We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great! Totally worth what you pay for!”
Review of Les Vignes

Les Vignes
Reserve with
Les Vignes is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #118 of 1,404 Restaurants in Montpellier
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Préfecture
Nottingham
1 review
“Great! Totally worth what you pay for!”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I wish i could go there again and try more dishes!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    83
    19
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Expensive, not great choice, service very slow, expensive”
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Myself, partner and daughter went to this restaurant last week. It was raining very heavily at the time and we had walked from Comedie. When we walked in the door we were asked if we had a reservation, as we had not, the waitress made a bit of a face and said that she would see what she could do. A few minutes later, she came back up the stairs and said she had a table. We went into the dining room which is in a basement and it was less than half full. Not a good start, I think she was trying to put us in our place. The table d'hote, or as described in the restaurant, "fresh from the market" had one starter, two mains and one dessert. Not much in the way of choice then...
Orders were taken, including desserts, daughter wanted to wait until she had eaten mains to see if she wanted dessert. Waitress was having none of it, she had to order dessert there and then.
Daughter and partner had steak, I had the other mains, fish. One steak was good, the other one was very tough. Steak was served with 6 pieces of carrot and a sauce. Fish was bream, with squid. I would say that the bream was nice, but I think it was only a small fillet. Squid was cut up into small pieces and fried, overcooked and rubbery.
Dessert was good.
Overall, service was attentive but slow. We had 2 bottles of wine and table d'hote for two of us, daughter moving to a la carte for the dessert. Total bill 120 Euro, too expensive for what we got.
Unfortunately, the restaurant had a very poor ambience which did not help matters.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank paulcDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fallston, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Creative delicious food, attentive service”
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We had previously been to this restaurant in December 2010, and knew we wanted a repeat. This time, we ate on the patio. Very classy atmosphere. The staff remembered us and that one of us spoke French and one did not!
The amuse appetizer was dainty and tasty - tiny shrimp in a wonderful sauce. Our entrees and plats were seasonal, beautifully presented, and had wonderful creative flavors. Dessert was equally so - many choices.
I plan to return to Montpellier, and Les Vignes will be my standard special treat restaurant.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RSpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
54 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A good meal in a quaint cellar”
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We had the quick Euro 14 lunch menu - one main course - plus an amuse bouche and coffee (with some small cakes). The restaurant has a nice warm feel to it being in a very modern looking cellar in the basement of a building. The service was impeccable, with an extraordinarily friendly waitress. The food was very good, and good value for money. We ordered two glasses of wine (their speciality) - the local Pic St. Loup was great, and the sweet local white (from the Languedoc region) was also good...

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 100CountriesNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Les Vignes also viewed

Montpellier, Herault
 
Montpellier, Herault
Montpellier, Herault
 

Been to Les Vignes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing