window is enough to keep you cool.
We found the staff very helpful and breakfast more than adequate for the price. If you have a car definitely take the parking as in busy times Collioure is a zoo traffic wise.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms in the middle floor numbered 100s for best view and position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DiNOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

As everyone else has stated, the views here are fantastic. I believe every room has a view, too. You get a tiny balcony (the rooms aren't big, or at least ours wasn't), and there's an enclosed breakfast area that also looks out on the water, etc. There are a number of levels of terrace for sitting out and and sunbathing or just staring at the water and the town, and you can order some good tapas and wine or whatever, which they will deliver to you outside. Every staff member I met was pleasant and helpful -- really, this place is doing a great job on all fronts. So, here's the one thing: there's a sewage-y smell. You don't notice it everywhere, and my wife claims not to have noticed it at all, but I did. It's particularly strong in the bar area, just outside where the door to the hall with the rooms is, and you can also smell it outside at some of the tables closest to the building, where the air doesn't circulate as much. I was aware of it in the breakfast area, just slightly. You don't smell it at all in the rooms. I'm not very picky about hotels, and I would still rate this one very highly, but in my opinion they need to figure this out, as it's keeping the experience of staying there from being what it ought to be, which is to say darn near perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Omphalos McButton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Although a little out of town this is a really superb location. The owners have really made the most of the location with terraces at different levels overloking the sea and the different beaches and chateau of Collioure. They offer a Tapas menu from 13.00 - 20.00 and also serve wines and beers. The temptation is to sit up all night watching the spectacular views! There is direct access to the sea but not a beach - you can just swim off the rocks. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and the service for tapas and dirnks was very efficient.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the sea and spectacular view. We chose the basic room and it was fine. good big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ger27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

Staying in Les Caranques was one of the best two or three highlights of a six week driving trip in France and Spain. We came here based on the Tripadvisor reviews; we were not disappointed. We reserved our room in French on the hotel website, although we could have phoned, as the reception staff speak English. Hylaric showed us to our parking spot and expertly handled our check in. Our room was one of the basic ones but had the same fabulous view of the sea and the harbour as the larger more expensive suites. I think the cost is very reasonable for what you get: an unsurpassed hotel experience.
The waves appear be crashing against the rocks right under your terrace (and sound that way too) but are actually about 12 metres below; the sea seems much closer as you look past your feet while lying on the bed. You can close the glass doors to very effectively shut out the sound if you wish. Other pluses: a large and very comfortable bed, huge shower, the wifi worked well in the room. Minus: you do need to pay for the hotel parking; there is no reasonable alternative parking in the vicinity. However the hotel kindly allowed us to leave our car until 12 so we could go to the weekly market in the town after we checked out. We dined very well at the hotel, breakfast was good too, and the service was excellent. We will definitely stay here on our next visit to France.

 

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank biker99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

As others have pointed out, this hotel is all about its location - what a view! It's far from cheap to stay there, but for once, money does buy happiness. It's not just the view over to the harbour of Collioure, but the sight of waves outside one's window - in fact, from the bed itself! On the less positive side, it is expensive (even out of season, as we were), and - perhaps because it was out of season - a bit soulless. The reception staff were charming and friendly, but very new to the job and not quite up to speed with things. And there was a smell of sewage which was a bit disconcerting in our room - where no expense had been spared with the bathroom fittings and ultra-modern furniture. Against all that - have I mentioned the view?! - the bed was HUGE, the walk in shower was wonderful, and if money was no object, I'd go back there tomorrow!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cultural_dessert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Collioure hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Madeloc
Hotel Madeloc
#1 of 16 in Collioure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Bon Port
Le Bon Port
#6 of 16 in Collioure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Relais des Trois Mas et Restaurant La Balette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Pairal
Casa Pairal
#3 of 16 in Collioure
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant les Templiers
0.2 mi away
Hotel Triton
Hotel Triton
#15 of 16 in Collioure
3.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Caranques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Caranques

Property: Les Caranques
Address: Rte. de Port-Vendres, 66190 Collioure, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Collioure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Collioure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Les Caranques Collioure
Les Caranques Hotel Collioure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing